Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Astronomy: Get Articles

This guide provides information about databases, books, and data archives/resources of particular interest to astronomy-centric researchers and students at Yale.

Open Access at Yale

Yale University Library supports many open access initiatives through membership fees. These include preprint servers like the arXiv and medRxiv, Knowledge Unlatched, the Biodiversity Heritage Library, Reveal Digital, the Technical Report Archive & Image Library, and the Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics. Read more about our open access initiative support here.

Are you about to publish? Yale Library has agreements with some publishers that provide discounts when you publish with them. For PLOS and Cambridge University Press, the article processing charges to publish open access are completely waived. To learn more about your options and the details of our agreements, visit the library's guide to open access publishing support.

Guidelines on what the library supports and our strategy for choosing initiatives are available here.

Some of our databases have filters that allow you to see what is being published open access, including the Web of Science and Scopus. If you want to see what Yale authors have published under open access licenses, for example, do a search on Yale University using the Institution/Affiliation filter, then narrow down to open access in the results.

Theses and Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) provides a very comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses and is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress. The database provides full text for most dissertations after 1997, and older materials that have not been digitized are available for purchase as printed copies.

Beyond the ADS

Accessing Articles from Off-Campus (not on YaleSecure or Yale Ethernet)

Tricks for Using the ADS

The main way to search for astronomy articles, books, and gray literature is to use the Astrophysics Data System.

The main ADS page.

The main page has helpful search operator examples that can assist you in building a search. The results page also allows for faceting after you have searched — if you are investigating a new topic, you can always search for something broader and refine based on the results you are seeing.

Here is the link to ADS' modern search: https://ui.adsabs.harvard.edu/

ADS now has a "classic" version that combines some of the features from the former ADS interface, now with the intuitive benefits of Integrated Search. Find it by clicking the "Classic" tab: https://ui.adsabs.harvard.edu/#classic-form

The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 9.6 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints. The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records, which are searchable through highly customizable query forms, and full-text scans of much of the astronomical literature which can be browsed or searched via their full-text search interface.

Other important search features are available. The About ADS section and the ADS help pages are useful to review.

Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences

Profile Photo
Kayleigh Bohemier
Contact:
Please email me or use the Schedule Appointment button. In-person and virtual (Zoom) appointments are both possible. Please note that Science Hill is a 15-minute walk from central campus, and there is a temporary entrance due to construction.

My default ONSITE days are Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday. During the semester (not during breaks!), I am onsite on Thursdays. I am OFFSITE most Mondays.

———

Marx Science and Social Science Library (formerly called CSSSI)
Office C41
219 Prospect Street
Concourse Level
Kline Biology Tower
203-432-9519