Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yale Library

Japanese Special Collections at Yale: Works on Japanese Legacy Collections at Yale

About

These works are either about or used specific Japanese legacy collections held at Yale University. The lists are in alphabetical order and categorized by either depository followed by particular collections or an item in a collection indicated by blue fonts with underlines. Compiled by Haruko Nakamura. (Last updated: May 2018)

History of East Asia Library, Yale University

Botsman, Daniel V.et. al. Treasures from Japan: in the Yale University Library イェール大学図書館所蔵日本関係資­­­料. New Haven, Conn.: Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library, 2015.

Fleming, William D. "Japanese Students Abroad and the Building of America’s First Japanese Library Collection, 1869–1878." Journal of the American Oriental Society; Ann Arbor Vol. 139, Iss. 1, (Jan-Mar 2019): 115-141.

Kaneko, Hideo 金子英生 . "Kan'Ichi Asakawa and the Yale University Library." Committee on East Asian Libraries Bulletin 75, (1984).

___. "Yēru Daigaku Toshokan to Asakawa Kan'Ichi イェール大学図書館と朝河貫一." Chōsa kenkyū hōkoku 調查硏究報告 11, (1990): 35-40. Published by National Institute of Japanese Literature 国文学研究資料館.

___. "Marginalia." Yale University Library Gazette 59 (Apr. 1985): 177-18 Describes the donations of an additional hyakumantō dharani and the Flosculi Jesuit Press book to Yale. 

Komine, Kazuaki 小峰和明"Gikai Toshokan Oyobi Yēru Daigaku Shozhō Asakawa shūshūbon o Megutte. 議会図書館及びイェール大学所蔵朝川収集本をめぐって." Early Modern Japan: an interdisciplinary journal Spring, (2004): 14-16.

Kuroda, Andrew Y. "A History of the Japanese Collection in the Library of Congress, 1874-1941." In 仙田正雄教授古稀記念図書館資料論集 [Senda Masao Kyōju Koki Kinen Toshokan Shiryō Ronshū.] Tenri: Senda Masao Kyōju Koki Kinenkai, 1970.

Hammond, Ellen H. A History of the East Asia Library at Yale. Conference Proceeding of Japanese Materials Workshop, The Todai-Yale Initiative, taking place at the Center for Language Study at Yale University.

Wada, Atsuhiko 和田敦彦Shomotsu no Nichi-Bei Kankei : Riterashī-Shi Ni Mukete 書物の日米関係 : リテラシー史に向けて. Tōkyō: Shinyōsha, 2007.

Wintersteen, Jr., Prescott B. “Ichi ryūgakusei no kaisō一留学生の回想.” Komonjo Kenkyū 古文書研究 3, (1969): 64-67.

Japanese Manuscript Collection

Kokubungaku KenkyūShiryōkan 国文学硏究資料館."Yēru Daigakuzō, Nihon Monjo Korekushon Mokuroku イェール大学蔵・日本文書コレクション目録." Chōsa kenkyū hōkoku 調查硏究報告. 11, (1990): 31-93.

Tokyo Daigaku Shiryo Hensanjo 東京大学史料編纂所編. Yēru Daigaku shozō Nihon kanren shiryō : kenkyū to mokuroku イェール大学所蔵日本関連資料 : 研究と目録, Tōkyō : Bensei Shuppan, 2016. The online version of the book is available at this site. ​​​​​​

Hiroki Kikuchi 菊池大樹, "Letting the Copy out of the Window: A History of Copying Texts in Japan", The East Asian Library Journal 14, no. 1 (2010): 120-157, accessed November 1, 2015,

Yale Associations of Japan Collection

About YAJ collection and bibliographies

Asakawa, Kan'ichi. Gifts of the Yale Association of Japan. New Haven, 1945.

Catalogue of books, manuscripts and other articles of literary, artistic and historical interest, illustrative of the culture and civilization of old Japan, presented to Yale University, U.S.A. by Yale Association of Japan, Tokyo. Taiheiyosha Press, 1934.

Both publications are available online via University of Tokyo's site: https://www.hi.u-tokyo.ac.jp/exchange/yale/sub_page/YAJ.html

Asakawa, Kan'ichi.. "The Evolution of Japanese Culture: Gift from the Yale Association of Japan." The Yale University Library Gazette IX, no. 2: 29-37

Kokubungaku KenkyūShiryōkan 国文学硏究資料館. "Yēru Daigakuzō, Nihon Monjo Korekushon Mokuroku イェール大学蔵・日本文書コレクション目録." Chōsa kenkyū hōkoku 調查硏究報告. 11, (1990): 31-93.

Kuroita Katsumi, Shunkichi Akimoto, Yale Association of Japan Collection, Yale Association of Japan, Tokyo, Yale University, Library, and Japanese and Chinese collectionsCatalogue of Books, Manuscripts and Other Articles of Literary, Artistic and Historical Interest, Illustrative of the Culture and Civilization of Old Japan, Presented to Yale University, U.S.A. by Yale Association of Japan, Tokyo. Tokyo: Taiheiyosha Press, 1934.

Ōkubo, Toshitake 大久保利武. Nihon Bunka Zuroku 日本文化圖錄. Tōkyō: Ōkubo Toshitake, 1935.

Bunka Shiryō no shūshū エール大学寄贈日本文化資料の蒐集." In Kobunka no Hozon to Kenkyū: Kuroita Hakushi no gyōseki o chūshin to Shite 古文化の保存と研究:黒板博士の業績を中心として. 黒板博士記念会編, 吉川弘文館, 1953, 452-461.

Library of Congress, and Beikoku Gikai ToshokanzōNihon Kotenseki Mokuroku Kankōkai 米国議会図書館蔵日本古典籍目錄刊行会.Catalog of Japanese Rare Books in the Library of Congress = Beikoku Gikai Toshokan ZōNihon Kotenseki Mokuroku 米国議会図書館蔵日本古典籍目錄. 初版. ed. Tōkyō: Yagi Shoten, 2003. 

 

Indivisual items in YAJ collection

Gentoku ninengo Gouda-in seiki mandaraku 元徳二年後宇多院聖忌曼荼羅供 

Komine, Kazuaki 小峯和明."Kaidai (Shiryo II Yēru Daigakuzō 『Gentoku Ni Nengo Udain Seiki Mandaraku』) 解 題 (資料 II イエール大学蔵『元徳二年後宇多院聖忌曼荼羅供』)." In "Heike Monogatari" no Tenshō to Saisei 「平家物語」の転生と再生Tōkyō: Kasama Shoin, 2003, 466-480.

Nishida, Tomohiro 西田友広"Yēru Daigaku Shozō ‘Gentoku Ninen Gōdain Shichikaiki Mandara Guki’ イェール大学所蔵「元徳二年後宇多院七回忌曼荼羅供記」.”Tokyō Daigaku Shiryō Hensanjo Kenkyū Kiyō 22 (March 2012) : 109-120.

 

Heishi monjo 平氏文書

Thomas ConlanThe Emperor’s Clothes: The Story of the Awazu (Heishi) documents (komonjo).

 

Komonjo harimaze byōbu 古文書張交屏風

Kondō, Shigekazu 近藤成一" Yēru Daigaku Shozō Harima no Kuni Ōbe no Shō Kankei Monjo ni Tsuite イェール大学所蔵播磨国大部庄関係文書について."Tokyō Daigaku Shiryō Hensanjo Kenkyū Kiyō 23 (March 2013) : 1-22.

 

Nara Ehon Ise Monogatari 奈良絵本伊勢物語 

Fukuda Hidekazu, 福田秀一. "Ēru Daigaku Toshokanzō Nara Ehon Ise Monogatari, エール大学図書館蔵奈良絵本伊勢物語." Kokubungaku Kenkyu Shiryōkanhō 国文学研究資料館報 16, (1981): 1-5.

 

Nishikamo kenchichō 西加茂検地帳 

Takahashi, Toshiko 高橋敏子, "Nishigamo no Tenshō Kenchi Shiryō ni tsuite 西賀茂の天正検地史料について.” Chūkinsei Ikōki ni okeru Kamowake Ikazuchi JInja oyobi Kyōto Chiiki no Seijiteki,Kkōzōteki Bunseki Kenkyū [2009-2012nendo Kagaku Kenkyūhi Hojokin (Kiban Kenkyū B Ippan)] Kenkyū Seika Hōkokush Kenkyū Kadai 21320127 (March 2013) : 72-915.

 

Renga Hyakuin 連歌百韻

Yamamura, Noriko 山村規子, " Yēru Daigaku Zō Shōtaku Ten ‘Renga Hyakuin’ Shōkai to Kōsatsu イェール大学昌琢点「連歌百韻」紹介と考察." Higashiyama Chūsei Bungaku Ronsō 東山中世文学論叢 (March 2014) : 38-69.

 

Tekagamijō 手鑑帖

Shimizu, Yoshiaki, John M. Rosenfield, and Naomi Noble RichardMasters of Japanese Calligraphy : 8th-19th Century. New York: Asia Society Galleries : Japan House Gallery, 1984.

Archives at the Manuscripts and Archives

Kan'ichi Asakawa Papers at Manuscripts and Archive

Abe, Yoshio 阿部善雄, and Hideo Kaneko金子英生. Saigo no "Nihonjin" : Asakawa Kan'Ichi no shōgai 最後の「日本人」 : 朝河貫一の生涯. Tōkyō: Iwanami Shoten, 1983. 

Asakawa Kan'ichi Shokan Henshū Iinkai 朝河貫一書簡編集委員会Maboroshi no Beikoku Daitōryō Shinsho : Rekishika Asakawa Kan'Ichi no Jinbutsu to Shisō 幻の米国大統領親書 : 歴史家朝河貫一の人物と思想. Tōkyō: Hokuju Shuppan, 1989.

Kiang, Lindsey. "A Withdrawal to Greatness: The Life of Kan'Ichi Asakawa." Ph.D. diss., Dartmouth College, 1964. 

Masui, Yukimi 増井由紀美, “Asakawa Kan'ichi : Meiji no ‘Kokusaijin’ 朝河貫一-明治の「国際人」.” Tōkyō: Tsudajuku Daigaku Kiyō 38 (March 2006) : 301-325.

Matsutani, Yumiko 松谷有美子. “Asakawa Kan’ichi ni yoru Yēru Daigaku Tshokan oyobi Beikoku Gikai Toshokan no tame no Nihon Shiryōno Shūshū 朝河貫一によるイェール大学図書館及び米国議会図書館のための日本資料の収集” (master’s thesis, Keiō Gijuku Daigaku, 2012).

Mineshima, Hideo 峯島旭雄, and Asakawa Kan'ichi Kenkyūkai 朝河貫一研究会. Asakawa Kan'Ichi no Sekai : Fumetsu no Rekishika Idainaru Paionia 朝河貫一の世界 : 不減の歴史家偉大なるパイオニア. Tōkyō: Waseda Daigaku Shuppanbu, 1993.

Nitta, Ichiro 新田一郎 et al., "Asakawa Kan’ichi to Andore Gontie : Fukushima Kenritsu Toshokan Shozō Ōfuku Shokan no Shōkan no Shōkai 朝河貫一とアンドレ・ゴンティエ:福島県立図書館所蔵往復書簡の紹介." Tōkyō: Tokyō Daigaku Nihon Shigaku Kenkyūshitsu Kiyō 16 (March 2012) : 31-47.

Sato, Yūki 佐藤雄基"Asakawa Kan’ichi to Iriki Monjo no Kaikō: Taishōki no Chiiki to Rekishi o Meguru Kankyō 朝河貫一と入来文書の邂逅 : 大正期の地域と歴史をめぐる環境"In Grōbaruka no Naka no Niho shizō “Saigo no19-seiki” o Ikita Chiiki グローバル化のなかの日本史像「長期の一九世紀」を生きた地域. Tōkyō: Iwata Shoin, 2013.

___, "Asakawa Kan’ichi no Hikaku Hōkenseiron no Saihy ōka o Megutte 朝河貫一の比較封建制論の再評価をめぐって." Tōkyō: Rekishi Hyōron  708 (April 2009) : 85-95.

___, "Asakawa Kan’ichi to Hikaku Hōkenseiron : Josetsu : Kojin Shiryō ni Motozuku Shigakushi Kenkyū no Kokoromi 朝河貫一と比較封建制論:序説:個人資料に基づく史学史研究の試み." Tōkyō: Rekishi Hyōron  732 (April 2011) : 13-24.

___, "Shohyō Yamauchi Haruko Asakawa Kan’ichiron : Sono Gakumon Keishiki to Jissen 書評 山内晴子著『朝河貫一論:その学問形式と実践』." Tōkyō: Rekishi Hyōron 728 (December 2011) : 102-106.

___, Yēru Daigaku Toshokan Shozō Asakawa Kan’ichi Bunsho (Asakawa Papers) no Kisoteki Kenkyū イェール大学図書館所蔵朝河貫一文書(朝河ペーパーズ)の基礎的研究." Tōkyō: Tokyō Daigaku Nihon Shigaku Kenkyūshitsu Kiyō 13 (March 2009) : 37-57.

___, "Shohyō to Shōkai) Maruku Burokku ‘Hōken Shakai’ to Asakawa Kan’ichi Yobiteki Kōsatsu to shite. 書評と紹介 マルク・ブロック『封建社会と朝河貫一: 予備的考察として", Tōkyō: Tokyō Daigaku Nihon Shigaku Kenkyūshitsu Kiyō 14 (March 2010) : 311-316.

Shimizu, Yoshikazu 清水美和. "Ogoru Nihon" to Tatakatta Otoko : Nichi-Ro kōwa jōyaku no Butaiura to Asakawa Kan'Ichi 「驕る日本」と闘った男 : 日露講和条約の舞台裏と朝河貫一. Tōkyō: Kōdansha, 2005. 

Yabuki, Susumu 矢吹晋, and Asakawa, Kan'ichi 朝河貫一Selections. Pōtsumasu Kara Kesareta Otoko : Asakawa Kan'Ichi no Nichi-Ro Sensō Ron ポーツマスから消された男 : 朝河貫一の日露戦争論. 初版 ed. Tōkyō: Tōshindō, 2002.

Edited volumes of Asakawa's works

Asakawa, Kan'ichi 朝河貫一, and Yabuki, Susumu 矢吹晋 ed. The Early Institutional Life of Japan = Taika no Kaishin 大化改新. Tōkyō: Kashiwa Shobō, 2006. 

___, The Documents of Iriki = Iriki Monjo 入来文書. Tōkyō: Kashiwa Shobō, 2005.

___, Asakawa Kan'Ichi Hikaku hōkensei Ronshū 朝河貫一比較封建制論集. Tōkyō: Kashiwa Shobō, 2007.

Asakawa, Kan'ichi 朝河貫一, and Asakawa Kan'ichi Shokan Henshū Iinkai 朝河貫一書簡編集委員会Asakawa Kan'Ichi Shokanshū 朝河貫一書簡集. 初版 ed. Tōkyō: Waseda Daigaku Shuppanbu, 1991.

Letter of Yoshida Shoin

Tao, Demin 陶徳民 “Tōisho” Genpon De Miru Shōin no Seiyō Gakushū no Shisei「投夷書」原本でみる松陰の西洋学習の姿勢. 日本思想史学 (Journal of Japanese intellectual history) 36, (2004): 50-53.

___, "Shimoda Mikkō Zengo Ni Okeru Shōin no Seiyō Ninshiki – Beikoku Ni Nokoru “Tōisho” o Megutte. “fukumu Furoku: “Tōisho” Kō 下田密航前後における松蔭の西洋認識--米国に残る「投夷書」をめぐって〔含 付録:「投夷書」考〕."  (Kan:History,environment,civilization) 13., (2003. Spr): 164-184.

_______, "Shimodagoku Ni Okeru Daini no “Tōisho” Ni Tsuite Shōin no Kakugo Ni Taisuru Perī-Gawa no kyōkan 下田獄における第二の「投夷書」について松蔭の覚悟に対するペリー側の共感,  (Kan:History,environment,civilization) 14, (2003): 423-430.

Yaku, Masao 夜久正雄. "Ēru Daigaku Toshokan, Uiriamuzu Ke no Yoshida Shō in tō Kai Missho 2 Tsu Ni tsuite エール大学図書館・ウイリアムズ家文書の吉田松陰渡海密書二通について ." Ajia Daigaku Kyōyōbu kiyō 亜細亜大学教養部紀要 15, (1977): 53-73. 

Student registries of Yale

Ogawara, Masamichi 小川原正道Hyōden Okabe Nagamoto : Meiji o Ikita Saigo no Hanshu 評伝岡部長職 : 明治を生きた最後の藩主. 初版. ed. Tōkyō: Keiō Gijuku Daigaku Shuppankai, 2006.

Rong,Yingyu 容應萸. “19 seiki khan no Ny Heibun ni okeru Nichibeich ibunka sesshoku 19世紀後半のニューヘイブンにおける日米中異文化接触.” アジア研究 62, no. 2 (2016): 37–60. https://doi.org/10.11479/asianstudies.62.2_37.

East Asia Library Special Collection

History of the Collection

Fleming, William D. "Japanese Students Abroad and the Building of America’s First Japanese Library Collection, 1869–1878." Journal of the American Oriental Society; Ann Arbor Vol. 139, Iss. 1, (Jan-Mar 2019): 115-141.

Heike Monogatari 平家物語

鈴木孝庸. "Yēru Daigaku Zō Heike Monogatari Nagata-Bon Ni Tsuite イェール大学蔵平家物語長門本について." Nigata daigaku kokugo kokubungaku kaishi 新潟大学国語国文学会誌 46, (2004.7): 64-92.

Shinomiya-dono denki ; Tōdō shūyōroku ; Tōdō yōshū 四宮殿傳記 ; 當道拾要錄 ; 當道要集

鈴木孝庸. "Yēru Daigakuzō no Tōdō Shiryō Ni Tsuite -- Tsuketari "Shigūdenki” イェール大学蔵の當道資料について--付『四宮殿傳記』翻刻 Concerning the Documents of Tōdō (Association of Blind Men) Stored in Yale University Library." Jinbun kagaku kenkyū 人文科学研究 115, (2004.8): 1-20.

Cushing /Whitney Medical Library Collection

Watanabe, Mikio 渡部幹夫 "Edo Period Medical Prints in the Fry Collection at Yale University Harvey Cushing Medical Library Yale 大学Harvey Cushing 医学図書館 Fry Collection に収蔵されている江戸期日本の医療版画資料について.” Tōkyō: Tsudajuku Daigaku  Kiyō 38  (March 2006) : 301-325.