It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collection includes: executive correspondence and meeting minutes, as well organizer's reports from the field, testimony and speeches, boycott flyers, letters from supporters and autograph seekers, songs, and prayers, communications between Chavez and his organizers, the Kennedy's, the Church hierarchy, civil rights leaders, union leaders, and Chicano militants.
1949, [microform]. A transcript of Henry Bruere’s oral history interviews. Bruere discusses New York politics (1904-1917), the origins and development of the Bureau of Municipal Research, U.S.-Mexican relations in 1916, banking from 1926-1933, and national politics under Franklin D. Roosevelt. Forms part of Columbia University Oral History Collection (Part One).
Photographs and a digital transfer of a documentary film created by Jon Lewis that document the activities of Cesar Chavez, the National Farm Workers Association, and United Farm Workers Organizing Committee in California, 1966-1971. The digital transfer of the film and the color ink jet photographic print were created by Lewis, 2004.
The collection consists of audiotapes, transcripts, notebooks, correspondence, documents, printed material, and writings accumulated by Levy while conducting research for his book, Cesar Chavez: Autobiography of La Causa. The collection documents the life of Cesar Chavez as well as the early history of the United Farm Workers union. The collection contains a large oral history component, 314 audiotapes totalling ca. 500 hours of interviews, with extensive interviews of Chavez.
Presents chronology of United Farm Workers Organizing Committee activities since 1963, highlighting various phases in the strike in Delano, Calif., in context of legislative efforts to organize farm workers. Examines pre-strike activity of the National Farm Workers Association, strike aimed at Di Giorgio Corp. and Schenley Industries, establishment of United Farm Workers Organizing Committee, strike aimed at Giumarra Vineyards Corp., and coverage of farm workers under the National Labor Relations Act.