- From the References drop-down, click on 'add new'.
- From the reference type drop-down, select material type.
- Enter information.
- Click 'Save'
Connect to Yale's Online Catalog (i.e., get a book)
- From the Search drop-down, click on 'online catalog or database'.'
- Select 'Yale ORBIS' in the Search box.
- Enter search terms in either 'quick search' or 'advanced search'.
- Click 'search' at the bottom of the screen.
Direct Export from your favorite database (in general):
- Conduct a search and select references to export. Choose the RefWorks option.
- RefWorks will open and import the reference.
Import a saved text file:
- Conduct search; select references to save; use the 'save' to save as a text file (choose RIS file option).
- Name file and remember where you saved it!
- Go to RefWorks.
- From the References drop-down, click on 'import'
- Click on the Import Filter/Data Source drop-down; select source (what database you got the references from)
- Browse to the file
- Click on the Import into Folder to select the folder where you want the references
- Click Import
Attend a class, watch a tutorial for more information about building your RefWorks database!
Writing a Paper
- First, download Write-n-Cite Plug-In; from the Tools drop-down, click on Write-n-Cite; follow instructions
- With Word open, 'log in' to the RefWorks toolbar using the code you will find in your RefWorks account, 'tools' ''write-n-cite'
- With your document open, place cursor where the citation should appear
- From the RefWorks Toolbar, click 'insert citation' then 'insert new'
- Enter a term in the Search field to find the reference(s) or browse a folder
- Highlight the citation(s) you want added and click 'ok'
- To add bilbiography, click on 'blibliography options' from the toolbar and choose 'insert bibliography'
Attend a class, watch a tutorial for more information about using RefWorks to write your paper!
Create a Bibliography
- First, from the Bibliography drop-down, click on 'create''
- References: select the appropriate output style
- Choose the file type for your bibliography
- choose the references you want included in the blibliography in 'references to include' drop-down
- Then click on 'create bibliography'
Attend a class, watch a tutorial for more information about using RefWorks to create a bibliography!