Indexes and abstracts international journals, books, reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers that have articles on policing and race and the criminal justice system.

Source of global environmental news and information

Provides journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses in various communities across the United States.

A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject including business, education, the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and pop culture. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, government and NGO publications. 1978 - present.

Link to a variety of news resources at Yale, including some local news sources

NexisUni includes a mix of sources: newspapers, magazines, TV and radio transcripts, company and industry information, and legal information, including local administrative codes and regulations. From the main NexisUni interface, you can either enter a legal citation or topic to search (in any of the boxes on the first page)

International literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences

Allows searching of a specific neighborhood for the information on toxic sources within that area

Coalition of various cities to engage in actions that reduce metropolitan carbon footprint

Resources provided by the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy to facilitate more efficient energy use

Provides items that may be useful for case study by county

Use this to find local information about city planning by state

Broad range of resources on community wealth building

Search across a variety of foundations for the research they have done on a variety of topics

Contains resources from the NLC

A news source dedicated to providing insight into promoting change within cities

TRID combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID covers all modes and disciplines of transportation and contains nearly 1.2 million records of published research worldwide. More than 236,000 records contain links to full-text documents.

Think tank that focuses on issues within urban spaces

Created by three teams at four universities, Mapping Inequality presents data - drawn primarily from the federal government's Home Owners' Loan Corporation between 1935 and 1940 - to illustrate the discriminatory practice of redlining (a legal way of denying goods and services to particular populations). Includes downloadable data.

Explores the use of covenants to segregate Minnesota and specifically Minneapolis

According to the site, the Urban Displacement Project aims to understand the impact of gentrification and urban displacement

According to the website, "Mapping Indigenous Los Angeles aims to uncover and highlight the multiple layers of indigenous Los Angeles through a storymapping project with youth, community leaders, and elders from indigenous communities throughout the city. The website resulting from this collaborative research makes visible the rich Indigenous identities and histories that are often hidden within other racial formations yet deeply embedded in the history of Los Angeles."

One of several data sets produced by the Lincoln Institute.

This research guide provides an overview of Yale Census resources including several listed on this page

Main data portal for government produced by the United States federal government and some of the State Governments.

Resources on Geographic Information System available through Yale University Library

Useful for understanding how certain policies impact different areas, this includes information on health, education, inequality, and more.

"The online checklist is based upon the Library's 1981 publication Fire Insurance Maps in the Library of Congress and will be continually updated to reflect new acquisitions. The online checklist also contains links to existing digital images from the collection and will be updated as new images are added."

Maps people's behavioral and lifestyle choices to census information to facilitate better understanding of how business or marketing may work in an area

Useful for historical exploration of the census and the census over time, also incorporates other data including the Uniform Crime Report (Voluntary Crime Reporting to the FBI).

Sources for locating published statistics on topics broadly related to the social sciences, as well as numeric datasets for statistical analysis.

Yale Lab dedicated to the study, teaching, and research around urbanization