Yale University Library Research Guides: LGBTQI: Research Guide: Essential Resources

Locating Articles

Journal articles can be found in a variety of places at Yale. One of the easiest ways is to use one of the library's many databases that is specific to the field of LGBTQ studies (see box below). Some databases have links to the full text of the journal article online.

Other databases just have citations and you then have to locate the full text of the journal article using our list of online journals and newspapers or Orbis.

To identify LGBTQ studies journals try searching Orbis using one of the following subject headings --

Homosexuality -- Periodicals

Gays -- Periodicals

Lesbians -- Periodicals

Queer theory -- Periodicals

Gender identity -- Periodicals

Searching for Articles in Databases

One place to find journal articles is to search in one of the library's many databases. Some of the databases provide you with a link to the full-text of the article. To locate others that are not full text, try one of these options:

In the database click on the Yale Links icon (show below)

This will take you to another window which identifies other databases that have full-text of your article. However your article may only be available in print so always check Orbis. If Yale doesn't have access to it, you can always request it through InterLibrary Loan.

Here are just a few that are specific to LGBTQ research:

Alternative Press Index
This database is the largest collection of alternative literature. 90% of the materials indexed in it are unique and used to report and analyze cultural, economic, social and political change. 1991 - present
Defining Gender: 1450 - 1910
Collection of primary source materials from British and European archives on gender, leisure and consumer culture. Includes diaries, illustrated materials about art, midwifery and fashion, travel and conduct literature, manuscripts. Divided into five sections - I: Conduct & Politeness; II: Domesticity & Family; III: Consumption & Leisure; IV: Education & Sensibility; V: The Body
GenderWatch
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject including business, education, the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and pop culture. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, government and NGO publications. 1978 - present
LGBT Life
Provides citations and some full text articles on lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. It covers core scholarly publications, as well as many alternative publications and grey literature. Disciplines covered include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, psychology, religion, sociology, and more.

Other Titles

Outweek Magazine Internet Archive - An online digitzed collection of all 105 issues of what was one of the most seminal magazines published during the peak time of AIDS activism (June 1989 - July 1991).