The Cambridge Companion to Black Theology by
Discusses normative theological categories from a black perspective and argues that there is no major Christian doctrine on which black theology has not commented.
The Oxford Handbook of African American Theology (Online) by
A comprehensive analysis of the African American theological tradition in its many forms and contexts. Presents current scholarship on African American Theology and scripture, eschatology, Christology, womanist theology, sexuality, ontology, the global economy, and much more.
The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Race in American History (Online) by
Addresses the religious experience, social realities, theologies, and sociologies of racialized groups inAmerican religious history, as well as the ways that religious myths, institutions, and practices contributed to their racialization.
The Oxford Companion to African American Literature by
The Companion includes entries on 150 major works of African American literature (including synopses of novels). Includes general articles on the traditional literary genres, such as autobiography, slave narratives, Sunday School literature, and oratory; and on a wide spectrum of related topics, including journalism, the black periodical press, major libraries and research centers, religion, literary societies, women's clubs, and various publishing enterprises.
Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions by
This reference covers African and African-American religion in sub-Saharan Africa, North America, South America, and the Caribbean, and provides vital insights into its growing worldwide influence in Europe, Asia and the South Pacific.
Encyclopedia of African American Christian Heritage by
With entries ranging from the abolitionist movement to Malcolm X and from Andrew Young to Ralph Abernathy, these concise, informative articles will guide readers through such comprehensive, wide-ranging topics as Kwanzaa, the civil rights movement, the Nation of Islam, and the growth and development of the major historically black denominations.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History (5 vols.) by
An authoritative, five volume work dealing with all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. With over 2,300 entries, 2,500 pages, and more than 1,000 photographs, maps, and charts, the Encyclopedia encompasses a broad range of topics in an effort to fully define in one source both the cultural roots and the current condition of the African-American community.
Encyclopedia of American Religious History by
Outlines the numerous philosophers, personalities, social issues, and cultural histories of religious practices throughout American history. Special emphasis is placed on recent developments in religious life in the US and the historical contributions of people long neglected by mainstream religious historians, including African Americans, Native Americans, and women.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved