Yale University Library Research Guides: Economics Research Guide: Find Books, Articles, & News

Essential Economics Journal Databases

ABI/Inform Collection
Provides access to journal articles and abstracts covering: business, management, accounting, auditing, economics, finance, taxation, marketing, advertising, personnel, banking, public administration, and nonprofit organizations.
Business Source Complete
Offers full-text access to top scholarly business journals dating back as far as 1886. Popular titles available include: American Economic Review, Quarterly Journal of Economics, RAND Journal of Economics, Journal of Political Economy, and Review of Economic Studies.
EconLit
Provides coverage of the most sought-after economics publications from around the world and includes: peer-reviewed journal articles, working papers from leading universities, PhD dissertations, books, collective volume articles, conference proceedings, and book reviews.
JSTOR
Digital archive collection of scholarly journals in business and other disciplines. Recent issues & volumes from the last 3-5 years are typically not available in JSTOR.

Essential Sources for Economics News

Bloomberg.com
International economics news coverage categories include indicators, central banks, jobs, trade, tax & spend, and inflation.
Requires users to register for an account with a valid Yale email address. Mobile app available
Central Banking (News and Data)
An Industry’s leading information resource – coverage of the market, with in-depth analysis of all the latest industry news.
The Economist.com
Provides access to current weekly and archived issues dating back to 1997 and premium blog and video content.
more...less...
When accessing Economist.com, you may encounter pop-ups regarding paid subscriptions. Please disregard these messages. Individual accounts are not required. You have full access to the content through Yale’s institutional subscription.

Institutional subscriptions to Economist.com are not compatible with the Economist app. To view our subscription on a mobile device, use the custom Yale link with a VPN connection via the Cisco AnyConnect app for iOS or Android.
FT.com (Financial Times Online)
Current Yale faculty, students and staff can sign up for unlimited access to FT.com articles and tools.
more...less...
Register for your account with your Yale email address at: http://on.ft.com/1RA0NF4
Factiva
Includes same-day and archival coverage of The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The Globe and Mail, and Barron's. Also features international newspapers and major newswires.
Project Syndicate
Publishes commentary and op-eds from prominent international scholars and intellectuals on various topics in international politics, global affairs, economics, and more. Our institutional subscription provides unlimited online access.
Wall Street Journal Online (WSJ.com)
Current Yale faculty, students, and staff can register for access to WSJ.com.

Working Papers & Dissertations

Below are sources of scholarly working and conference papers from different disciplines.

IDEAS from RePEc
Online database of RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) hosted by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Browse and search for over 1,000,000 items available in full-text.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Abstracts and full-text of accepted papers, working papers, and more in all areas of the social sciences. Look for the Economics Research Network (ERN) for papers in this area.
The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Portal for working papers from the leading US nonprofit economic research organization. Areas of research includes developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the effects of public policies on the U.S. economy.
CEPR Publications (Centre for Economic Policy Research)
The Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR) is an independent, non-profit organization affiliated with 1700 policy researchers in Europe. They provide books, reports, discussion papers, and Economic Policy Journal.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Proquest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

Blogs

Developing Economics
Ingrid Harvold Kvangraven, editor. Developing Economics takes a critical approach to development economics and is designed to foster debate and reflection among professionals.
Econbrowser; analysis of current economic conditions and policy
Blog focusing on aggregating macroeconomic content and commentary.
Greg Mankiw's Blog
Random Observations for Students of Economics by the Harvard's Department of Economics Chairperson
IMF Blog - Insights and Analysis on Economics and Finance
IMFBlog is a forum for the views of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) staff and officials on pressing economic and policy issues of the day
Systemic Risk Blog, Program on Financial Stability, Yale School of Management
The Yale Program on Financial Stability’s mission is to create, disseminate, and preserve knowledge about financial crises. Four major projects are included: Systemic Risk Institute, New Bagehot, Global Financial Crisis, and the Financial Crises Archives

Have questions? Ask us!

Management, Economics & Entrepreneurship Librarians

Email Me

Contact:

Marx Science and Social Science Library
Yale University Library
219 Prospect Street - Concourse Level

Schedule an Appointment

Subjects: Business and Management, Economics, Ethics, Politics, and Economics

Citations

Need help citing articles in your papers and projects?

Check out the Citation Management Research Guide.

Want to find where an article has been cited or check an impact factor?

Consult these resources:

Economics Research Guide: Find Books, Articles, & News

Finding Books & Articles at Yale