Physical Book

Like its predecessor, the third edition of Academic Writing for Graduate Students explains understanding the intended audience, the purpose of the paper, and academic genres; includes the use of task-based methodology, analytic group discussion, and genre consciousness-raising; shows how to write summaries and critiques; features Language Focus sections that address linguistic elements as they affect the wider rhetorical objectives; and helps students position themselves as junior scholars in their academic communities. Among the many changes in the third edition: *newer, longer, and more authentic texts and examples *greater discipline variety in texts (added texts from hard sciences and engineering) *more in-depth treatment of research articles *greater emphasis on vocabulary issues *revised flow-of-ideas section *additional tasks that require students to do their own research *more corpus-informed content *binding that allows the book to lay flat when open. The Commentary (teacher's notes and key) (978-0-472-03506-9) has been revised expanded. 

Physical Book

The ultimate guide to the 'what', 'how' and 'why' of literature reviewing, the second edition of the classic text shows how the literature review will unlock the full potential of one′s research with: A thorough exploration of the literature review process from start to finish Two brand new chapters explaining the different types of review and evidence and evaluation Extended examples that show you how to apply key techniques and procedures A new 'core skills' framework to help you turn your research experience into employability A critical thinking focus that will help you construct convincing arguments and improve your research decisions  In combining a critical, philosophical approach with an expertly selected body of practical examples, the Second Edition of Chris Hart′s landmark text provides both the intellectual understanding and the technical skills required to produce sophisticated, robust literature reviews of the very highest standard. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!

Not owned by Yale... Link to World catalog

The Only Academic Phrasebook You'll Ever Need is a short, no-nonsense, reader-friendly bank of academic sentence templates. It was written for both graduate and undergraduate students who already know the basics of academic writing but may still struggle to express their ideas using the right words. The Only Academic Phrasebook You'll Ever Need contains 600 sentence templates organized around the typical sections of an academic paper. Here are some examples: 1. Establishing a research territory: The last few years have seen an increased interest in ____. 2. Describing research gaps: To date, no study has looked specifically at ____. 3. Stating your aims: The aim of this study is to discuss the extent to which ____. 4. Describing the scope and organization of your paper: In chapter ____ , the concept of ____ is further explored. 5. General literature review: A number of scholars have attempted to identify ____. 6. Referencing: In his 1799 study, Smith argued that ____. 7. Sampling and data collection: Participants were randomly selected based on ____. 8. Data analysis and discussion: The data provide preliminary evidence that ____. The Only Academic Phrasebook You'll Ever Need also contains 80 grammar and vocabulary tips for both native and non-native speakers. For example: 1. What's the difference between "effect" and "affect"? "Imply" and "infer"? "They're", "their" and "there"? 2. Is "irregardless" correct? 3. Do you say "the criteria was" or "the criteria were"? The Only Academic Phrasebook You'll Ever Need is NOT a comprehensive academic writing textbook. It will NOT teach you key academic skills such as choosing the right research question, writing clear paragraphs, dealing with counter arguments and so on. But it will help you find the best way to say what you want to say so you can ace that paper!

E-book

This book is designed to enable non-native English speakers to write science research for publication in English. It can also be used by English speakers and is a practical, user-friendly book intended as a fast, do-it-yourself guide for those whose English language proficiency is above intermediate. The approach is based on material developed from teaching graduate students at Imperial College London and has been extensively piloted. The book guides the reader through the process of writing science research and will also help with writing a Master's or Doctoral thesis in English.Science writing is much easier than it looks because the structure and language are conventional. The aim of this book is to help the reader discover a template or model for science research writing and then to provide the grammar and vocabulary tools needed to operate that model. There are five units: Introduction, Methodology, Results, Discussion/Conclusion and Abstract. The reader develops a model for each section of the research article through sample texts and exercises; this is followed by a Grammar and Writing Skills section designed to respond to frequently-asked questions as well as a Vocabulary list including examples of how the words and phrases are to be used.

Physical Book

Scientific Writing and Communication: Papers, Proposals, and Presentations, Third Edition, covers all the areas of scientific communication that a scientist needs to know and master in order to successfully promote his or her research and career. This unique "all-in-one" handbook begins with adiscussion of the basic principles of scientific writing style and composition and then applies these principles to writing research papers, review articles, grant proposals, research statements, and resumes, as well as to preparing academic presentations and posters.

E-Book

Selecting the right journal for publication using web resources and more Selecting and searching bibliographic databases for synthesizing literature Developing literature reviews for target audiences of research versus clinical papers Disseminating research to researchers versus clinicians Writing quality improvement reports and evidence-based practice articles Writing papers for clinical journals Publishing innovations in clinical practice and unit-based initiatives Publishing in open-access journals and important considerations Turning capstone projects, theses, and dissertations into manuscripts Working with coauthors and student/faculty collaborations Responding to peer reviews Avoiding abuses of authorship and copyright issues Marilyn H. Oermann, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN, is the Thelma M. Ingles Professor of Nursing and Director of Evaluation and Educational Research at Duke University School of Nursing, Durham, North Carolina. She is author/coauthor of 15 nursing education books and many articles on evaluation, teaching in nursing, and writing for publication. She is the editor of Nurse Educator and the Journal of Nursing Care Quality. Dr. Oermann lectures widely on teaching and evaluation in nursing and on writing for publication. Judith C. Hays, PhD, RN, FGSA, is Associate Professor Emerita at Duke University School of Nursing, Durham, North Carolina. She is author/coauthor of a psychiatric epidemiology textbook and more than 70 scientific articles on late-life living arrangements, religiousness, depression, palliative care and bereavement, and nursing history. She is coeditor emeritus of the journal