Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

LGBTQI: Research Guide: Databases

Library guide to assist with research in LGBTQI studies

Primary Source Databases

Archive Finder - Archive Finder is a current directory which describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland. Researchers can search descriptions of manuscript collections in the United States, link to information about the repositories, and locate the finding aids in NIDS, a microfiche collection in the Microtext Center of SML. (Fiche B1333); 1959 - present

ArchiveGrid - ArchiveGrid describes primary sources for material on family and corporate histories, personal papers, and historical records with direct search access to dispersed collections and collection descriptions. Locate relevant research institutions, arrange visits, or request copies from libraries, museums, and archives worldwide.

Defining Gender: 1450 - 1910 - A collection of original source material from British and European archives for the study and analysis of gender, leisure and consumer culture with 21 libraries for comparative study and research. Manuscripts, printed works and illustrations address the key issues from both masculine and feminine perspectives. Documents include ephemera, pamphlets, college records and exam papers, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, account books, educational practice and pedagogy, government papers from the Home Office and Metropolitan police, illustrated writings on anatomy, midwifery, art and fashion, manuscript journals, poetry, novels, ballads, drama, receipt books, literary manuscripts, travel writing, and conduct and advice literature.

Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Sex, Gender and the Family - This database provides complete access to handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books describing American attitudes towards family dynamics, gender roles, sexual relationships, and race relations in the twentieth century.

Women and Social Movements in the U.S., 1600-2000 - This collection documents the multiplicity of women's reform activities by bringing together thousands of pages of books, images, and documents as well as introductory material, scholarly essays, a chronology, a bibliography, lesson plans, and other teaching tools. Browse and search primary documents and collections of annotated primary documents that document projects organized to address specific historical questions.

WorldCat - WorldCat is the Online Computer Library Center's (OCLC) online "union catalog"; that is, its database of over 1 billion records of books and other materials held in more than 10,000 academic, public, special and national libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of Yale, in almost any area of study, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections. WorldCat provides catalog records for books, maps, sound recordings, musical scores, films, archives, and computer files held in research, corporate, and public libraries, as well as museums, archives and historical societies. All searches may be easily printed, downloaded or e-mailed directly to you.
NEW ! Click on the Yale links icon and then on the link for submitting an Interlibrary Loan request to obtain items that Yale does not own.