Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Management : EndNote

A guide for all things citation management.

Access EndNote

EndNote logo

 

EndNote X9 is available from the Yale IT Library, and is free to members of the Yale community.

Using EndNote

To get the most out of EndNote: 

1. Create an account to later access your library from other devices and collaborate with other users.

2. Set up Find Full Text to easily access full-text resources.

3. Set up Cite While You Write to integrate seamlessly with Microsoft Word or Apple Pages.

Get started with EndNote

Add references

How to enter citations manually
  • From the References drop-down, click New Reference. You can also use the icon with a document and plus sign.
  • Select your material type, with options ranging from Aggregated Database to Web Page.
  • Enter the information you have, save your reference and close out of the window.
How to export citations from a database

  • Conduct a search in your favorite database.

  • Select which resources you want to export. After you’ve checked your boxes, locate and click Export, Send To, or Download.

  • Select Citation Manager, or sometimes there will even be a specific option for EndNote.

    • To be compatible with EndNote, you’ll need to download file formats such as .nbib, .ciw or .txt with a filter installed.

  • Open the downloaded file and enjoy your new citations!

Write a paper

  • Open your document.
    • Locate the EndNote toolbar, generally located on the right side of the ribbon.
  • When it's time to insert a references, select Go to EndNote.
  • Select the citation that supports your claims by clicking on it once to highlight.
  • Locate the Insert Citation icon and click on it.
    • The in-text citation and reference will appear in your document.
    • Is your citation in the wrong style? Click on the Style drop-down menu and select another style.

Create a bibliography

  • Pick your preferred output style.
    • Select the Output Style drop-down menu
  • Pick the references you want by clicking to highlight.
    • To select all: Edit > Select All.
  • From the Edit drop-down, select Copy Formatted.
  • Open a blank document.
    • Paste.
    • Voila!

EndNote Overview

EndNote is a commercial citation management software package produced by Clarivate Analytics, the owners of the database Web of Science. It is a commercial program that Yale licenses for the members of its community.

EndNote Features

  • Storing an unlimited amount of references and attached documents
  • Team access to a single library
  • Find Full Text functionality, which digs through Yale’s databases for you to find articles
  • A wide variety of citation styles
  • Compatibility with Microsoft Word and Apple Pages to insert citations and bibliographies
  • Deduplication of libraries, merging identical references into one record
  • Free vendor support and troubleshooting
  • Direct export of references from resources such as PubMed and Web of Science
  • Library lives on local device, meaning you can access your materials without internet connection

EndNote Considerations

  • Be sure to back up your library manually or create a Sync account in order to not lose your library if your computer fails
  • The full functionality of EndNote is not offered in its online iteration, so if you do work from a variety of machines, a different tool may better suit your needs
  • As EndNote is a paid, licensed tool, you may not have access to newer versions of EndNote if you leave Yale

EndNote Support

For technical troubleshooting, contact EndNote directly.

Contact Yale Library

For general questions, tips, and assistance, contact your personal librarian!

To find your personal librarian:

Don't have a Personal Librarian? Reach out to a Subject Specialist Librarian, or contact Ask Yale Library.

EndNote After Graduation

After graduation, desktop EndNote will remain available on your personal computer. After your Net ID expires, you will no longer be able to use Find Full Text to access Yale resources. You will also not be able to update versions of the software without paying.

Page Information

This page was updated by Caitlin Meyer on November 19, 2018. Please reach out for corrections or additional information.