Yale University Library Research Guides: Slavery, Freedom and Abolition in Latin America and the Caribbean: Find Books

Reference Works

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean. 1992. F1406 C36X 1992+ Oversize (Starr Reference Room and LSF)
Cambridge History of Latin America. 2008. 11 vols. F1410 C1834 1984 (Bass, Starr Reference Room and electronically)
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. 2008. 6 vols. F1406 .E53X 2008 Oversize (Starr Reference Room)
Encyclopedia of Latin America. 1974. F1406 E52+ Oversize (Marx Library, LSF and Starr Reference Room)
Encyclopedia of Latin America. 2010. 4 vols. F1406 .E525 2010+ Oversize (Starr Reference Room)
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics. 2002. F1410 .E56X 2002+ Oversize (SML Stacks)
Historical Dictionary of Haiti. 2012. F1921 .H37X 2012 (SML Stacks)
Haiti: A Research Handbook. 1990. Z1531 L39 1990 (LSF)
Haiti, a Basic Reference Book: General Information on Haiti. 1994. F1915.5 H33X 1994 (SML Stacks)

How to Find Books at Yale University Library

Orbis
Yale University Library Catalog
Quicksearch
Search Orbis, Morris, and Articles+
Get It @Yale
(Borrow Direct, Interlibrary Loan, Scan and Deliver)
Teatro español del Siglo de Oro
The Teatro español del Siglo de Oro full text database contains the most important plays of the sixteenth and seventeenth century in Spain, either edited by the playwrights themselves or by an editor "endorsed" by the playwright. The text is copied exactly as it was written, with all peculiarities captured - accents, abbreviations etc.
Latin American Women Writers
Latin American Women Writers (LAWW) will contain approximately 100,000 pages of prose, poetry and drama by women writers from Mexico, Central, and South America when complete. In this prototype version there are about 4200 pages of prose and poetry. Drama will be added in the next release.
Latino Literature
Latino Literature brings together more than 100,000 pages pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Among the gems of the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. It contains over 133,465 pages.
La novela corta: una biblioteca virtual
Esta colección ofrece un recorrido indispensable por la novela corta en México. Las primeras historias ven nacer el México independiente; las últimas, el país que surgió de la Revolución armada de 1910 y sus consecuencias culturales.

Finding Books Outside of Yale University Library

WorldCat
WorldCat is the world's largest library catalog. Contains millions of records of items owned by libraries around the world. It includes: books, films and slides, journals and newspapers (NOT individual articles), manuscripts, maps, musical scores, sounds recordings, computer files and videotapes.
Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
The CRL Catalog is the online catalog of the Center for Research Libraries in Chicago. It focuses on hard-to-find materials including: archival materials, newspapers and periodicals (foreign & domestic, specialized), foreign doctoral dissertations, U.S. state documents, US and foreign academic publications.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A digital archive that brings together the immense collections of major research institutions and libraries.