Yale University Library Research Guides: Energy and the Environment: Home

Welcome

Welcome! This guide is for researchers studying energy extraction and use, and its impact on the environment. Here you'll find a number of recommended resources, from books in Yale University's catalog to e-journals and databases to government resources. The lists here are by no means exhaustive; rather they should serve as jumping-off points for your research. Please contact me with any questions.

General Energy Databases

Frost & Sullivan
Frost and Sullivan features global market research and strategy reports in the following areas: Aerospace & defense; automotive & transportation; chemicals, materials and food; electronics & security; energy & power supplies; environment & building technologies; healthcare; industrial automation & process control; information & communication technologies; and measurement & instrumentation. Covers 1998 to present.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers information covering human impacts on the environment. Its collection includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
IEEE Xplore
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IET electronic library users.
OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary contains publications and datasets released by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, Program for International Student Assessment (PISA), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.
S&P Global Market Intelligence
Yale Library account provides access to the financial institutions, energy industries, metals and mining, real estate, and tech, media and telecom content only. You can find power plant information under Screener, then Asset Data.

The Energy We Use

This interactive map, created using Social Explorer, will let you explore the dominant type of energy (gas, electricity, solar, etc.) used to fuel homes in the United States in 2018. Explore by state, county, census block group, or even zip code.

Citation: House Heating Fuel, 2018. Social Explorer, https://www.socialexplorer.com/b1569dba1b/view (based on data from the U.S. Census Bureau; accessed May 26, 2020).

General Government, NGO, and IGO Web Pages Related to Energy

Energy.gov
The U.S. Department of Energy
IRENA
The International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) is an intergovernmental organisation that supports countries in their transition to a sustainable energy future, and serves as the principal platform for international cooperation, a centre of excellence, and a repository of policy, technology, resource and financial knowledge on renewable energy. IRENA promotes the widespread adoption and sustainable use of all forms of renewable energy, including bioenergy, geothermal, hydropower, ocean, solar and wind energy in the pursuit of sustainable development, energy access, energy security and low-carbon economic growth and prosperity.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
At the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), we focus on creative answers to today's energy challenges. From breakthroughs in fundamental science to new clean technologies to integrated energy systems that power our lives, NREL researchers are transforming the way the nation and the world use energy.
Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
The mission of EERE is to create and sustain American leadership in the transition to a global clean energy economy. Its vision is a strong and prosperous America powered by clean, affordable, and secure energy.
United Nations Energy Statistics
The UNSD mission in the area of energy statistics is to strengthen national statistical systems in order to provide high quality energy statistics and balances.
US Energy Information Administration (EIA)
The World Bank: Energy
News and analysis, reports, data, and more.

Yale Business Answers: Energy

Yale Business Answers: Energy
Looking for energy information from a Business & Management perspective? Check out this FAQ from Marx Library's Business & Management Librarians.

Librarian for Anthropology & Environmental Studies

Rachel Sperling

Email Me

Contact:

Marx Science and Social Science Library

203-436-5912

Subjects: Anthropology, Archaeology, Environmental Studies

Related Guides

Energy Industry
by Business and Management Librarians Last Updated Nov 27, 2023 48 views this year
Petroleum and Energy in the Geosciences
by Kayleigh Bohemier Last Updated Oct 12, 2022 17 views this year
Sustainability
by Rachel Sperling Last Updated Dec 5, 2023 361 views this year
Financing and Deploying Clean Energy
by Rachel Sperling Last Updated Jan 25, 2023 110 views this year
Public Policy Subject Guide
by Jeremy Garritano Last Updated Dec 7, 2023 642 views this year

Energy and the Environment: Home