Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Latinx History Primary Sources: Home

A guide to Yale primary source collections that support teaching and research in Latinx History.

 

How to Find Primary Sources

To find primary sources while searching in Orbis, the Yale online catalog, use the following keywords with your searches: 

  • Sources
  • Archives
  • Diaries
  • Personal narratives
  • Correspondence
  • Interviews
  • Speeches
  • Statistics
  • Pictorial Works
  • Quotations
  • Collections 
  • Statisitics
  • Caricatures and cartoons
  • Early works to 1800
  • Facsimiles
  • Pamphlets
  • Newspapers
  • Photographs
  • Songs and music
  • Treaties

Welcome and Description

  • This guides assembles a selection of Yale's primary source holdings on Latinx History. Included under this heading are topics such as American westward expansion and its impact on local Hispanic groups; Hispanic migration to the U.S. and U.S. foreign relations with Spanish-speaking North American countries; the Civil Rights movement within the US; and local Yale/New Haven Latino-American History.
  • Yale has a rich collection of sources pertaining to Mexico and Mexican Americans, although researchers will also find sources involving Latinos from other ethnic and political groups.
  • The tabs above are organized chronologically and topically. Just click on a tab that interests you!

Arte Publico Historical Documents

Archives Outside of Yale

Librarian for the Latin American and Iberian Collections, Latinx Studies

Profile Photo
Jana Krentz
Contact:
313 Sterling Memorial Library
PH: 203-432-1845

Primary Source Material

Archives at Yale

This database consists of finding aids for archival and manuscript materials at Yale University.