Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digitized archives beyond Yale
There are archival collections, usually from the papers of individuals (such as doctors or researchers) or organizations, available online. Below represents a few of these collections:
Joseph J. Kinyoun Papers
Founder of the Marine Hospital Service Hygienic Laboratory, predecessor institution of the NIH, and director of plague eradication activities in San Francisco from 1899 to 1901. Primary sources on plague eradication efforts are fully available online.
Black Panther Party and Young Lords publications
(Vol. 4, issue 28, 1970)
In the 1960s, the Black Panther Party created Community Survival Programs, providing services such as free breakfasts, health classes, and more. The Young Lords, a Puerto Rican and Latino movement out of Chicago, did similar work in city neighborhoods. Below is a selected, but not comprehensive, list of resources. You can find more through this guide from Christopher Newport University.
Archival sources at Yale
Yale has a wealth of interesting collections. If you want to look at the papers of individuals or groups discussing healthcare in cities, use Orbis or the Archives at Yale for detailed lists of these collections. You would have to see these collections on campus at Manuscripts and Archives or the Medical Historical Library, depending on who owns the collection, although some portions might be digitized.
Great materials open for research at Manuscripts and Archives and the Medical Historical Library include:
Family Counseling of Greater New Haven, Inc. records
The Family Counseling of Greater New Haven, Inc. records document the administrative history of a local social welfare agency from 1881 to 2000. The records consist largely of annual reports and minute records of the board of directors, other sub-committee minute records and reports, financial, fund raising records, correspondence, case files, newsletters, New Haven Register column "What's Your Problem?," scrapbooks, photographs and slides.
Greater New Haven Coalition for People records
The collection comprises records of the Greater New Haven Coalition for People, a grassroots organization that advocates for lower and middle income residents of New Haven, Connecticut. Materials include correspondence, financial and fundraising records, files on topics and events that the Coalition worked on, and posters and protest signs. Materials date from 1981 to 2014. Much of the collection concerns different issues the Coalition focused on, including the removal of bus stops from the City of New Haven, medical care for the low-income and uninsured in the local hospitals, conditions of public housing, and programs like the West Rock Youth Leadership Program and Tenants Against Drugs Dammit!
New Haven Hospital and Grace-New Haven Community Hospital Collection
This collection includes the Dean of the Yale School of Medicine's correspondence and copies of minutes and reports concerning New Haven Hospital, the New Haven Dispensary, and Grace-New Haven Community Hospital; broadsides and brochures concerning these institutions and Yale-New Haven Hospital;miscellaneous materials including historical accounts of the hospital; and newspaper clippings. This collection is located at the Medical Historical Library.
Philip M. and Lorna Sarrel papers
The Sarrel papers include files documenting the establishment of the Young Mothers Program (YMP) at Yale-New Haven Hospital, an outgrowth of the teenage pregnancy clinic; the inclusion of sex education courses in curricula for a New Haven high school and Yale undergraduate and medical students. See box 1 for the Young Unwed Mothers program and sex education at Yale.
Yale-New Haven Hospital records
The records consist of the administrative records of the Yale-New Haven Hospital from the office of the Executive Director. A large part of the records are from the office of Albert W. Snoke who was executive Director from 1946-1968. The records cover the history of the hospital as a whole and its individual departments, its relations with Yale University, the city of New Haven, the state of Connecticut, and general issues such as health care delivery, voluntary health organizations, internships, family planning, and establishment of regional programs. Included are correspondence, oral histories, reports, clippings, memoranda, minutes of meetings, legal and financial records, and speeches.
Yale-New Haven Hospital Records-Teenage Unwed Parents Program
Teenage unwed mothers program, proposals, memoranda, and correspondence, 1966-1967.