It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An online interactive resource to assist users in the learning of the deciphering and reading of manuscripts written in Spanish during the early modern period, roughly from the late 15th to the 18th century.
This collection consists of postcards and photos from 1890 to 1920 from countries and territories in Latin America and the Caribbean, including Barbados, Bermuda, Cuba, Jamaica, Martinique, Puerto Rico, Panama, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela, and Madeira. It also includes a small number of postcards depicting Gibraltar, photographs of the building of the Panama Canal, and artistic postcards from Chile published in 1984.
Collection of 1,803 briefly labeled 35 mm color slides taken in the 1950s-1970s on travels to the Mediterranean, Latin America, and in the United States. Mostly architectural photography, but also many market and street scenes in rural areas of Latin America.
The collection contains published exhibition catalogs from various Latin American countries and mounted reproductions of individual artworks by Latin American Artists. In the Haas Arts Library - Special Collections
The collection consists of posters from Argentina, Brazil, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Nicaragua, and Venezuela, regarding political, economic, cultural, and educational affairs.
Collection consists of black and white glass lantern slides of Pre-Columbian arts, including architecture, sculpture, ceramics, and illuminated manuscripts from Mexico, Central America, and the Andean region of South America.
ArchiveGrid describes primary sources for material on family and corporate histories, personal papers, and historical records with direct search access to dispersed collections and collection descriptions. Locate relevant research institutions, arrange visits, or request copies from libraries, museums, and archives worldwide.
Ibero-American Archives at Yale University Library
The collection consists of audio recordings of Al cantío de un gallo radio program, as well as a small number of recordings of other radio programs. Al cantío de un gallo broadcast news (political, economic, cultural, and social), commentaries, interviews, and some music, pertaining to Cuba and Cuban exiles. The primary contributors were Carlos Franqui and Alfredo Melero. The recordings offer insight into the Cuban revolution, conditions in Cuba under Castro, resistance to Castro rule, and the Cuban exile experience. The program ran from the late 1980s through the 1990s.
Robertson was the executive director of the Milbank Memorial Fund in New York City from 1962 until 1969. From 1969 until 1990, he held numerous positions with the World Health Organization (WHO) such as chief of human resources for the Caribbean; regional advisor on medical education and public health; public health administrator; director of health manpower development; and director of health services in the regional office for the Eastern Mediterranean in Alexandria, Egypt.
In addition to illuminating Spanish civil society, religion, military, economy, and government in the Andes before 19th century independence, the collection contains religious documents detailing native peoples' "demonic" religious practices, first hand accounts of the Tupac Amaru indigenous rebellion, correspondence by and related to revolutionary leaders Simón Bolívar, José de San Martín, and Antonio José de Sucre, and foreign correspondence sketching Lima society between 1869 and 1871. The collection is mostly focused on Peru, but includes Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador and Venezuela. Personal correspondence, government reports, laws, accounting ledgers, official Church documents, manuscripts and publications document the Bourbon reforms, Indian unrest, the Wars of Independence, the early Republics, and the 19th century war of the Peru-Bolivian Confederation. Also of interest are Jesuit reports from indigenous communities in Paraguay and other remote environs.
St. George worked as an investigative reporter and photographer, especially focusing on Latin America, especially Cuba. The papers consist of photographs, films, slides, writings, and clippings, documenting Andrew St. George's career as a photojournalist in numerous regions, including the Caribbean and Latin America.
The papers of journalist Anne Nelson depict revolutionary action and United States reaction in the Caribbean and Central America in the late 1970s and 1980s. They include clippings, propaganda materials, guerilla memoranda, and government documents on elections, United States supported death squads, leftist guerillas in El Salvador, and the United States Navy's manipulation of Puerto Rican politics and target-practice on the island of Culebra. The papers shed light on how local social unrest and the United States' anti-communism fed into the violent 1980s in Nicaragua, Honduras, Costa Rica, Guatemala, El Salvador, Mexico and the Dominican Republic.
The papers of Samuel Flagg Bemis consist of correspondence, lecture notes, research materials, manuscripts (both published and unpublished), a complete set of printed works, clippings, photographs and memorabilia. Bemis studied U.S.-Latin American relations including Roosevelt's Good Neighbor Policy and Panamericanism. Contains some sources on Cuba and U.S. foreign policy.
Nearly three-fourths of the papers consist of Benjamin Whorf's writings on linguistics, including drafts of published works, unpublished manuscripts, research notes on his trip to Mexico in 1930 and on Hebrew, Maya, Hopi and other languages.
The career of Hiram Bingham III (1875-1956) was one of the building blocks of the United States' historical, scientific, political, and exploration engagement with Latin America in the first third of the twentieth century. His personal papers, one of the most substantive collections available to researchers of Latin American history, highlight his tenures as Yale's first professor of Latin American history, the first curator of the Yale Library's Latin American Collection, Peruvian explorer, pilot, and United States senator. Bingham's personal papers are contained in the papers. and include ten years of teaching materials, and correspondence and publications that illustrate his critique of the Monroe Doctrine and advocacy of Pan-Americanism. They also document his explorations in Peru and rediscovery of Machu Picchu, additional materials for which are found in the rich Yale Peruvian Expedition Papers.
A collection of correspondence; writings; and published illustrated materials from and about Brazil related to Imperial Brazil, religious, economic, and geographic concerns. There is one item under the heading Portugal: a letter of condolence upon the death of a distant relative of Vasco de Gama.
The papers consist of correspondence and business papers of Aaron Columbus Burr, merchant of New York City and adopted son of Aaron Burr. The papers relate to an attempt by Burr and James Grant to establish a colony for freed American slaves in Honduras. There is also material relating to the American Honduras Company, a firm formed by Burr and Grant for the cutting and exporting of mahogany.
Spans 4 centuries and contains spans four centuries and contains manuscripts, maps and publications from Cuba, Jamaica, Barbados, Santo Domingo and the Virgin Islands. Of interest to researchers of colonial conflict and regional slavery are correspondence on the Spanish invasion of Mexico in 1829 and Spanish-British naval skirmishes, the memoirs of a freed Cuban slave, and plantation records documenting Jamaican slave ownership. A series of reports to the United States government from civil administrators in the Virgin Islands in the 1920s and 1930s shed light on conflicts between the two countries, citizenship status of islanders, and work relief during the Great Depression. Correspondence; government documents, including legal cases, reports, decrees and proclamations; church documents; published illustrated materials.
The collection includes correspondence, business and legal papers, personal papers, printed ephemera, genealogical research materials, photographs, and a scrapbook documenting the lives of the Carrillo de Albornoz and Aldama families including Isaac Carrillo de Albornoz, René Carrillo de Albornoz, Miguel de Aldama, and other family members who lived in Cuba and the United States in the late 19th and 20th centuries.
A collection of correspondence; government documents, including reports, and decrees; church documents; and writings from Central America (Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama) on civil, military, economic, religious, political, linguistic and social topics.
Official documents regarding Chinese indentured laborers, often referred to as “asiático” (Asian), in Cuba in the nineteenth century. The documents include death certificates, new contracts, official petitions to the court, documents outlining the movement of workers, documents concerning fugitive people and imprisoned laborers, arrest warrants, and identification documents.
The collection consists of photographs, films, printed matter, memorabilia, and other materials documenting various periods in the Cuban Revolution, particularly the years 1957-1960, 1964, and 1969. The materials were primarily created by photographer Andrew St. George and filmmaker David C. Stone. St. George's photographs provide extensive documentation of the 26th of July Movement from 1957 to 1959, and of Fidel Castro during his first year as prime minister. The films created by David C. Stone in 1969 include footage of the Vento School, Juventud Comunista, Turcios Lima Labor Brigade, Urbano Noris sugar mill, and orientadores rurales. The footage was incorporated into Compañeras y Compañeros, a 1970 documentary produced by David C. Stone, Barbara Stone, and Adolfas Mekas, a copy of which is in the collection. There are outtakes of Canadian Broadcasting Corporation film from 1964 of scenes of Havana and Santiago and interviews with Fidel Castro, students, cabaret performers, and
Official documents pertaining to slavery in Cuba, mostly from Matanzas, Cuba. Documents include death certificates for enslaved people, petitions for freedom from slavery, documentation of disputes, prisoner correspondence, and arrest warrants. Some death certificates specify the cause of death, the plantation or enslaver, and the enslaved person's origin in Africa.
The De Forest Family Papers chronicle the movemments of David Curtis de Forest (1774-1825), a Yankee merchant and privateer. He lived in the Rio de la Plata area from 1801 to 1817, Argentina's late colonial and revolutionary periods, and then served as the new nation's first consul to the United States from 1817 to 1822. De Forest's papers depict the Rio de la Plata's commercial and political history during his years there, as well as the mechanics and diplomatic implications of United States' privateering during Latin American wars of independence.
Documents relating to the registration, sale and manumission of slaves in Cuba, and contracts outlining the terms of service of African and Chinese indentured servants working in Cuba, for the Compañía Asiatica de la Habana and for other companies and individuals. The documents include a death certificate, identification passes, and authorizations to transfer slaves. Beinecke
he papers consist of 56 dossiers containing over 3600 documents relating to government of Martinique, Guadeloupe, and other French colonies in the West Indies, most dating from Rochambeau’s term as gouverneur général des Isles du Vent, 1792-1794. Also present are small amounts of papers created by earlier colonial administrators, 1762-1791, or relating to Rochambeau’s surrender to the British, parole, and return to Saint-Domingue, 1794-1802. Many maps.
These papers consist of an amusing three-volume collection of anecdotes illustrative of American manners and morals in the 1920s and 1930s. Culled by Frederick Dwight from his own experiences and from stories he heard in New York society and on his travels to the Caribbean (1924), South America (1929-1930), Mexico (1931), and the West Indies (1932), the anecdotes reveal Dwight's interest in the customs of the countries he visited.
Correspondence, writings, memorabilia, scrapbooks and printed matter chiefly concentrated in the years 1910-1923. The correspondence includes photocopies of thirteen letters from Woodrow Wilson to Hale (1911-1915) discussing various aspects of United States foreign policy. Between 1913 and 1914, Hale travelled in Central America as Woodrow Wilson's special emissary to Mexico and then to Nicaragua.
The Henry Hill Papers documents the efforts of a Yankee merchant to sell arms and ammunition to South American revolutionaries in 1817, and his service as the United States vice-consul to Valparaiso, Chile. Peru and Chile - Wars of Independence.
Contain a substantial number of Mexican broadsides covering a wide range of topics including politics, economics, Indians, slavery, health matters, natural disasters, funeral orations, the Inquisition, and various theological considerations
Materials regarding Martin's efforts in 1921 to help organize railroad strikes in Mexico during the era of agrarian reform. Martin was a labor organizer at the turn of the century. Most materials are in English.
This collection contains materials gathered and produced in the course of the Goffs' work, particularly in the areas of religious liberty and religious implications of social development in Latin America. The collection is strong in documenting the Goffs' early career in Colombia (1947-1969), the pivotal period of their research assignment in Cuernavaca, Mexico (1969-1973), their work in Nicaragua (1981-1986) and their retirement activities (1986-2000). Material from their years in Peru (1973-1981) is scarce. James and Margaret Goff were fraternal workers (missionaries) serving under the United Presbyterian Church in the USA (PCUSA after 1983), in Latin America (Colombia, Mexico, Peru, Nicaragua) from 1947 to 1986. They served as interpreters of Latin American liberation theology to a Protestant Anglophone audience, translating and distributing important religious documents to church leaders in North America.
From 1924 to 1927 Sheffield was United States Ambassador to Mexico. The papers consist of correspondence, scrapbooks, writings, and photographs documenting the political and diplomatic career of James Rockwell Sheffield. The bulk of the material dates from 1893 to 1938 and concerns either the New York Republican party and its influence on National politics or American diplomatic relations with Mexico during the Coolidge administration.
The James Watson Webb Papers documents the intersection of the history of the United States civil war with Latin American history Webb served as the American minister to Pedro II's Court in Brazil from 1861 to 1869. His personal letters sketch life at the Brazilian court, and his correspondence with Secretary of State William H. Seward documents Webb's efforts to protect American interests in the Paraguayan War, fight aid extended to Confederate privateers, and handle incidents between Confederate and Union ships in Brazilian waters. There is also correspondence on his role securing French withdrawal from Mexico in 1865.
The collection contains scholarly publications and research materials related to the art and architecture of Latin America, Spain, and Portugal including titles on Pre-Columbian art and architecture, Mesoamerica, Caribbean Indian culture, and Latin American art of the post-conquest period.
This is a microfiche collection of approximately 10,000 priceless pamphlets documenting social, political and economic conditions in the region from the seventeenth to the early twentieth centuries. While coverage is strongest for independence movements between 1808 and 1830, particularly in Mexico and Peru, the collection of first-hand accounts, government records, economic reports, biographies, political broadsides, scholarly theses, religious and civic speeches, and playbills is a springboard for countless research projects, ranging from internal social history to the United States-Mexican conflict. Consult the Guide to Latin American Pamphlets from the Yale University Library (Z1431 +V34 1985) for access.
Arranged in three series: I. Mexican Pamphlets. II. Peruvian Pamphlets. III. Miscellaneous Pamphlets
The collection consists of posters from Argentina, Brazil, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Nicaragua, and Venezuela, regarding political, economic, cultural, and educational affairs.
The archives document the work of the Wesleyan Methodist Missionary Society in Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, the Caribbean region and North America. Of special interest is extensive material on Dr. Thomas Coke, assistant to Wesley. Also included is material on the Women's Work organization and the Primitive Methodist Missionary Society.
Chronicles the rise and fall of the Spanish Empire in its viceroyalty. Correspondence, official government documents, and writings by and on historical protagonists Hidalgo, Itúrbide, Juárez, López de Santa Anna, Díaz, and Maximilian depict civil society, the Church, the military, the economy and the government during the Bourbon Reforms, Mexican Independence, the first Empire, and the Republic. Included are documents detailing the history of Mexico's indigenous people before first contact, first-hand accounts of the Spanish conquest, instructions given to French agents to seed dissent among Creoles, a roster of Mexico City prisoners in 1808, and lithographs and photographs depicting late nineteenth century Mexican life. Researchers interested in foreign commentaries on Mexico should note an 1808 travel narrative by Alexander von Humboldt and a series of letters home from French and American soldiers. Mexican state history is also represented.
An intentionally assembled collection of newspapers, pamphlets, leaflets, broadsides, and miscellanea relating to anti-war, socialist, student, and radical political movements in the United States, Africa, Europe, Asia, and Latin America, 1946-1980.
Contains administrative records from the town of Muzquiz, spanning the period 1699 to 1889, though the bulk of the records dates from the nineteenth century. In addition to these and other collections, the General Collection of Modern Manuscripts contains many early Latin American imprints.
The Nelson Hayes papers contain correspondence, writings, journals, and other materials documenting the personal and professional life of author Nelson Hayes. Materials throughout the collection also document Hayes's special interest in the Caribbean. For example, photographs relating to the Caribbean. Specific writings set in the Caribbean include "Caribbean Junket", Dildo Cay, and "Spanceled". Otherwise, the bulk of the general correspondence in the collection is with Hayes's wife and mother.
The Percival Farquhar Papers reveal the expansion of United States business interests into Latin America and the economic development of Brazil in the early twentieth century. The papers provide insight to Farquhar's (1864-1953) career in Latin American railroad building from 1898 to 1941, when his massive Brazilian railroad project ended due to unyielding Brazilian nationalist opposition.
Rights and Wrongs, a television series that focused on human rights issues around the world, ran from 1993 to 1996. MSSA holds approximately 2000 videos from the series including program episodes and source footage. A number of episode segments focus on Latin American issues including Central American rights commissions, the modern United States occupation of Panama, the North American Free Trade Agreement, Haitian politics and democracy, the United States Army's "School of the Americas," Brazilian indigenous land struggles, and United States-Cuban relations. Researchers should consult with reference archivists in MSSA about use of the collection.
Selden Rodman was born February 19, 1909, in New York City. He graduated from Yale College in 1931. In the 1930s, he helped found the journal Common Sense (1932-1946) with Alfred Bingham. During World War II, he served in the foreign nationalities section of the Office of Strategic Services. In 1944, the Haitian government produced his play, The Revolutionists, which lead to a later career as co-director for the Haitian Centre d'Art (1949-1951), promoting Haitian folk art internationally.
The collection contains correspondence; government documents; published illustrated materials; and writings from the Southern Cone region of Latin America (Argentina, Paraguay, Uruguay). The collection is arranged by country, and by date within country. The description of each item includes, when possible, its author, title, place of origin, and a summary of its contents. When an item is a copy of an original, it is arranged by the date of the original. The date field, however, contains the date of the copy itself, not the original. The date of the original is included in the summary description of the item. Illustrated material on Buenos Aires.
Contains government reports, commissions and awards, church documents, correspondence, and literature from Spain between 1500 and 1768, the bulk of which are from the seventeenth century. Relevant to Latin Americanists are the letters and memorials of the secretary of King Philip III (1598-1621), addressing the "decadence" of the politics, society and economy of Spain in the early 17th century. The "Bourbon Reforms" of Philip V (1700-1746) are documented in materials related to projects to develop the society and economy of Spain and its empire, such as "Nuevo sistema de gobierno económico para la América."
Since the history of Texas begins with the history of México, a great deal of material of interest to Latin Americanists can found in the Thomas W. Streeter Collection, an extensive collection of publications and manuscripts relating to Texas. This collection contains a number of Mexican imprints which are unique among the great Mexican collections in the United States
Five scrapbooks chronicle Davis's participation in the Mexican War and Civil War, service in New Mexico, and his interest in Democratic party politics. The correspondence and memorabilia in the scrapbooks are arranged according to major themes. The autobiographical writings series contains essays on the Mexican War, and a memoir of the Mexican Wa
Correspondence, administrative records, scientific reports, writings, and illustrative material on the three expeditions to Peru sponsored by Yale University between 1911-1915. The most celebrated discoveries, the finding of Machu Picchu and of Vitcos, the last capital of the Incas, were studied during the expeditions by scientific specialists who were drawn principally from the Yale faculty. The Expedition Papers detail the mechanics of United States exploration in Latin America before World War I, as well as Peru's nationalist response. Includes photos, maps and other illustrative materials.