It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wind Energy Essentials by Andrew Swift; Richard P. WalkerExamines the possible societal impacts of wind energy projects and explains the potential issues faced when siting, constructing, and operating a wind energy project. This book begins with a history of wind power and the social impacts of both electricity and wind power from a historical perspective, a discussion of basic electrical terms, and a primer on the conversion of power in the wind to electricity. Much of the second half of the book is devoted to comparing wind energy to other forms of electric generation, both renewable and non-renewable sources. In order to have a true understanding of the impact of wind energy on society, one also has to have a thorough understanding of the impacts that other sources of electric generation have, such as fossil-fuelled plants or nuclear power plants. The comparison of electric generation sources includes a review of how such sources are typically utilized within the electric system, as well as the economic factors and environmental considerations that affect which resources utilities or operators of electric grids have to take into account. The authors conclude with a discussion of energy policies in the U.S., individual states, and foreign nations, how these policies influence the use of renewable energy, and what our future may hold in terms of energy supply and demand. Some highlights of this book are: Discusses the wind energy impacts on the environment, local economy, electric utilities, individuals and communities Provides a visual explanation of wind energy principles through tables, graphs, maps, illustrations and photographs Offers a comprehensive overview of the issues associated with the creation and use of wind energy Models chapters around an existing university curriculum Spanning the broad range of environmental, financial, policy and other topics that define and determine the relationships between wind energy technology and our energy-dependent society, Wind Energy Essentials is a resource for students, universities, and the entire wind energy industry.
Publication Date: 2015-04-22
Wind Energy Harvesting by Ravi Kishore; Shashank Priya; Colin StewartThis book provides the fundamental concepts required for the development of an efficient small-scale wind turbine. For centuries, engineers and scientists have used wind turbines of all shapes and sizes to harvest wind energy. Large-scale wind turbines have been successful at producing great amounts of power when deployed in sites with vast, open space, such as in fi elds or in offshore waters. For environments with limited space, such as dense urban environments, small-scale wind turbines are an attractive alternative for taking advantage of the ubiquity of wind. However, many of today's tools for aerodynamic design and analysis were originally developed for large-scale turbines and do not scale down to these smaller devices. Arranged in a systematic and comprehensive manner, complete with supporting examples, Wind Energy Harvesting: Micro- To Small-Scale Turbines is a useful reference for undergraduate and graduate level classes on energy harvesting, sustainable energy, and fl uid dynamics, and an introduction to the field for non-technical readers.
Publication Date: 2018-04-23
Floating Offshore Wind Energy by Joao Cruz (Editor); Mairead Atcheson (Editor)This book provides a state-of-the-art review of floating offshore wind turbines (FOWT). It offers developers a global perspective on floating offshore wind energy conversion technology, documenting the key challenges and practical solutions that this new industry has found to date. Drawing on a wide network of experts, it reviews the conception, early design stages, load & structural analysis and the construction of FOWT. It also presents and discusses data from pioneering projects. Written by experienced professionals from a mix of academia and industry, the content is both practical and visionary. As one of the first titles dedicated to FOWT, it is a must-have for anyone interested in offshore renewable energy conversion technologies.
Publication Date: 2016-09-16
Wind Energy Engineering by Trevor M. LetcherWind Energy Engineering: A Handbook for Onshore and Offshore Wind Turbines is the most advanced, up-to-date and research-focused text on all aspects of wind energy engineering. Wind energy is pivotal in global electricity generation and for achieving future essential energy demands and targets. In this fast moving field this must-have edition starts with an in-depth look at the present state of wind integration and distribution worldwide, and continues with a high-level assessment of the advances in turbine technology and how the investment, planning, and economic infrastructure can support those innovations. Each chapter includes a research overview with a detailed analysis and new case studies looking at how recent research developments can be applied. Written by some of the most forward-thinking professionals in the field and giving a complete examination of one of the most promising and efficient sources of renewable energy, this book is an invaluable reference into this cross-disciplinary field for engineers.
Publication Date: 2017-05-16
Wind Energy Meteorology by Stefan EmeisThis book offers an introduction to the meteorological boundary conditions for power generation from wind – both onshore and offshore, and provides meteorological information for the planning and running of this important renewable energy source. It includes the derivation of wind laws and wind-profile descriptions, especially those above the logarithmic surface layer, and discusses winds over complex terrains and nocturnal low-level jets. This updated and expanded second edition features new chapters devoted to the efficiency of large wind parks and their wakes and to offshore wind energy.
Green Economy, The : Wind PowerThe Green Economy looks at the emerging technology that is becoming big business. Condon, Oregon is the site of one of the largest wind farms in the World. This trend is becoming a reality!
Publication Date: 2014
The Future of EnergyIn this program, Hazel Henderson and NASA Chief Scientist Dennis Bushnell review all the issues around the increasing global shift from polluting fossil fuels and their effect on climate to economies. They discuss today’s harvesting of solar, wind, geothermal, hydro and oceans, as well as the cost savings from more efficient buildings, batteries electric vehicles and charging stations, smarter cities and urban design, public transport and the future of decentralized energy, especially in developing countries. Both Henderson and Bushnell agree that there is ample renewable energy from our Sun for all existing and foreseen human societies’ needs. The issues concern the politics of incumbent interests and the re-design of green infrastructure so as to utilize and scale up all our existing renewable technologies now available, as tracked in the Green Transition Scoreboard ®.
Publication Date: 2017
The Breakthrough in Renewable EnergyYou won’t read about it in the papers, but a silent worldwide revolution is taking place: renewable energy is becoming cheaper than energy from fossil fuels. More and more, opting for wind and solar energy is no longer an ethical choice but an economic one. This will speed up the transfer to renewable energy. Countries like Brazil, Australia, Chilé and parts of the United States are switching to renewable energy for economic reasons. Over the coming years, the price of solar and wind energy will keep falling rapidly. The number of countries where the tipping point for renewable energy has been reached will continue to rise. A surprising newcomer is Morocco, for example. By 2020 the government expects to meet more than 40 percent of the demand for electricity with solar energy. The Netherlands is nowhere near ready yet.
*NOTE** Use the login information given after CAS Authentication page**
Formerly American Wind Energy Association (AWEA), American Clean Power provides market reports along with other reports on the developing Wind Energy industry.
The Department of Energy Wind Energy Technologies Office invests in energy science research and development activities that enable the innovations needed to advance U.S. wind systems, reduce the cost of electricity, and accelerate the deployment of wind power.
This 2018 article from the Audubon Society discusses different measures that would mitigate the danger of wind turbines for migratory birds. The article contains a number of links to relevant reports and studies.