It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Brown noise, also called Brownian noise or red noise, which emphasizes lower-frequency sounds. It has the deepest intensity of all noises and sounds like a low roar or rumbling. Examples of brown noise include: thunder, crashing waves, heavy rain, strong waterfalls and a shower.
Helps to Fall Asleep
Drown out Distracting Noises
In pink noise, the energy is usually higher at lower frequencies, resulting in a deeper, lower, and more balanced sound than, for example, white noise. Some examples of pink noise that you can find in nature are the constant sound of the rain, the rustle of the leaves, the gentle waves of the sea, the heartbeat, and the fan on low.
Helps to Fall Asleep
Allows Deep Sleep
Can Improve Memory
Can Improve Concentration
All sound waves can be broken down into two categories: frequency, or how fast the waveform is vibrating per second, and amplitude (or “power”). White noise is defined as noise that contains a mixture of all audible frequencies that human ears can hear (about 20 hertz to 20 kilohertz). This type of noise includes low-, midrange- and high-frequency sounds.
This website offers both online coloring and downloadable pages. It is straightforward to navigate, and it has a lot of categories to look through and find the pictures that resonate with you the most. Access to the coloring pages is effortless,
Just Color probably the most extensive online gallery of coloring pages to choose from: it’s easy to navigate, contains over 1500 free coloring pages and will keep you occupied for a long time. Anything you can think of – this website will have at least a few options of illustrations, paintings, lettering, or patterns for your taste. It’s suitable for any skill level, from beginner ones to really intricate and complicated designs.
Take a mental break and put together a beautiful puzzle. You can choose the images and the number of pieces you'd like as you use the mouse to put the pieces together.
Relaxation, Meditation, and Mindfulness by Jonathan C. SmithBased on a newly revised theory of relaxation, ABC2 Relaxation Theory, devised by the author, this book explains why hundreds of techniques used by professionals typically sort into six groups. The integration of these groups forms the core of the book. Smith's findings also reveal that not only can relaxation go beyond stress management, but that different families of relaxation have different effects. Rich with practical suggestions and concrete illustrations of application, this comprehensive training guide details the following techniques: Yoga Stretching Progressive Muscle Relaxation Breathing Exercise Autogenic Suggestion Imagery/Relaxing Self-Talk Meditation (including Mindfulness) Special applications include: relaxation with children relaxation and pain management relaxation, spirituality, and religion
Call Number: BF637 R45 S62 2005
Publication Date: 2005-02-01
Consciousness and Healing by IONS; Marilyn Schlitz; Tina Amorok; Marc S. MicozziThis collection of essays on integral medicine, consciousness, and healing integrates mainstream medical knowledge with recent developments in the emerging areas of frontier sciences, and insights from alternative healing perspectives. It promotes a model of healing in which personal relationships, emotions, meaning and belief systems are viewed as fundamental points of connection between body, mind, spirit, society and nature. Integral medicine embraces the recognition that human beings possess emotional, spiritual, and relational dimensions that are essential in the diagnosis and treatment of disease and the cultivation of wellness. Readers learn from the leaders in the emerging field of integral medicine and consciousness research, from the most well known (Deepak Chopra), to the frontline policy makers (James Gordon-one of the heads of the White House Commission on Conventional and Complementary and Alternative Medicine). Readers also gain insights from health professionals who have experienced healing within themselves and witnessed remarkable healing in their patients. We hear from other medical professionals (through the essays and the interviews on the accompanying DVD) who approach medicine from an array of cultural perspectives, and can attest to this multicultural, interdisciplinary, and participatory healing system in action. Consciousness and Healing contains 47 essays in the book plus 9 bonus essays read aloud on the DVD. Essays are short and in language suited to an audience of both lay and professional readers, with extensive references on the DVD to original scientific studies for those interested in further exploration. The most comprehensive and authoritative collection of work on the subject of healing. Joins subjective mind-body experiences with evidence-based research. Comprehensive view of healing as a complex system - something few texts do from such an interdisciplinary, multidimensional, and scientific perspective. The editors build on over 30 years of research in the area of mind-body medicine and consciousness The DVD packaged with this product contains 50 minutes of video interviews with many of the high-profile leaders who contribute to this book, as well as practitioners in the medical field who do not contribute to this book, but who do subscribe to its philosophy. It also contains 9 essays (read aloud) that are not in the book. References and the book's table of contents are on the DVD in Microsoft Word format. Essays are written in a conversational style allowing the thoughts of the contributors on the transformation of medicine to be projected in their own voice. Editors and contributors are on the forefront of the field of integrative medicine. Subject is timely; this book takes CAM one-step further by providing physicians with a vision for the future.
Call Number: BF150 S34 2005
Publication Date: 2004-10-21
Stress and Tension Control by Frank J. McGuigan (Editor); Wesley E. Sime (Editor); J. Macdonald Wallace (Editor)"Tension" is an internationally recognized word. Its omnI#65533; presence in our public media--in our newspapers, on TV, in magazines, and on radio--as well as in our everyday conversations indicate that we are well aware of the problems of over-tenseness. Pulp news#65533; papers and magazines increase their sales with promises of quick relief for tension problems. Business executives complain at the end of the day of being "uptight", and often accept a hotel chain's invitation to "unwind" at their bar. Soap operas attract large audiences, in part capitalizing on tension problems--irritable ar#65533; guments between husband_ and wife seem interminable! Indeed, the entire world is aware of the need to control ten#65533; sions. Such widespread needs invite varied "solutions", with the most attractive appearing ones offering promises of quick and easy cures. The market for tension reduction has been exploited in numer#65533; ous ingenious ways for centuries but I think never more than today. People with serious tension disorders often eagerly seize promises of easy relief, regardless of cost. Those who suffer headaches, spastic colon, essential hypertension, back pains, phobias and general anxiety are especially sensitized to tension disorders and potential cures. The American Association for the Advancement of Tension Control is dedicated to the elimination of tension problems through a two#65533; pronged attack: through the immediate technological application of tension control principles that now exist, and by encouraging scientific research to further develop our methods.
Call Number: BF575 S75 S78 1980
Publication Date: 1980-06-01
Phi by Giulio TononiThis title is printed in full color throughout. From one of the most original and influential neuroscientists at work today, here is an exploration of consciousness unlike any other--as told by Galileo, who opened the way for the objectivity of science and is now intent on making subjective experience a part of science as well. nbsp; Galileo's journey has three parts, each with a different guide. In the first, accompanied by a scientist who resembles Francis Crick, he learns why certain parts of the brain are important and not others, and why consciousness fades with sleep. In the second part, when his companion seems to be named Alturi (Galileo is hard of hearing; his companion's name is actually Alan Turing), he sees how the facts assembled in the first part can be unified and understood through a scientific theory--a theory that links consciousness to the notion of integrated information (also known as phi). In the third part, accompanied by a bearded man who can only be Charles Darwin, he meditates on how consciousness is an evolving, developing, ever-deepening awareness of ourselves in history and culture--that it is everything we have and everything we are. nbsp; Not since Gödel, Escher, Bach has there been a book that interweaves science, art, and the imagination with such originality. This beautiful and arresting narrative will transform the way we think of ourselves and the world.
Call Number: QP411 T66 2012
Publication Date: 2012-08-07
Spark by John J. Ratey; Eric Hagerman (As told to)A groundbreaking and fascinating investigation into the transformative effects of exercise on the brain, from the bestselling author and renowned psychiatrist John J. Ratey, MD. Did you know you can beat stress, lift your mood, fight memory loss, sharpen your intellect, and function better than ever simply by elevating your heart rate and breaking a sweat? The evidence is incontrovertible: Aerobic exercise physically remodels our brains for peak performance. In Spark, John J. Ratey, M.D., embarks upon a fascinating and entertaining journey through the mind-body connection, presenting startling research to prove that exercise is truly our best defense against everything from depression to ADD to addiction to aggression to menopause to Alzheimer's. Filled with amazing case studies (such as the revolutionary fitness program in Naperville, Illinois, which has put this school district of 19,000 kids first in the world of science test scores), Spark is the first book to explore comprehensively the connection between exercise and the brain. It will change forever the way you think about your morning run -- -or, for that matter, simply the way you think.
Call Number: QP301 .R38 2008
Publication Date: 2008-01-10
Heal Thy Self by Saki F. Santorelli; Jon Kabat-zinn (Foreword by)"Perhaps our real work, whether offering or seeking care, is to recognize that the healing relationship--the field upon which patient and practitioner meet--is, to use the words of the mythologist Joseph Campbell, a 'self-mirroring mystery'--the embodiment of a singular human activity that raises essential questions about self, other, and what it means to heal thy self." --Saki Santorelli Today we are experiencing extraordinary technological advances in the diagnosis and treatment of illness while at the same time learning to take more responsibility for our own health and well-being. In this book, Saki Santorelli, director of the nationally acclaimed Stress Reduction Clinic, explores the ancient roots of medicine, and shows us how to introduce mindfulness into the crucible of the healing relationship, so that both patients and caregivers begin to acknowledge that we are all wounded and we are all whole. His approach revolutionizes the dynamics of the patient/practitioner relationship. In describing the classes at the clinic and the transformation that takes place in this alchemical process, he offers insights and effective methods for cultivating mindfulness in our everyday lives. As he reveals the inner landscape of his own life as a health care professional and we join him and those with whom he works on this journey of human suffering and courage, we become aware of and honor what is darkest and brightest within each one of us.
Call Number: RA785 .S28 1999
Publication Date: 1999-02-22
Stress Management by Jonathan C. SmithHere is a comprehensive clinical manual focused on stress management and relaxation. It contains detailed descriptions of tactics for training the user in the methods of relaxation, positive thinking, time management, and more. Features validated self-tests (normed on over 1000 individuals), and first-time ever stress management motivations and irrational beliefs inventories. This hands-on resource is essential for practitioners introducing stress management techniques into their practice; students who are learning how to cope with stress; practitioners-in-training, and clinicians looking for a refresher course.
Nutrition and Fitness by A. P. Simopoulos (Contribution by, Editor); B. Koletzko (Contribution by)Despite the enormous interest in discovering longevity genes in humans, the results have been elusive, while the effects of physical activity in delaying aging are promising and the importance of caloric restriction is now being systematically investigated. At present, there is enough evidence to define the components of a healthy diet and physical activity lifestyle at the population level and it is clear that lack of exercise is associated with increased risk of premature chronic disease and death. Currently, research aims at defining the type and frequency of genetic variation and its influence on dietary response as well as the impact of diet and exercise on gene expression. The book also provides detailed critical reviews of the relationship between mood changes and the amount of protein, amino acids, carbohydrates and polyunsaturated fatty acids, and the effects of genetic and environmental factors in bone turnover and bone density. This publication will be of great interest to researchers, physicians, exercise physiologists, geneticists, dietitians, food scientists, policy makers in government, private industry and international organizations, and public health workers worldwide.
Call Number: QP141 I56 2004
Publication Date: 2005-09-16
The Mindful Twenty-Something by Holly B. Rogers"A 21st century book, grounded in ancient ways of practice." --Sharon Salzberg, author of Lovingkindness and Real Happiness In The Mindful Twenty-Something, the cofounder of the extremely popular Koru Mindfulness program developed at Duke University presents a unique, evidence-based approach to help you make important life decisions with clarity and confidence. As a twenty-something, you may feel like you are being pulled in dozen different directions. With the daily tumult, busyness, and major life changes you experience as a young adult, you may also be particularly vulnerable to stress and its negative effects. Emerging adulthood, which occurs between the ages of 18 and 29, is a developmental stage of life when you're faced with important decisions about school, relationships, sex, your career, and more. With so much going on, you need a guide to help you navigate with less stress and more ease. The Koru Mindfulness program, developed at Duke University and already in use on numerous college campuses--including Harvard, Yale, Princeton, MIT, Dartmouth, and several others--and in treatment centers across the country, is the only evidence-based mindfulness training program for young adults that has been empirically proven to have significant benefits for sleep, perceived stress, and self-compassion. Now, with The Mindful Twenty-Something, this popular program is accessible to all young adults struggling with stress. With Koru Mindfulness and the practical tools you'll learn from this acceptance-based, proven-effective approach, you'll be able to cultivate the compassion and mindfulness skills you need to manage life's challenges from a calm, balanced center, regardless of what comes your way.
The Cushing/Whitney Medical Library Wellness Room is a space for all Yale and YNHH affiliates to enjoy a quiet moment away from work and study environments. Use this space to engage in quiet contemplation, de-stress, reflect, or participate in a wellness activity. Activities can include meditation, yoga, prayer, stretching, breathing exercises, mindfulness activities, and general relaxation breaks.
The Wellness Room is located on the first floor of the Cushing/Whitney Medical Library in the Morse Reading Room. The room features a soft chair, clean rugs, and a large window with beautiful light. Please be respectful of this space and keep it a relaxing and clean room for all.
Located in the Morse Reading Room
Located opposite the Wellness Room, this privacy booth serves as a getaway from distracting noises. This space can be used for video conferences, private phone conversations, or just to enjoy some peace and quiet.
Boost your mood and enhance your energy with the help of light therapy! CWML's HappyLight can be checked out at the circulation desk and is available for loan for up to four hours.
Weekly Yoga & Meditation Sessions
For more information about the program, please reach out to Lisa Ho, Mental Health & Wellness Manager via email at firstname.lastname@example.org or to Sundari Birdsall, Student Wellness Counselor, via email at email@example.com