Yale University Library Research Guides: YSN Doctoral Programs: Soc. Sci., History, and Law Databases

General social science resources

Academic Search Premier (general database)
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) is a scholarly, full text database providing coverage to 1800 publications in most academic fields of study.
ProQuest Social Sciences Search
Through this single search interface, you can either search the default collection of social sciences databases, or click on "Searching: 26 databases" in the upper left of the screen to customize your set of databases. In addition to databases in business, economics, sociology, political science, and other social sciences, you can also use ProQuest to search dissertations and theses and the full text of major news sources like the New York Times and the Washington Post.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
SSRN includes abstracts and some full-text of accepted papers, working papers, and more in all areas of the social sciences.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. Faculty, students and staff on the Yale network may download data directly from ICPSR.
Social Science Citation Index (Web of Science)

Business, management, and economics

Business Source Complete
ABI/INFORM
EconLit
Essential portal to economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association.
Business research guide
Economics research guide
NBER Working Papers

Criminology

Education

Education Research Complete
Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. The database also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
ERIC (U.S. Department of Education)
ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.

Gender and Sexuality Studies

Gender Watch

History

America: History & Life
more...less...
American History
Historical Abstracts
more...less...
Non-US history
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine

Law

CRS Reports Policy documents shared with Congressional Committees to help inform them on topics
Directory of State Legislatures, State Laws, and State Regulations
This list provides identifying legislative and regulatory websites and documentation from each state.
Hein Online
Includes indexes to legal periodicals, the full text of many law journals, government information, treaties, and more.
Local Laws- Land Use and Planning
Research guide that provides links and recommendations on how to search local laws
MORRIS - Law Library Catalog
Did you know that Yale Law Library has its own catalog? If you limit your search to Orbis, you won't see what's in the Law Library's collections. We recommend searching in MORRIS for legal materials, as well as books in a variety of social science disciplines.
NexisUni
Legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.

Politics and policy

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes major journals in political science that cover such topics as political institutions, processes, and behavior; international law and politics; public policy; public administration; political theory; and political economics.
Political science research guide
PAIS Index
Formerly known as PAIS International
Public policy research guide
Can be useful to do public opinion research as well as public policy
International relations + international studies research guide

Psychology

PsycINFO
International coverage of the professional and academic literature in psychology, medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.
Psychology research guide

Sociology

Sociological Abstracts
Journal articles, books, chapters, conference proceedings, reviews, and more related to the sociological aspects of many broad topics, including anthropology, business, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies, and violence.
Sociology research guide

Your librarians

Janene Batten - Nursing Librarian, Cushing/Whitney Medical Library

Gwyneth Crowley - Librarian for Economics, Psychology, Government docs, Statistics & data Science, Marx Science and Social Science Library

Kaitlin Throgmorton - Data Librarian for the Health Sciences, Cushing/Whitney Medical Library

U.S. and international news - general databases

NexisUni
U.S. and world news publications, plus broadcast transcripts, magazines, and wire services. Coverage dates vary by title; some sources go back to the late 1980s.
Factiva
News and business publications, newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, international news sources; dates of coverage vary.
Library PressReader
Over 2000 newspapers from 100 countries in 60 languages; all sources displayed in their original format (i.e., including photos and advertisements). Most recent 3 months only.
PoliticoPro
Reporting on major policy areas domestically and internationally, PoliticoPro provides news, intelligence, connections and tools.
Legistorm
LegiStorm is an online platform that identifes congressional staff and monitors activity on Capitol Hill. Incluces database of contact and biographical data on congressional staff. Tracks legislative issues covered, roles and titles, education and work histories, disclosures, social media links, and other contextual information.

Database Trial

Between now and October 30, 2021, Yale will be hosting a trial for PolicyCommons. Policy Commons is a comprehensive content-and-discovery platform for public policy, with more than 2.5 million reports, briefs, analyses, media, working papers, and datasets from IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and global research organizations.

To access the site by proxy, students/faculty will need to use this link:

https://yale.idm.oclc.org/login?URL=https://policycommons.net/

To provide feedback on whether this should be a Yale Purchase, please fill out the following form:

https://yalesurvey.ca1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_1MO6B7WVUSMJkln

Harvey Cushing/John Hay Whitney Medical Library

YSN Doctoral Programs: Soc. Sci., History, and Law Databases