It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Solar energy : an introduction by Michael E. Mackay'Solar Energy' is for the beginner involved in solar energy or a related field, or for someone wanting to gain a broader perspective of solar energy technologies. An introduction to all aspects of solar energy, from photovoltaic devices to active and passive solar thermal energy conversion is presented, giving both a detailed and a broad perspective of the field.
Publication Date: 2015
Solar Energy Systems, Challenges, and Opportunities by edited by Himanshu Tyagi, Prodyut R. Chakraborty, Satvasheel Powar, Avinash Kumar AgarwalThis book covers challenges and opportunities related to solar-energy based systems. It covers a wide variety of topics related to solar energy, including applications-based systems such as solar thermal systems that are focused on drying, desalination, space cooling, refrigeration, and processing; recent advances in solar cells (DSSC) and photovoltaics; technologies for storage of energy (both sensible heating as well as latent heating); and the design of concentrated solar receivers. The information is presented in the context of the overall global energy utilization, and the role of solar energy has been highlighted. The contents of this book will be of interest to researchers, professionals, and policymakers alike.
Publication Date: 2020
Solar Energy Markets by Philip G. JordanThis groundbreaking new book features holistic coverage of technological breakthroughs, financing trends, workforce development issues, and comparative regional case studies in solar energy. It provides a global bird's-eye view of the industry for scientists, engineers, business leaders, and policymakers -- anyone seriously engaged in the rapidly evolving field of solar energy. The expert author's analysis includes primary data from the first comprehensive solar industry survey conducted in the United States, insights from key thought leaders in the energy sector, and case studies from international leaders in solar development. Solar Energy Markets examines six key drivers of the solar industry: 1) a new culture of environmentalism; 2) policy and markets; 3) financing and venture capital; 4) economics and cost-competitiveness; 5) innovation; and 6) labor. In a field too often marked by divisive over-specialization, this resource provides invaluable context, demonstrating how the solar field's innovative triumphs and inherent challenges play out in the real global marketplace. Analyzes key drivers of the solar industry at international, national and local levels Synthesizes the first comprehensive surveys of the U.S. solar industry Uniquely ties together technological innovation with market implications for engineers, business leaders and policymakers alike Examines the evolving role of China in global solar markets
Publication Date: 2013-11-14
Solar Energy Engineering by Soteris A. KalogirouEnergy policy promoting sustainable development is transforming global energy markets. Solar power, the most abundant of all renewable resources, is crucial to greater achieving energy security and sustainability. This new edition of Solar Energy Engineering: Processes and Systems from Prof. Soteris Kalogirou, a renowned expert with over thirty years of experience in renewable energy systems and applications, includes revised and updated chapters on all areas of solar energy engineering from the fundamentals to the highest level of current research. The book includes high interest topics such as solar collectors, solar water heating, solar space heating and cooling, industrial process heat, solar desalination, photovoltaic technology, solar thermal power systems, modeling of solar energy systems and includes a new chapter on wind energy systems. As solar energy's vast potential environmental and socioeconomic benefits are broadly recognized, the second edition of Solar Energy Engineering: Processes and Systems will provide professionals and students with a resource on the basic principles and applications of solar energy systems and processes and can be used as a reference guide to practicing engineers who want to understand how solar systems operate and how to design the systems.
Publication Date: 2014-01-11
Solar Energy Storage by Bent SorensenWhile solar is the fastest-growing energy source in the world, key concerns around solar power's inherent variability threaten to de-rail that scale-up . Currently, integration of intermittent solar resources into the grid creates added complication to load management, leading some utilities to reject it altogether, while other operators may penalize the producers via rate increases or force solar developers to include storage devices on-site to smooth out power delivery at the point of production. However these efforts at mitigation unfold, it is increasingly clear to parties on all sides that energy storage will be pivotally important in the drive to boost the integration of variable renewable sources into power infrastructures across the globe. Thoughtfully implemented storage technologies can reduce peak demand, improve day-to-day reliability, provide emergency power in case of interrupted generation, reduce consumer and utility costs by easing load balance challenges, decrease emissions, and increase the amount of distributed and renewable energy that makes it into the grid. While energy storage has long been an area of concern for scientists and engineers, there has been no comprehensive single text covering the storage methods available to solar power producers, which leaves a lamentable gap in the literature core to this important field. Solar Energy Storage aims to become the authoritative work on the topic, incorporating contributions from an internationally recognized group of top authors from both industry and academia, focused on providing information from underlying scientific fundamentals to practical applications, and emphasizing the latest technological developments driving this discipline forward.
TEDTalks :The Thrilling Potential For Off-Grid Solar Energy by Amar InamdarThere's an energy revolution happening in villages and towns across Africa—off-grid solar energy is becoming a viable alternative to traditional electricity systems. In a bold talk about a true leapfrog moment, Amar Inamdar introduces us to proud owners of off-grid solar kits—and explains how this technology has the opportunity to meet two extraordinary goals: energy access for all and a low-carbon future. "Every household a proud producer as well as consumer of energy," Inamdar says. "That's the democracy of energy." (Followed by a brief Q&A with TED Curator Chris Anderson)
Publication Date: 2018
A race against time by National GeographicA Race Against Time focuses on renewable energy sources, especially solar. David Letterman travels to India to investigate the populous country's efforts to expand its inadequate electrical grid, as its economy booms, and to supply electricity for the first time to 300 million citizens. He finds that there the country will double the amount of dirty coal that it burns unless it can receive assistance in transitioning quickly to solar and other renewable technologies. He interviews Prime Minister Narendra Modi, travels to rural villages where few can afford power and explores the US potential in bringing renewable energy to India. In Florida and Nevada, Cecily Strong finds former officials and other insiders in the two sunny states who reveal how utility companies and politics are blocking the growth of solar energy and clean energy jobs in the US.