Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Botany and Plant Sciences: Indexes and Bibliographies

This guide identifies major information resources in botany including databases, bibliographies, handbooks, and guides.

Indexes and Bibliographies

 

Current Advances in Plant Science - Print index arranged in a classified system. Over 2,000 journals indexed.1972-2006 location

Catalogue of Scientific Papers (Royal Society) - for citations 1800-1900 location

Just's Botanischer Jahresbericht - Citations cover 1873-1935. Classified arrangement. location

Botanical Abstracts - 1918-1926 location

International Catalogue of Scientific Literature - Section M is botany. Covers some unique sources 1901-1914. From The Royal Society of London location

Bradley Bibliography: a guide to the literature of the woody plants of the world published before the twentieth century by Alfred Rehder. 5 volumes. Cambridge, 1911. - arranged by broad subject (dendrology, forestry, arboriculture) with title and author indexes in volume v. location

Index of Mosses: a catalog of the names and citations for new taxa, combinations, and names for mosses. Citations to nomenclature literature of mosses, 1963-1995. With Index to Plant Chromosome Numbers, a subset of the TROPICOS database of vascular plant nommenclature citations.1997 location

Kew Record of Taxonomic Literature - An index providing a subject-arranged listing of references to the world's taxonomic literature for flowering plants, gymnosperms and ferns. A genus and author index are also provided. Published since 1971. In print from HMSO. Online from the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew. Online it is part of the Kew Bibliographic Databases, along with Plant Micromorphology Bibliographic database and Economic Botany Bibliographic Database. 1971-2007 location

Garden Literature: an index to periodical articles and book reviews. Indexes published material pertaining to gardening and related areas (medicinal botany, plants in legends, ecology and conservation of plants, landscape architecture). Annual volumes available 1992-2001 location

Guide to Reference and Information Sources in Plant Biology by Diane Schmidt, Melody M. Allison, Kathleen A. Clark, Pamela F. Jacobs, and Maria A. Porta. Libraries Unlimited, 2006 location

 

Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences

Profile Photo
Lori Bronars
Contact:
219 Prospect St., PO Box 208111 New Haven, CT 06520-8111

Marx Science and Social Science Library | Yale University Library C38 Kline Tower
Yale University Library


203 432 6213