Yale University Library Research Guides: ENV 953/958: Sustainable Business Capstone Consulting Clinics: Company Information

About Company Information

Public companies have shares of stock that are traded on exchanges like the NYSE or NASDAQ. In the US, these companies are regulated by the US Securities Exchange Commission (SEC) and are legally required to file and disclose information that details their financial performance and governance structure, including the 10-K. Because of these requirements, information on public companies tends to be easier to find.

Tip: knowing the ticker or stock symbol of a company can make your research easier. Find ticker symbols here.

Private companies do not have shares that are traded on a stock market and typically are not required to disclose their financial performance or other information. Because of this, finding information on these companies can be a challenge. Researching private companies often means you will have to use multiple resources.

The resources listed on this page can be used for a variety of purposes and often contain more than company financials.

Databases Featuring Company Information

Find company profiles, financials, SEC Filings, analyst reports, industry research, news, and more with these multi-tasking resources. These can be especially helpful when preparing for interviews.

* Capital IQ
S&P Capital IQ provides both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide. Requires registering an individual account with a yale email address. Individuals that do not want to create an individual account can use S&P NetAdvantage for similar functionality.
* Featured in class.
* LSEG Workspace
Features market data, company financials and filings, earnings estimates, transaction data, analyst research, and more.
Requires users to register for an individual account. Learn more here. This resource replaced Thomson ONE.
*Featured in class.
Mergent Online
Provides information on U.S. and international companies. Key features include current and historical financial statement data, annual reports, company histories, subsidiaries, joint ventures, supply chain information and the Investext collection of analyst reports that were previously only available in Thomson ONE.

*CB Insights
CB Insights provides real-time information about global start-up companies and investors. Requires users to sign up for an account using a Yale email address.
more...less...
Please note: Expert Intelligence reports are not available with academic or university accounts.
Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
Searchable directory of public and private U.S. and Canadian companies. Featuring 24+ million current records and 150+ million historical records (back to 2003). Can be used to create maps and charts of business locations.
more...less...
Data Axle Reference Solutions limits the number of records that can be downloaded per search. For access to a deeper backfile of historic records (back to 1997) without download limits, try the InfoGroup Historical Business data, available via WRDS.
Mergent Intellect
Directory of global business information that features access to private and public U.S and international business data, executive contact information, and industry research. Data is provided from D&B Hoovers.
PitchBook
Features real time data to research and analyze companies, PE & VC deals, funds, investors and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle. Requires users to sign up for an accounting using a Yale email address. Commercial use is prohibited.
more...less...
Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. (1 download = 1 row of data on an Excel file). Accounts will automatically be reset annually on May 31.
PrivCo
Source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Requires users to sign up for an account using a Yale email address.

Bloomberg
Available on designated terminals Marx Library and in Ross Library in Evans Hall. Reserve the terminal here.
Bloomberg provides proprietary environmental, social and governance (ESG) performance data. After login, type ESG to open the equity screening function.
Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP) Climate Data
Self-reported CSR and Environmental Data at the company level. Includes:
Investor CDP public data, 2010-2022
Supply chain CDP public data, 2010-2022
*LSEG Workspace
Features market data, company financials and filings, transaction data, ESG data, analyst research, and more.
Requires users to register for an individual account. Learn more here.
S&P Global ESG Scores and Trucost (via WRDS)
S&P's ESG and Trucost data is a mix of scores, indicating how well a company does in a given dimension, and impact, measuring tangible amounts of waste produced and resources used. An individual WRDS account is required to access this data.
more...less...
The ratings come from an acquisition of RobecoSAM in 2019. Trucost was acquired by S&P in 2016. The database is divided into the following three parts:

- ESG Scores contain criteria scores (most granular) dimension scores, and global ESG scores (most aggregated). Examples include supply chain management and eco-efficiency (criteria scores) and environmental & governance (dimension scores). Each company will have only one global ESG score per year.

- Trucost Environmental data reflects actual amounts of resouces used and are not scores. Greenhouse gases (abbreviated as GHG) are measured in metric tons of C02 equivalent, water is measured in cubic meters, electricity is measured in giga watts, etc. Usage is reported by scope.

- Trucost Climate Analytics Through company-level analysis, assess exposure to seven climate-change physical risk indicators, analyze exposure to carbon pricing risk under different future climate change scenarios and evaluate alignment with the Paris Agreement goal to limit global warming to well below 2 degrees C from pre-industrial levels.

Guidestar
Searchable directory of nonprofit organizations. Features operational and financial information plus analysts reports.
Foundation Directory Online Professional
Includes information on over 100,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and public charities in the U.S.
more...less...
Includes searchable databases of sponsoring companies, recently awarded grants, and recent IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF, and more.

Have business research questions? Ask us!

Business and Management Librarians

Email Me

Contact:

Marx Science and Social Science Library
Yale University Library
219 Prospect Street - Concourse Level

Meet with a Business Librarian

Subjects: Business and Management

ENV 953/958: Sustainable Business Capstone Consulting Clinics: Company Information

About Company Information

Databases Featuring Company Information

Have business research questions? Ask us!

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries