In order to facilitate consistent tracking of special collections materials traveling between Yale special collections for use in instruction, and consistent usage data extracted from Aeon for instruction/outreach-based Activities, please use the following guidelines in completing any Aeon Activity record for an instruction or outreach event. For other types of Aeon Activities (that is, Activity records whose Type field does not start with "Class-..."), consult your repository's local guidelines for instructions on how to fill out the Activity record in a standardized way that will be intelligible and useful to others in your repository.

Name field:

• For Beinecke staff, use Beinecke guidelines for the contents of this field:  Date | Times | Room Number | Name of Class.  Example:  09/26/19| 11:35-12:50 | RM 9 | Writing Seminars.
• For specialized repositories, use guidelines in the Aeon Activity Maintenance box in the column to the right, under Conventions for the Name field.

Activity ID: Is automatically assigned when you save the new Activity record.

Type: Use one of the following options from the pull-down menu (other menu options should not be used for instruction/outreach events).This field works in tandem with the Yale/Non-Yale field to identify the type of instruction/outreach event.

• Class-Course-Integrated = The class session(s) is for a regularly scheduled course in an academic institution (examples: Yale course, other college/university course, high school course).
• Class-Open House/Tour = An open house or tour in which which collection materials are utilized, typically in a show-and-tell or exhibit fashion (examples: reunion or parents' weekend tour or open house, public event).
• Class-Other-Program = The class session is for a formal program that isn't course-integrated (examples: conference, workshop, summer teacher seminar, summer campus program, speaker series).

Note that Beinecke staff may have an additional Class-... option in the Type pull-down menu that is used for managing the multiple classrooms at the Beinecke Library:

• Class-Semester long = Use for a class that is holding every session at the Beinecke Library.

Reference Number: Use this field only for Yale courses listed in the Blue Book/Yale Course Search. Use the course number exactly as listed there, with spaces (examples: AFAM 160, CSPC 300, ER&M 409, ENGL 946, MUS 512). Leave this field blank in all other circumstances.

Yale/Non-Yale: The default value in the pull-down for this field is Created. For all instruction/outreach events use the pull-down menu to change the value of this field to either Non-Yale or Yale, depending on the affiliation of the course, program, or group for which the instruction/outreach event is being conducted.

Event Description: Include a brief, succinct description of the event, including the course name, or the name of the organization or program for which the instruction/outreach event is being offered.

Borrowed (Y): Use this field only if your repository is borrowing materials from another Yale repository for an instruction/outreach event scheduled in your repository. Place a Y in the field if you are borrowing materials using the LCS secure special collections transporatation service. Otherwise leave it blank. Examples:

• An MSSA staff member takes MSSA collection materials through the tunnel to BRBL for a class session she is teaching there that will utilize both MSSA and BRBL materials in a BRBL classroom. Neither repository would indicate that it is borrowing materials in its Aeon Activity record for this event, since the MSSA staff member is teaching at BRBL and is taking her own collection materials through the tunnel to BRBL and returning to MSSA with them immediately following the class session. This situation is unique to BRBL and MSSA & MUS due to the availability of the tunnel between SML and BRBL.
• An MHL staff member arranges to have DIV collection material sent through the LCS secure transport service to MHL for a conference workshop being held in an MHL classroom. MHL staff would put a Y in this field when creating an Aeon Activity record for the event. DIV's Activity record would be for a Type=Loan and not for an instruction/outreach event, so DIV staff would leave this field blank.
• A BRBL staff member arranges to borrow MSSA and ART collection materials for a class presentation being held in a BRBL classroom and being taught by a DASHRS librarian. ART collection materials are delivered to MSSA, where they are placed on a book truck with MSSA collection materials and delivered through the tunnel to BRBL. BRBL staff would put a Y in this field when creating an Aeon Activity record for the event, since they are requesting collection material from MSSA and ART.. Both ART's and MSSA's Activity records would be for a Type=Loan and not for an instruction/outreach event, so ART and MSSA staff would leave this field blank.

People Involved: List the names of the key faculty member(s), organizer(s), and repository staff who are responsible for the session. Data in this field is useful in identifying who should be contacted with questions about an instruction/outreach event, and also in doing custom searches across deactivated Activity records.

Begin Date:

• For Beinecke staff, use the date of the instruction/outreach event.
• For specialized repositories, use the date on which the Aeon Activity for the instruction/outreach event is created.

Location: Choose the appropriate classroom or other location for the instruction/outreach activity from the pull-down menu in this field. If the location is not provided in the pull-down menu, contact Moira Fitzgerald and Steve Ross to have it added to the pull-down. In the meantime you can choose the closest approximation and then change it after the correct room has been added to the pull-down menu.

End Date:

• For Beinecke staff, use the date of the instruction/outreach event.
• For specialized repositories, choose a date that is approximately a week after the instruction/outreach event will occur in order to allow time for the.Aeon Transactions associated with the Activity to be completed (that is, their status = Request Finished).

Notes: Add any notes necessary for your administration of the instruction/outreach event. For example, you may want to note the exact date and time for a class session if that information isn't recorded elsewhere in the Aeon Activity record.

This information pertains only to the shared Aeon_2 instance currently being used collaboratively by Arts Library Special Collections, Divinity Library Special Collections, Lewis Walpole Library, Manuscripts and Archives, Medical Historical Library, Music Library Special Collections, and Yale Center for British Art. Questions regarding the use and maintenance of Aeon Activity records on the Aeon_1 (Beinecke Library) instance should be directed to Moira Fitzgerald.

Conventions for the Name field:

Special collections repositories using Aeon_2 should use the following, including the colon (:), as the first element in the Name field on the Aeon Activity record. This makes the incredibly long list of active Aeon Activities that appears in the Aeon_2 staff client more manageable to scan visually:

ART: = Arts Library Special Collections | DIV: Divinity Library Special Collections | LWL: = Lewis Walpole Library | MHL: = Medical Historical Library | MSSA: = Manuscripts and Archives | MUS: = Music Library Special Collections | YCBA: = Yale Center for British Art |SHARED: Use for classes that are using materials from multiple sites.

In order to further help with filing order of their actively in-use Aeon Activities, some of the above repositores ask their staff to use a second standardized element in the Name field (e.g. MSSA: Class: [...], YCBA: Loan: [...]). Please consult your repository's representative on the Aeon Advisory Group (formerly Aeon User Group (AUG)) if you have questions about how to construct an Aeon Activity Name field to your repository's standards.

Periodic deactivation of Activity records no longer in use:

Each Aeon_2 repository should also designate a point person to periodically (at least twice a year) browse that repository's list of active Aeon Activity records and deactivate (i.e., remove the check mark from the Active checkbox and then save the record) Activities that are no longer in use. This will help prevent the list of active Activities displayed on the home screen of the Aeon Staff Client from becoming unmanageably long. There are several ways that you can assess whether an Activity is currently being used:

• The assigned End Date for the Activity has passed.
• All Transactions associated with the Activity are in the status Request Finished, Canceled by Staff, or Canceled by User.
• There were never any Transactions associated with the Activity (i.e., the "Requests" tab on the Activity record has nothing on it).

When in doubt, contact the person who created the Activity to enquire whether or not it is still being actively used (you'll find the NetID of the creator of the Activity on the "History" tab). Note that you should not deactivate any Aeon Activity when there are still in-use transactions (e.g., not Finished or Canceled) that are associated with it.

Custom searching of deactivated Activity records:

Atlas Systems provides excellent, step-by-step documentation on Custom Searching in Aeon on its Aeon web pages. The key to successful custom searches for deactivated Aeon Activities, though, is consistent inputting of metadata about each Activity, so you can rely on common information being searchable in various Activity record fields. The YUL Aeon Advisory Group does not recommend specific standardized data for any fields other than those listed on this tab; however, each repository is encouraged to develop local guidelines as deemed useful for its staff members in searching through its active and deactivated Activity records.