It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection, University of Texas Libraries, Austin, TX - A comprehensive collection of 3000 original Mexican Lobby Cards from 3000 different Mexican Films, 1930s-1980s.
THE Essential Internet Resources
The following are some of the most useful online resources dealing with Latin American and Spanish cinema and film studies.
The LibGuide created at SUNY-Albany puts together a selection of more than 100 unique web resources that provide access to freely available videos, representing the Latin American and Spanish video production on the Internet. Each resource is carefully evaluated and fully annotated. Can browse videos by subject, country and many other categories.
Web platform that provides access to audiovisual content related to the social sciences and humanities. Initiative promoted by the Latin American Council of Social Sciences (CLACSO) in association with the Organization of Ibero-American States (OEI). It provides access to interviews, documentaries, and other audiovisual resources - including recordings of academic events organized by CLACSO. It presents their own productions but also from other agencies, channels and portals focusing on contemporary social issues from a critical point of view. Videos can be browsed by date, alphabetical order, and tags. They are also searchable by performing a simple keyword search. Each online video is described by brief metadata, may include a brief summary of its content, and can be shared via social media. Videos are all available for streaming (via Vimeo and/or Youtube). A few are also available for downloading. It also features a channel broadcasting events live and quick access to the latest vi
FIO consists of two databases (the American Film Institute catalogs and the Film Index International created by the British Film Institute) that may be searched separately or together. Not necessarily as complete as the Internet Movie Database, but the information here is more authoritative.
The Federation of Commercial Audiovisual Libraries International represents commercial film/audiovisual, stills and sound libraries as well as interested individuals such as facility houses, professional film researchers and producers working in the industry.
HIDVL provides a digital venue for documenting the expression of social and political life through performance in the many cultures and political landscapes of the Americas. It brings together in one place materials that have been available only in small, little-known archives that are inaccessible to scholars and that lack the resources to properly care for and provide access to these extraordinary cultural documents.
The Cineteca of the University of Chile, the oldest film archive in the country, has made over 150 films spanning the entire history of national cinema freely available to download or stream online. The project will be enhanced with further releases to take the total to more than 200 films by 2015. The films do not contain subtitles in English and due to age the dialogue may be difficult to understand in a few cases. A comprehensive document of how Chilean cinema has evolved throughout history and the way in which it has served as a means of addressing political, social and cultural themes in the country.