Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yale University Library Today's Hours: Search the websiteOff-campus access

HSHM 475/HIST 128J: Race and Disease in American Medicine: Primary and Secondary Source Databases

Guide for Sakena Abedin's seminar, HSHM 475/HIST 128J: Race and Disease in American Medicine

How to search for databases in Yale Library's Quicksearch

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of journals or sources into one place with a sophisticated search engine. Access the databases directly from this guide, from the Yale Library page  or Database Finder. For example, you can search "African American" or "Women" in the database finder to see lists of great databases that have primary sources, like newspapers and diaries.  Use the databases in the columns below to find journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, magazines, newspapers, and other primary and secondary sources.

Keep in mind that search terms change over time. For example, instead of city, authors may have used "inner city," "urban," "ghetto," etc., depending on the time period.

History of Medicine Primary Source databases

Other great primary source databases

Finally, don't forget databases with digitized archives (like letters, diaries, pamphlets, and more):

Congressional hearings and government documents

Looking for government documents, like congressional hearings that are full of great testimony, letters, and other sources?

Secondary Source Databases

Newspaper and Magazine databases

You can also find primary sources in medical history in magazines or newspapers.  It depends on your topic!