Yale University Library Research Guides: Economics Research Guide: Economics Data Resources

Economic Indicators

Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S. Dept. Commerce)
United States National, Regional and Industrial accounts. Also includes some International accounts.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Time series data about money, banking and finance, population, employment, national accounts, industrial productivity, prices, and geographic regions. Mostly U.S.- specific information with some international coverage.
Global Financial Data
Financial and economic data covering over 150 countries and over 6,500 historical and current data series.
more...less...
Bonds, T-bills, unemployment, GDP, commodity prices, exchange rates, and more, some dating back to 1900. Access is restricted to current Yale faculty and students.
OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary includes the Main Economic Indicators database. The Main Economic Indicators database includes a wide range of areas from 1961, such as quarterly national accounts, business surveys, retail sales, industrial production, construction, consumer prices, total employment, unemployment rates, interest rates, money and domestic finance, foreign finance, foreign trade, and balance of payments for OECD countries and non-member economies.
UN Statistics Resource Guide
The UN Statistics research guide links to comprehensive databases of UN data, including economic indicators.

Country Information

Country Statistical Yearbooks
by Data and Information Services Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Eurostat
Data from the statistical office of the European Union. Datasets are grouped into economy and finance; industry, trade, and services; international trade in goods; and transport.
CEIC Data
Delivers accurate and timely economic, sector and financial data from around the globe.
more...less...
Includes: China Premium Database has over 270,000 time-series data back to 1949; India Premium Database with over 121,000 time series on 27 sectors (economic and industrial) to provincial and city level.
Global Financial Data
Financial and economic data covering over 150 countries and over 6,500 historical and current data series.
more...less...
Bonds, T-bills, unemployment, GDP, commodity prices, exchange rates, and more, some dating back to 1900. Access is restricted to current Yale faculty and students.
IndiaStat.com
Provides India-specific socio-economic statistical facts and figures culled from various secondary level authentic sources. Includes industry, labor, tourism, population, health, education, and general data.
OECD iLibrary
Full-text books, journals, reports, and statistical data from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Getting started guide available here.

Transportation and Trade Data

OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary includes the The International Trade by Commodity Statistics database. This resource includes detailed data from 1961 for imports and exports by commodity in quantity and value between OECD countries and 264 different partner countries. Products are classified according to the Standard International Trade Classification system (SITC) and Harmonised System (HS).
Eurostat
Data from the statistical office of the European Union. Datasets are grouped into economy and finance; industry, trade, and services; international trade in goods; and transport.

Data Platforms

These resources contain several datasets with interdisciplinary applications that users can access in one place. Several require that users register for individual accounts that must then be approved.

Bloomberg Terminal
Available on dedicated workstations located at Marx Library and the School of Management. Visit our Getting Started with Bloomberg Guide for information.
more...less...
DATA LIMITS: If you need large or reoccurring amounts of data through the Bloomberg Excel API, please contact SOM IT or business.reference@yale.edu.
Dewey Data
A research platform that provides access to third-party datasets across a variety of data categories including healthcare, management, workforce, consumer behavior, and transportation.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Major data archive, contains public opinion studies among many others. Download raw datasets for analysis; does not provide published responses to survey questions.
IPUMS Data
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
LSEG Workspace
Also called Refinitiv Workspace
Features market data, company financials and filings, earnings estimates, transaction data, analyst research, and more.
Requires users to register for an individual account.
Wharton Research Data Service - WRDS
Provides a single interface for historical financial, accounting, banking, economic data and more. Access is limited to research assistants, graduate students, faculty and staff. Requires users to register for an account.

Data Analysis Help

Need help with data analysis? There are people available to help with your project.

For Economics undergraduates:

Yale's Department of Economics provides tutors for R and Stata. Find more information on the Resources for Economics Majors webpage.

For other Yale-affiliated researchers:

The StatLab provides training in R, python, and Stata through their introductory and intermediate statistical support workshops. Find more information on their calendar.

You may also learn more about StatLab consultants and make an appointment for one on one help on their About Us webpage.

Guides to Economic Indicators

Tracking America's Economy by Norman Frumkin
ISBN: 9780765612403
Publication Date: 2004-04-30
The Quality of European Societies: A Compilation of Composite Indicators by Eduardo Bericat and Maria Luisa Jimenez-Rodrigo
ISBN: 9783030050238
Publication Date: 2019

Annual National Accounts: Frequently Asked Questions
FAQs from OECD answering questions about GDP and their national accounts data.

Economics Research Guide: Economics Data Resources

Economics Data Resources

Economic Indicators

Country Information

Transportation and Trade Data

Data Platforms

Data Analysis Help

Guides to Economic Indicators

Comprehensive Country Websites

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries