Yale University Library Research Guides: Diasporic/Border Studies: East Asia

General Databases (Yale Licensed Resources)

GenderWatch Full text, multidisciplinary database. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, ngo and special reports.
Globalex Open access legal analysis of international law
NexisUni NexisUni includes a mix of sources: newspapers, magazines, TV and radio transcripts, company and industry information, and legal information. From the main NexisUni interface, you can either enter a legal citation or topic to search (in any of the boxes on the first page)
Business Source Complete Offers full-text access to top scholarly business journals, magazines, & trade publications, dating back as far as 1886. Also offers access to industry profiles, company reports & SWOT analyses, market research, & country reports.
more...less...
Popular titles available via Business Course Complete include: Harvard Business Review, Journal of Finance, Bloomberg BusinessWeek, Quarterly Journal of Economics, Forbes, & Journal of Accounting Research.

AMST 486 / ER&M 425: Asian American Studies of Race, Colonialism, and Empire:
Asian American Political Alliance- FBI Vault According to the FBI Vault, "The Asian American Political Alliance was a protest group formed at the University of California, Berkeley, in 1968. This release covers the FBI investigation of the group and its leaders from 1969 through 1972. The FBI was especially interested in the contact the group or its members had with Chinese communists abroad."
Library of Congress- Asian American and Pacific Islander Materials: A Resource Guide This subject search can help you narrow to a specific topic

Angel Island Immigrant Voices Archive Crowd sourced stories of those who (or whose family members) entered the country though Angel Island
Asian American Cultural Center at Yale
Asian Americans and Seattle Civil Rights Movements Contains activist oral histories, research reports, newspaper reports, photographic collections, maps, historical documents.
Asian Nation Provides a variety of resources on the Asian American experience. The site includes materials on those who identify as East Asian, South/Southeast Asian, Native Americans, and/or Pacific Islanders. Additionally, the author does not distinguish between those born in the US or in other countries.
C.V. East Asian Library, University of California Vast collections of archival and primary source materials related to Chinese, Japanese, and Korean history.
Calisphere- California Cultures: Asian Americans California Primary Source database. This collection has resources on Asian Americans in California
Digital History- Asian Voices Primary source material
Gary Okihiro Library- at Yale Database of literature at the Asian American Cultural Center at Yale
AAPI Nexus Self-described national journal focusing on policies, practices and community research to benefit the nation’s burgeoning Asian American and Pacific Islander communities by UCLA.

The Chinese American Experience: 1857-1892 Harper's Weekly website by Professor Bill Wei that provides information and primary sources on the experiences of Chinese Americans in the mid to late 19th century
Chinese Historical Society of Southern California, 1880-1933
Chinese Immigrants in Cuba Collection through the Arizona State University Libraries that provides materials about the Chinese in Cuba between 1840s to the late 1970s. [RESOURCES in Chinese]
Chung Sai Yat Po Newspaper Collection Chung Sai Yat Po is one of early Chinese newspapers in North America, was published in San Francisco from Feb. 1900 to 1951. Through the Online Archive of California. [RESOURCES in Chinese]
Chinese Canadian Stories Database that provides insights into the experiences of Chinese Canadians
Chinese Workers Mutual Aid Association Digitized Federal Bureau of Investigation File on the Chinese Workers Mutual Aid Association.

Japanese American Confinement Oral Histories UC Berkeley collection of oral histories
Japanese American Archival Collection Provides photographs and images of artifacts on immigration, WWII imprisonment, postwar resettlement and more. Provided by Sacramento State University Library
Japanese Diaspora Portal Links to books and other materials regarding the Japanese Diaspora
Japan and Japanese Diaspora Collections Hoover Institute focused collections on Japan and the Japanese Diaspora
Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project Provides materials focused primarily on the World War II incarceration of Japanese Americans

The Bibliography and Database are Yale resources

Boston Korean Diaspora Project A site that links to the history of Koreans in Boston focusing on individuals, and organizations
Center for Korean Studies Digital Archive Self-described digitized versions of selected images and documents from the archives and manuscripts collections of the Center for Korean Studies, University of Hawaii at Manoa.
Database for Books and Magazines on Modern Korea (University of Tokyo) A bibliography of Japanese-language material on Korea published between 1868 and 1945. With preface by Professor Miyajima Hiroshi, an authority on Korean history in Japan.
Korean American Digital Archive According to the Digital Library, the "... Korean American Digital Archive brings more than 13,000 pages of documents, over 1,900 photographs, and about 180 sound files together in one searchable collection that documents the Korean American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea and reveal the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965."