Biomass, Biofuels, Biochemicals by
Biomass, Biofuels, Biochemicals: Biofuels: Alternative Feedstocks and Conversion Processes for the Production of Liquid and Gaseous Biofuels, Second Edition, provides general information, basic data and knowledge on one of the most promising renewable energy sources--liquid and gaseous biofuels--and their production and application. The book delineates green technologies for abating environmental crisis and enabling the transformation into a sustainable future. It provides date-based scientific information on the most advanced and innovative technology on biofuels, as well as the process scale-up and commercialization of various liquid and gaseous biofuels, detailing the functional mechanisms involved, various operational configurations, influencing factors and integration strategies. All chapters have been updated, with new chapters covering topics of current interest, including sustainability and biohydrogen. Presents a holistic view of biofuels in research, operation, scale-up and application Widens the scope of the existing technologies, providing state-of-the-art information and knowledge Provides strategic integrations of various bioprocesses that are essential in establishing a circular biorefinery Contains interdisciplinary knowledge on the environment, molecular biology, engineering, biotechnology, microbiology and economic aspects Integrates various subjects, including biotechnology, bioengineering, molecular biology, environmental science, sustainability science and chemical engineering
Biofuels by
The increasing worldwide demand for energy, combined with diminishing fossil fuel reserves and concerns about climate change, have stimulated intense research into the development of renewable energy sources, in particular, microbial biofuels. For a biofuel to be commercially viable, the production processes, yield, and titer have to be optimized, which can be achieved through the use of microbial cell factories. Using multidisciplinary research approaches, and through the application of diverse biotechnologies (such as enzyme engineering, metabolic engineering, systems biology, and synthetic biology), microbial cell factories have begun to yield some very encouraging data and microbial biofuels have a very promising future. In this book, a panel of international experts review the most important hot-topics in this area to provide a timely overview. The production of different biofuel molecules is comprehensively covered, including hydrogen, methane, ethanol, butanol, higher chain alcohols, isoprenoids, and fatty acid derivatives from genetically engineered microbes. To enhance biofuel production, special focus is given to the use of metabolic engineering of microbes, including bacteria, yeast, and microalgae. In addition, the book's contributors discuss the current research progress, technical challenges, and future development trends for biofuel production. Essential reading for research scientists, graduate students, and other specialists interested in microbial biofuels, the book is also recommended reading for environmental microbiologists, chemists, and engineers. Subject: Microbiology, Energy Studies, Life Science, Environmental Science, Engineering, Chemistry]
Biofuels Technology, Challenges and Prospects by
This book is intended to serve as a compendium on the state-of-the-art research in the field of biofuels. The book includes chapters on different aspects of biofuels from renowned international experts in the field. The book looks at current research on all aspects of biofuels from raw materials to production techniques. It also includes chapters on analysis of performance of biofuels, particularly biodiesel, in engines. The book incorporates case studies that provide insights into the performance of biofuels in applications such as automotive engines and diesel generators. The contents of the book will be useful to graduate students and researchers working on all aspects of biofuels. The book will also be of use to professionals and policymakers interested in biofuels.
Green Fuels Technology by
This book presents key recent developments in biofuel policy, products, processes, patents and innovative technologies. It presents several case studies, which maximize reader insights into how innovative green energy technologies can be implemented on an industrial scale, with illustrations, photos and new approaches. It also analyzes in detail several different technological aspects of the research into and production of green fuels from the first, second and third generation, such as, bioethanol, biogas, biohydrogen, biobutanol, biofuels from pyrolysis, and discusses their economic and environmental impacts. A new source of information for engineers, technicians and students involved in production and research in the biofuels sector, this book also provides a valuable resource for industry, covering the current and future status of biofuels.
Sustainable Biofuels by
With oil resources approaching their limits, biofuels have become increasingly attractive. This book provides a detailed description of the ecological implications of second and third generation biofuel feedstock production systems, beginning with an introduction to the importance of ecological sustainability alongside economic viability. The book is divided into sections describing theoretical foundation and benefits of various biofuel cropping systems, and providing a description of practical ecological limitations to achieve those fundamental benefits. The book covers such critical issues as greenhouse gas emissions, carbon balance, water cycle components, other biogeochemical and socioeconomic interactions alongside life cycle analysis principals for achieving sustainability. These are some of the most important sustainability, environmental and economic issues which biofuel industry and scientific community is seeking answers to.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved