Yale University Library Research Guides: ENGL 342 The Poetess and the Woman of Letters: Home

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA (Modern Language Association) Bibliography is the major index for literary studies; it's updated several times throughout the year. This is a good place to begin looking for scholarship on the texts and writers covered this semester. The index includes secondary source material on the following subjects:

Modern literatures
Literary theory and criticism
Linguistics
Teaching of language
Film, television and theater
Rhetoric and composition
History of the book
Folklore

A helpful way to search the MLA Bibliography is by using the Advanced search interface to run a "Primary Subject Author" and "Primary Subject Work" search.

Searching for Resources

Quicksearch
A combined search of the library's books, journals, databases, and special collections. Retrieves results from both Orbis and Morris (the Law Library catalog). With a Google-like search function, Quicksearch tends to handle keyword searches better than Orbis; in fact, a downside may be its versatility and retrieval of a large number of results. Use the search refinements to limit your searches by format, author, subject, date of publication, language, and library location. You can also select to view 'available online' results only.
Yale Library Catalog (Orbis)
The library catalog can be used to search for books, e-books, journals, databases, and special collection items owned by the library. Individual journal articles cannot be retrieved via the catalog. Instead, the catalog can be used to find issues of a particular journal or a link to a journal database like JSTOR.
Borrow Direct
Borrow Direct is a platform that allows you to search for and request books from partner libraries when our copy is checked out or we do not hold it. Books usually arrive within 2-3 business days. During the pandemic, books can be shipped directly to residential addresses.
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan is a service for borrowing materials not held by Yale. If you have tried locating an item via the catalog and from a partner library via Borrow Direct, and it is not available, try requesting it via Interlibrary Loan and the library will try to source it from a global network of partner libraries. Articles can take 2-4 days to source, and book requests take longer, on average 9-12 days.
Archives at Yale
Portal to archival materials and materials held in special collections. Take a look at the Samuel Taylor Coleridge Collection (featuring letters to contemporaries and a small selection of ms), the William Wordsworth Collection, the William Speck Collection of Goetheana, the George Gordon Byron Collection, etc. Check the PDF Finding Aid for each collection to assess whether it contains something of interest to your project. Use the "Navigate the Collection" drop-down menu to see more information about each item and to request it via Aeon (external site).
WorldCat
WorldCat is a database of catalog records from approximately 10,000 libraries around the world. If you are looking for a resource that is not discoverable either in our catalog or in Borrow Direct, check World Cat to see the nearest library that owns the items. Then request the item via Interlibrary Loan for use at Yale.

Librarian

Carla Baricz

She / Her

Email Me

Contact:

Sterling Memorial Library 311C

203-432-1761

Subjects: English

ENGL 342 The Poetess and the Woman of Letters: Home

Welcome!

MLA International Bibliography

Searching for Resources

Librarian

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries