Yale University Library Research Guides: ANTH541a/FES80054a/HIST965a/PLSC779a Agrarian Societies: Home

General Agriculture Resources

Family Farming Knowledge Platform
The Family Farming Knowledge Platform gathers digitized quality information on family farming from all over the world; including national laws and regulations, public policies, best practices, relevant data and statistics, researches, articles and publications.
USDA National Agricultural Library
The National Agricultural Library is one of five national libraries of the United States and houses one of the world's largest collections devoted to agriculture and its related sciences.

Topics of possible interest

In this section, some topics that impact agrarian societies may be identified:

- Climate Change

- Intergenerational farming

- Land Use or Land Grab

- Support for local societies (co-ops and extension services)

Reference Sources

Key Bibliographic Databases

The following databases provide a great starting point for finding scholarly journal literature. Some are narrower in scope, while others are broader and multidisciplinary. Often the articles will be available in PDF full-text format, but, if not, links will appear that you can follow to request any articles of interest through the library's interlibrary loan (ILL) service.

Annual Reviews
Content spans disciplines within the biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and economics.
ProQuest Natural Science Collection
Web of Science
Historical Abstracts
For finding historical literature on all parts of the world except the U.S. and Canada.
Academic Search Premier
Indexes nearly 3000 journals, most peer-reviewed, across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
HeinOnline
Full text image-based searchable database of legal periodicals. Database coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under contract.