19th Century U.S. NewspapersSearchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; and it encompasses the entire 19th century.
Accesible ArchivesSearchable collection of 19th century-early 20th century American resources, including newspapers, periodicals, books, and databases. Includes newspapers relevant to African American history, such as the Frederick Douglass' paper, the Liberator, National Anti-Slavery Standard, and the Negro Business League Herald.
African American Newspapers: Series 2, 1835-1956.African American Newspapers, Series 2, complements and expands on Series 1 with newspapers written for or by African Americans, covering the period from Abolitionism to the Harlem Renaissance.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995Provides access to periodicals by and about African Americans. Topics include arts, business, civil rights, education, fashion, gender issues, media, organizations, politics, race relations, religion, and sports.
America's Historical NewspapersA searchable and browsable collection of American newspapers published from 1690 to the present. It offers searchable digital facsimiles of titles from every U.S. state and Puerto Rico. It features eyewitness reporting, news pieces, editorials, letters, advertisements, and obituaries. Includes the collection African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.
Anti-Slavery Collection, 1769-1865The anti-slavery collection consists primarily of publications, letters, bills of sale, slave deeds and reports from between 1769 and 1865, although one retrospective account was recorded in 1916. Most of the materials in the collection relate to slavery and support Berea College's open opposition to the institution of slaves.
The Church in the Southern Black CommunityCollection of electronic texts documenting how Southern African Americans experienced and transformed Protestant Christianity into the central institution of community life. Part of Documenting the American South initiative sponsored by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
ProQuest Black Studies (Digital Archives)Includes records from the archives of key civil rights organizations of the 1950s and 1960s: Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC) and the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC).
Databases: History & Religion
America: History and LifeCovers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes hundreds of journals.
Documenting the American SouthA collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the twentieth century. Includes the Church in the Southern Black Community collection.
Historical AbstractsAn index of literature covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present.
Making of AmericaA digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Music Online: American MusicA historical audio database of American music that includes African American songs like spirituals, gospel music, blues, etc.
ProQuest History Vault: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom StruggleProvides access to primary source, cross-searchable, full-text, full-image documents from ProQuest's University Publications of America (UPA) collection on topics related to 19th and 20th-century American history. Includes access to all modules in the Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle collection and access to selected modules in other collections
ProQuest History Vault: Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil WarProvides access to primary source, cross-searchable, full-text, full-image documents from ProQuest's University Publications of America (UPA) collection on topics related to 19th and 20th-century American history. Includes access to all modules in the Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War collection and access to selected modules in other collections.
Religion & Philosophy CollectionOffers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
American ReligionPublished semiannually, American Religion offers a forum for intellectual and creative engagement with religion in the Americas.
Black Music Research JournalThe official journal of the Center for Black Music Research in Chicago and published by the University of Illinois Press twice a year. With roots in Fisk University’s Institute for Research in African American Music, this journal includes a greater number of articles, reviews, indexes, and special issues on African American gospel music than any academic journal available. From its first issue in 1980, gospel music scholarship has been present in its volumes.
Black Theology: An International JournalProvides a forum for the articulation and expression of issues of faith among Black people across the world. Contributions explore the nature of the Black religious experience in relation to African, Caribbean, American, Antipodean or Asian origins and other relevant contexts.
Church HistoryPublished by the American Society of Church History. Abstracted and indexed in the ATLA Religion Database.
Journal of American HistoryPublished four times a year by the Organization of American Historians (OAH), a leading scholarly publication and journal of record in American history.
Journal of American StudiesA quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering international perspectives on the history, literature, politics and culture of the United States.
