Yale University Library Research Guides: Aeon Documentation for Yale Special Collections: Interdepartmental Materials Share

Overview

This page provides information on repositories’ shipping and receiving of collections materials between each other. It assumes that communication surrounding the purpose of loan is made in advance of this procedure. Collection materials from Special collections units can be shared for a variety of reasons, including classes, cataloging, conservation, and photoduplication.

To facilitate the interdepartmental secure transport of restricted or special collections materials, MSSA serves as the Special Collections Transit Hub (SC Hub) for its colleagues who include Yale’s special collections repositories, DASHRs, the Conservation Lab, and the various Technical Services units at 344 Winchester. MSSA may also provide delivery service between these units and Beinecke through physical handoff in the basement tunnels between SML and BRBL’s 121 Wall Street Location.

Preliminary Info and Links

Information about using LCS’s transport system for special collections, please see the associated Transportation of Special Collections Materials LibGuide. The Quick Reference FAQs include instructions on working with Library IT to get users' NetIDs into the Active Directory group. “lib_lcsTransports_users” which provides access to the LCS Transport App that enables you to schedule shipments and use the CNF (Customer Notification Form).

Information about using the LCS Transport

To order totes or other equipment in advance of a shipment, please see: Transport Containers | Yale University Library. Remember that the Sending Unit for such requests is LSF 1 and that generic tote types are indicated with a type-code padded with five zeroes, for example: PR00000 or BX00000.  

Information about our implementation of Aeon’s Shared View.

Entering Data into the Form 

Email notifications to intended recipients of a SC Hub delivery include the re-delivery information that  we enter into LCS’s CNF (Customer Notification Form) - \\wcsfs00.its.yale.internal\libraryit-807001-ics\AccessServices\LCSTransports\LCSManager\LCSCommunications.accdb.

Sending Unit: MSSA 

Time: [AM/PM – for this pickup] 

Transfer Date: [date – for this pickup] 

Bin, Seal# and Quantity to be determined by staff member. 

Drop Point: [DESTINATION CODE – see table, below]   

Notes: “Re-Deliver to [DESTINATION CODE] in the [AM/PM – next delivery cycle]. Attn: [preestablished recipient].” 

The material will arrive at the destination on LCS’s next delivery: Remember that material delivered from one repository to another must first go to LSF to be transferred to the vehicle servicing the designated drop point, hence the “Re-delivery” language. 

After setting up the delivery, you can send an email right from the access form itself, or alternatively build an excel file and attach it to an email. Choosing the latter allows us to more easily manipulate the data and or alter the message text, should we need to. For instance, it’s ideal to delete line items from the spreadsheet that have nothing to do with the re-delivery itself, i.e. our typical MSSA-to-LSF returns.

Attach the spreadsheet to an email to the item’s recipient, to the staff member who arranged for the delivery through SC Hub, as well as the designated department manager. The body text of the message that you send to the recipient can be minimal, but should include the salient points of the delivery.

For example:   

Please see the attached spreadsheet for information regarding an incoming delivery from SML Access Services via MSSA’s Special Collections Transit Hub. You can expect the blue BX tote tomorrow morning. 

  [Staff Member] is sending you 16 items via LCS. I have scheduled its pick up of the PR tote this tomorrow and so it should be delivered to your attention tomorrow afternoon. I have included the relevant information in an excel file attached to this message.

Ensure that the material is securely packed in the tote. Packing guidelines 
Affix to the tote at least two notes (one taped to the top, another taped on a side) outlining the delivery.

For example: 

TO: PR344 

Attn: Christine McCarthy 

From: MSSA 

Place the tote with the department’s outgoing materials.

Delivery Location Codes 

LIBRARY/LOCATION	LOCATION CODE	ATTN:
Arts Library Special Collections	ALSC	Mar González Palacios
Beinecke at 121 Wall Street	BE121	Varies
Beinecke at 344 Winchester	BE344	Varies
Classics Library	Classics	Colin McCaffrey
Conservation and Exhibit Services – Pres Dept.	PR344	Varies
CSSSI	CSSSI	Varies
Digital Accessioning Services/ Digital Preservation	PR344	Gabby Redwine OR Alice Prael
Digital Preservation – Pres Department	PR344	Euan Cochrane
Digital Reformatting and Microfilming Services (DRMS) – Pres Department	TS344	Robert Klingenberger
Divinity Library	DV	Christine Pesch Richardson
Film Studies Center	FSC	Brian Meacham
Library IT	Library IT	Varies
LSF	LSF
Manuscripts and Archives	MSSA	Varies
Math Library	Math	Chris Kaminski OR Paul Lukasiewicz
Medical Library	Medical	Varies
Music Library	MU	Varies
Preservation Services – Pres Department	PR344	Tara Kennedy OR Susan Mar
Sterling Memorial Library B31	SML (B31)	Varies
Technical Services	TS 344	Varies
Yale Center for British Art	YCBA	Varies
Yale Center for British Art Archives	270 Crown	Rachel Chatalbash

Note: because of its distance from the main campus, the Lewis Walpole Library makes separate arrangements for collection transport.

Aeon Documentation for Yale Special Collections: Interdepartmental Materials Share

Overview

Preliminary Info and Links

Entering Data into the Form

Delivery Location Codes

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries