It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale libraries will be closed Nov. 25 – Jan. 5. Online services and access to library materials will continue. See COVID-19 library updates.
It's easy to generate a bibliography using RefWorks!
First, add citations to your RefWorks library, where you can group citations into folders to organize your research based on topic, project, or paper. When you're ready to generate a bibliography, go to the Bibliography drop-down menu and select Create.
See below for step-by-step details on how to enter citations and set-up Write-N-Cite.
How to Add References
Use RefWorks to save, organize, and keep track of references found in Orbis (the Yale Library catalog) and in library databases (such as Articles+, JSTOR, ProQuest).
How to enter a citation manually
From within RefWorks, select References > Add New
Select your citation style (MLA, ALA, etc.)
Using the Reference type drop-down menu, select your material type
Enter the citation information
How to connect RefWorks to Orbis
Option 1: Import a reference from Orbis
From within an Orbis book record, select Export > Refworks Citation
An HTML window will appear, copy all of the text (CTRL+A, CTRL+C)
Sign-in to RefWorks
Select References > Import
Select the option From Text and enter the following fields:
Import Filter/Data Source = "Yale University"
Database = "Yale Library Orbis"
Paste the copied citation into the text field
Option 2: Connect Orbis to RefWorks
From RefWorks, select Search from the drop-down menu
Select Online Catalog or Database
Select Yale in the Search box
Enter your search terms in either Quick search or Advanced Search
Note: If you're looking for a specific title from Advanced Search, do NOT use quotation marks
Select Search at the bottom of the window
Your Orbis search results will appear
Use the check boxes to select citations to save in RefWorks
How to export citations from a database (i.e.: EBSCO, JSTOR)
Conduct a search in a database, and select references to export
Navigate to an option for Cite or Export Citations
Note: precise terminology will vary depending on the database
Choose the option to export to RefWorks
RefWorks will launch
Note: You will see a screen that asks you to select a version of RefWorks - select the option for Legacy RefWorks (usually orange)
Log-in and import the reference
RefWorks after Graduation
RefWorks is now available to after graduation! WooHoo!
1. Make sure that you save the email you received from RefWorks from your initial registration. It includes the Yale University Group Code.
2. Login using the ID and password created while at Yale University.
3. You will be asked to include the Yale University Group Code - go to the email that was sent when you set up the account to find the group code.
Use Write-N-Cite to add in-text citations, footnotes and bibliography – all while you are writing your paper.
Step 1. Launch and Sync Write-N-Cite
Note: The first time you launch Write-N-Cite, you must be connected to the internet in order to log-in to your RefWorks library and sync it with Write-N-Cite. To log-in:
Click RefWorks from the Microsoft Word tool bar (on the far right).
Select Log-in and enter your RefWork username and password.
The first time you log in to Write-N-Cite, it will automatically “sync” with your RefWorks library, which may take a few seconds as it is downloading your references and collections.
To select your citation format style, click the Style drop down and pick a citation format.
Step 2: Write a paper and insert citations, footnotes and a bibliography
You may want to sync your RefWorks library with Write-N-Cite if you have recently added items you want to use in your paper. Click the Sync my database icon to download new or updated items.
To insert a citation:
Click the Insert Citation and Insert New option to launch the insert/edit citation box
If you have previously used Write-N-Cite, you may see some recently selected citations listed above the Insert New option. You can select citations displayed from this list or access all your references from the Insert New option.
Once the Insert/Edit Citation box displays, you can access your items by collection or by searching
Click on the item you wish to insert into your paper.
You will see a preview of the formatted citation in your current output style
Click OK to insert your formatted citation into your paper
To insert a footnote:
To insert a footnote instead of an in-text citation, click the Make Footnote checkbox in the Edit References area.
Once you make a footnote and finish editing the citation, you will not be able to undo this action. However, you can always add a new in-text citation.
To insert a bibliograhy:
You can insert your bibliography anywhere in your paper while you are writing. Click Bibliography Options, Insert Bibliography.
Note:The bibliography will be inserted wherever the cursor is in your paper. You can click Remove Bibliography and re-insert if it you need to change the location.