Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yale Library

SCOPA: Standing Committee on Professional Awareness: Past Talks & Materials

Information about the programs and initiatives to support professional development at Yale University Library

SCOPA Events

May 12, 2022

"DEIA Policies in Archives & Libraries: A Multi-Temporal, Listening-Based, Approach to Collection Development"

View the Recording (CC available)

Slides

Music Library Visiting Scholar Alex Waterman will present a brief overview of DEI and antiracist policies and action statements from several major academic libraries and archives in North America, and share work they have done to help shape the new collection development guidelines for Oral History of American Music in the Yale Music Library.

Alex’s presentation will focus on how to create a more holistic document that reflects the momentous changes required by our new guidelines while structurally connecting them to policies and ethical principles already in place.

 

March 22, 2022

"Forum on Associations & Conferences"

View the Recording (CC available)

YUL colleagues talked about their experiences with library and non-library professional associations and conferences. Panelists included Charles Riley, Catalog Librarian for African Languages; Judy Spak, Head of Academic Research and Education; Carla Baricz, Librarian for Literature in English & Comparative Literature; Roberta Dougherty, Librarian for Middle East Studies; Jude Morrissey, Access Services Librarian; Courtney Brombosz, Research and Education Librarian; Patricia Thurston, Catalog Librarian/Team Leader.

 

March 17, 2022
"Overview of the Yale Human Research Protection Program and IRB Process"

View the Recording (CC available)

View the slide deck from Brandy Lagner, CIP

Brandy Lagner, CIP and Senior Regulatory Analyst with the Human Research Protection Program, provides an overview of human subjects research at Yale University and walk through the process of determining if a research project requires IRB review and approval. 

 

November 19, 2021

"YUL Staff in School"

View the Recording (CC available)

View the slide deck from Sylvia Bedard and Eileen Krar

The forum featured Sylvia Bedard and Eileen Krar from the Yale Benefits office who discussed about educational benefits (tuition reimbursement and reduction) and how they work. Presentations were also given by three Yale Library staff members who have used Yale educational benefits in the past to earn degrees and who will speak briefly about their experience: Soli Johnson, Library Services Assistant at the Divinity Library; Jenna Effenberger, Public Services Assistant in Manuscripts and Archives; Michael Printy, Librarian for Western European Humanities in DASHRS.
 

October 28, 2021

"Openness Strategies at Yale University Library"

View the Recording (CC available)

Openness refers to changes in scholarly communication that shift information away from paywalled models toward shared and universally accessible models. The group is tasked with making recommendations and developing a three-year roadmap in support of the library by building and enhancing the ‘openness’ of collections and services.


June 16, 2021

"SCSC / SCOPA Virtual Forum | Special Collections: Innovations in a Time of Crisis"

View the Recording (Passcode: Knz8d=3?) 

The forum focused on several projects in the Yale Special Collections community responding to the challenges posed by the pandemic. Short presentations included how special collections documented the experiences of the campus community, adapted to ensure teaching support with special collections, and pursued outreach to stakeholders and new audiences during the peak of last year’s crisis. The forum concluded with key takeaways and a brief Q&A session.


April 29, 2021

"Diversity Resident Program SCOPA Forum"

View the Recording (Includes recording, chat transcript, captions, and audio only)

Mary Caldera, the Assistant Director for Technical Services, Mike Rush, the Assistant Head of the Manuscript Unit for Accessioning, and Jessica Tai and Michelle Peralta, Resident Archivists, discussed the Association of College and Research Libraries' Diversity Alliance, which "unites academic libraries committed to increasing the hiring pipeline of qualified and talented individuals from underrepresented racial and ethnic groups." The forum focused YUL's participation in the program.


February 25, 2021

Marketing Tools Talk

Colleagues from across the library presented on their favorite marketing tools and techniques for promoting events, collections, and services.  

Below are the tools and topics that were covered:


February 11, 2021

"Every Pixel on the Sunset Strip" 

View the Recording (Passcode: v1@.McWS)

Peter Leonard, Director of the Yale Digital Humanities Lab, discussed the DH Lab’s project, “Every Pixel on the Sunset Strip: Machine Vision and Photographs.” Working with the visual archive of the artist Ed Ruscha’s iconic book, Every Building on the Sunset Strip, the Yale DH team has been developing a suite of interactive tools for the visual data mining of hundreds of thousands of Ruscha’s original photographs (now held at the Getty Research Institute). Peter Leonard discussed the variety of issues involved in moving from the Ruscha archive to the types of visual pattern analysis being developed by “Every Pixel on the Sunset Strip.”