Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Agriculture: Taxonomy and Systematics Resources

resources for agriculturally-related research

Taxonomy and Systematics Online Resources

Taxonomy and Systematics Resources in Print (botany)

100 Flowers and How They Got Their Names by Diana Wells. Algonquin Books, 1997. LSF QK13 W46X 1997 A line drawing accompanies each entry. Arrangement is by common name.

Botanical Latin: history, grammar, syntax, terminology and vocabulary by William T. Stearn. William T. Stearn, A David & Charles Book, 1992 Marx Library QK10 S74 1992 Includes a section on pronunciation. An event of appreciation for the author was held at the LInnean Society on May 23, 2002, just over one year after his death. Memorial pieces were published in Garden (Royal Horticultural Society) July/August 2001, p. 508, Taxon Nov. 2001, pp. 1255-1276 and Watsonia 24(1), pp. 123-124, 2002. A tribute to Stearn's contributions to botany and as a librarian are found in Stearn's Dictionary of Plant Names for Gardeners: a handbook ont he origin and meaning of the botanical names of some cultivated plants, by William T. Stearn (Portland: Timber Press, 2002 reprint of c1963 edition). Author Braent Elliott, librarian at the Royal Horticultural Society points out that Stearn's initial work on this book (then titles A Gardener's Book fo Plant Names) was as a revision of Archibald William Smith's book published in 1963, the year after Smith died. Similarily, Stearn's Dictionary of Plant Names for Gardeners was published in the year of Stearn's death.

Cross Name Index to Medicinal Plants by Anthony R. Torkelson. In 4 volumes CRC Press, 1996. LSF QK99 A1 T65X 1996 A handy tool when running across variant names thought to be the same plant.

Index Nominum Genericorum (Plantarum) and Supplementum I (Regnum Vegetabile series, volumes 100-102, 113) Plant general aroudn teh world is listed here if it is included in the International Code of Botanical Nomenclature. Also a source for species names. LSF QK96 R4 100-102 ; 113 Suppl See also ING database in Taxonomy and Systematics Online Resources box.

Plants and Their Names: a concise dictionary by R. Hyam and R. Pankhurst. Oxford University Press, 1995 LSF QK96 P35X 1995 This is a dictionary of plant names, both scientific and common.

Scientific and Common Names of 7,000 Vascular Plants in the United States by Lois Brako, Amy Y. Rossman, and David F. Farr. LSF QK96 B68X 1995 Names of vascular plants with a common name index and list of synonyms.

Describing Species. Practical Taxonomic Procedure for Biologists by Judith E. Winston. Columbia University Press, c1999. An aid for those working in taxonomy. LSF QH83 W57X 1999

International Code of Nomenclature for Cultivated Plants by C.D. Brickell, et al. International Society for Horticultural Science, c2009. contians rules and reccomendations for naming plants in cultivation. Marx Library QK96 .I584 2009

 

 

Taxonomy and Systematics Resources in Print (zoology)

 

Index Animalium by Charles Davies Sherborn. Covers animal names 1758-1850. In 1902, the first part was published, with animal genus and species name listings beginning with published literature from 1758 and including both fossil and living animals. The second part, 8 volumes, was published in 1922 and covers the literature of named animals from 1801 to 1850. Author Sherborn includes a nice bibliography of sources in the first volume of each part. In pre-publication days, this work was referred to as Index Generum et Specierum Animalium. Marx Library QL354 S4 Geology Library QL354 S5

Nomenclator Zoologicus: a list of the names of genera and subgenera in zoology from the tenth edition of Linnaeus 1758 to the end of 1935 by Sheffield Airey Neave. This set of four voluems plus three supplements began publication in 1939 by the Zoological Society of London. Publication was completed in 1965. Provided are original name references (genus and subgenus) to published or privately printed literature of zoology, 1758-1968. Marx Library Ql354 N65

Nomenclatur Animalium Generum et Subgenerum by FE Schulzfe and W. Kukenthal. A work with lengthy bibliography at the start. Published 1926-1956, in Berlin. Use in consultation with other sources. Marx Library QL354 N6 (LC) Oversize 5 volumes.

International Code of Zoological Nomenclature (ICZN). The code is the set of rules for naming and registering names of organisms, as dopted by the International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature and passed by the International Union of Biological Sciences. A 4th editon is out with a 5th in development. The 3rd edition was published in 1985 and the first in the early 1960s. The content of the latest edition supercedes that of the previous editions. See link for online edition in Taxonomy and Systematics Resources Online. Text is in both English and French. Includes a code of ethics and glossary. LSF QL353 I5 1999.

Latin Names Explained. A Guide to the Scientific Classification of Reptiles, Birds & Mammals byA.F. Gotch. Facts on File, 1995. Gives brief explanations for Order and Family names, common names. LSF QL9 G67 1996

Describing Species: Practical Taxonomic Procedure for Biologists by Judith E. Winston. Columbia University Press, 1999. An aid to those doing taxonomic work. LSF QH83 W57X 1999

Eponym Dictionary of Amphibibans by B. Beolens, M. Watkins, M. Grayson. Pelagic Publishing, 2013. Marx Library QL640.7 B455 2013 (LC) 

Catalog of Fishes, edited byWilliam N. Eschmeyer. California Academy of Sciences, 3 volumes, c1998. Online version contains some newer materiral. See link in Taxonomy and Systematics Online Resources. LSF Tl618 C38 1998.

Common and Scientific Names of Fishes from the United States, Canada, and Mexico. American Fisheries Society Special Publication 34. Marx Library QL627 C66X 2013 (LC)