- From the Collect drop-down, click on 'new reference'.
- From the reference type drop-down, select material type.
- Enter information.
- Click 'Save'
Connect to Yale's Online Catalog (i.e., get a book)
- From the Collect drop-down, click on 'online search'
- Select library catalog: YaleU
- Click on Connect
- Do your search!
Direct Export from your favorite database (in general):
- Conduct a search and select references to export to Endnote Web (always works with Web of Knowledge databases)
- Locate and click on 'Export' or 'Send to' or 'Download' or 'EndNote Web' button. Follow instructions.
- Consult details for other databases
Import a saved text file:
- Conduct search; select references to save; use the 'save' to save as a text file
- Name file and remember where you saved it!
- Go to EndNote Web
- From the Collect drop-down, click on 'import references'
- Browse to the file
- Click on the Import Option drop-down; select source (what database you got the references from)
- Click on the To drop-down to select the folder where you want the references
- Click Import
Attend a class, watch a tutorial for more information about building your EndNote Web Library !
Writing a Paper
- First, download Cite While You Write Plug-In; from the Format drop-down, click on Cite While You Write Plug-In; follow instructions
- With your document open, place cursor where the citation should appear
- From the EndNote Web Toolbar, click 'find citation'
- Enter a term in the Search field to find the reference(s) to insert
- Click search button
- Select reference (select multiple references: Windows - contol key; Mac - command key)
- Click Insert
Attend a class, watch a tutorial for more information about using EndNote Web to write your paper!
Create a Bibliography
- First, from the Format drop-down, click on 'bibliography'
- References: select references to put in the bibliography
- Bibliographic Style: select the appropriate style
- File format: select appropriate file format
- Then click on 'save' or 'email' or 'preview & print'
Attend a class, watch a tutorial for more information about using EndNote Web to create a bibliography!