It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quicksearch is Yale Library's discovery tool. It is accessible via the Yale Library homepage. It can help you find books, e-books, journals (note: not individual articles!) databases, and items in Yale's digital collections. Watch the video on this page to learn more about searching Quicksearch.
Orbis is Yale Library's catalog. Like Quicksearch, it will help you locate books, e-books, journals, and databases.
Tips: Orbis is easier to use if you are searching for a book by title or author. Quicksearch is easier to use for keyword and subject searching. Quicksearch also searches Morris, the Law Library catalog.
Looking up a book using Quicksearch on the library home page
How to retrieve a book (what are call numbers)
Resources that are helpful as you begin your search
Oxford bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in across varied subject areas. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Brings together digitized entries from Oxford's Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, spanning multiple subject areas. Includes research tools: timelines, quotations, and subject overviews. Great if you are looking for definitions of literary or theoretical terms.