This site is designed to help researchers and students find primary sources related to slavery, abolition, and resistance within the university’s many libraries and galleries.

In four parts, including items from the Merseyside Maritime Museum, the Gloucestershire Record Office, the Special Collections Library of Duke University, and personal letters of numerous individuals. Online guides are available on the linked webpage.

The papers primarily document the administration of the debt-burdened estate of Auchinleck after the death of Sir Alexander Boswell in 1822. In addition, there are letters by Charles Douglas, a planter in Jamaica, concerning many aspects of his life and career, such as his ownership of slaves and opinions about slavery, immigrant life in Jamaica, and the impact of the Napoleonic Wars on the Caribbean.

A collection of correspondence; government documents, including legal cases, reports, decrees and proclamations; church documents; and writings from the Caribbean islands (Cuba, Jamaica, Santo Domingo, and the Virgin Islands) on civil, military, religious, economic and social topics.

A collection of correspondence; government documents, including reports, and decrees; church documents; and writings from Central America (Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama) on civil, military, economic, religious, political, linguistic and social topics.

The Royal African Company of England was the major, legally monopolized slaving corporation set up in the mid-seventeenth century in England. Topics include the economics of slavery, the geography of slavery, social and political debates surrounding slavery, and the finance of slaves. ALSO SEARCH "ROYAL AFRICAN COMPANY" in Orbis or Quicksearch for more primary sources.

Official documents pertaining to slavery in Cuba, mostly from Matanzas, Cuba. Documents include death certificates for enslaved people, petitions for freedom from slavery, documentation of disputes, prisoner correspondence, and arrest warrants. Some death certificates specify the cause of death, the plantation or enslaver, and the enslaved person's origin in Africa.

Documents relating to the registration, sale and manumission of slaves in Cuba, and contracts outlining the terms of service of African and Chinese indentured servants working in Cuba, for the Compañía Asiatica de la Habana and for other companies and individuals. The documents include a death certificate, identification passes, and authorizations to transfer slaves.

Manuscripts and typewritten copies of newspaper articles, ships' logs and letterbooks in the Library of Congress relating to the slave trade after 1806, especially during the years 1810-1811, 1816-1821 and 1860-1863. These were collected but not used in connection with her Documents Illustrative of the Slave Trade, published 1930-1934.

10 reels.

Connect to online guide for the microfilm set. Set contains the slave journal of Humphrey Morice (1721-1730), trading accounts and personal papers, business papers, and documents relating to British trade with Africa, America and the West Indies.

Freeborn Garrettson became a Methodist minister due to the influence of Bishop Francis Asbury. He opposed slavery and freed his own slaves when he had begun his ministry. He was instrumental, along with Asbury, in organizing the Methodist Episcopal Church.

Letterbook containing retained copies of commercial correspondence between an unidentified London shipowner and merchant and his various business associates, many of them Americans in the Carolinas, including Thomas Pearce, Robert Smyth, and James Britt. Subjects include the pricing of and credit for cargoes of wine, cork, indigo, rice, and Negro slaves from Guinea; news of family members and mutual friends; recommendations of business associates and ships’ captains; and schedules of repayment

Ten letterbooks containing business correspondence to Oswald from his agents, factors, nephews and Edinburgh attorney, all written after his "retirement" to Scotland. The letters include extensive information on on Oswald’s trading ventures, particularly his trade with the American colonies and his West African slave trade (based at Bunce Island), and his Scottish land investments.

Log and journal of the Bristol ship "Black Prince," which was engaged in slaving voyages. This manuscript covers her seventh and eighth voyages to the Gold Coast of Africa. The material is partly in tabular form, listing occurrences, transactions, courses, and positions.

This collection of 46 documents consists of manuscript bills of sale, receipts, estate appraisals, deeds of gift, manumission statements, promissory notes, and other papers documenting slave ownership and the slave trade in the United States between 1770 and 1863. The bulk of the material documents slavery in North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, Georgia, Kentucky and Alabama. There are also legal documents recording slavery transactions in Maine, Tennessee, Pennsylvania, and Louisiana.

16 reels.The collection contains material on the capture, trial, and release of the Amistad captives who were illegally sold into slavery. After seizing the ship that was taking them to the Caribbean, the Africans were captured by a U.S. Navy ship and imprisoned in New Haven, Connecticut. The Amistad Case was tried before the Supreme Court and the Court decided in favor of the Africans. The collection consists of diaries, letters, court and government records, and newspaper accounts of the case; secondary accounts of the case; and background information on Africa, Cuba, the slave-trade, similar cases, slavery in the United States, and abolitionist sentiment in the North.

The papers include records relating to trade, industry, plantations, agriculture, ranching, immigration and settlement, the anti-slavery movement, politics, religion, and military affairs of Scotland and England. Personal papers, diaries, state documents, printed material, and the records of industrial and commercial concerns are also included in the papers.

The papers document the West Indian portions of the economic fortunes and political career of the sugar planter and politician Ralph Payne, first Baron Lavington.

Correspondence, business and personal papers, volumes and pamphlets, diaries, family papers, planation records, and miscellanea of families and individuals in Louisiana and the Mississipppi Valley. The effects of the Civil War, Reconstruction and emancipation, and social and economic change in the South are documented in nineteen separate collections.

Emancipation papers resulting from the Act of April 16, 1862 and July 12, 1862; and manumission papers, 1857-1863, and fugitive slave case papers, 1851-1863.

The British and Foreign Anti-Slavery Society was founded in 1839, its aim being to secure the abolition of slavery in general and in America in particular. It convened the first world Anti-Slavery Convention in 1840 and this was followed in 1842 and 1843 by further conferences. The Aborigines' Protection Society was founded in 1837 and was amalgamated with the British and Foreign Anti-Slavery Society in 1909. The Mico Charity set up schools in the West Indies following the abolition of West Indian slavery in 1834. Their purpose was to educate the ex-slaves and their children in a period of apprenticeship that was to serve as a preliminary to complete emancipation.

Five manuscript documents concerning Robert Bostock’s involvement in the recently outlawed slave trade. The earliest is the November 1810 agreement between Bostock, Mason and five "Gallinas gentlemen" that allowed Bostock and Mason to establish their slave factory "on the point of Bance Island." The remaining documents are all connected to the 1813 raid on the factory by the Royal Navy.

An artificial collection of volumes, tracts, deeds, and clippings on the topic of slavery. A seven volume composition of material on slavery and abolition, and a "Census of the Slaves in Chester County, Pennsylvania" are included.

Includes "List of titles and index to reels." Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (Great Britain).

A collection of correspondence; government documents, including reports, commissions, decrees, and awards; church documents; and writings and poems from Spain on civil, military, economic, religious, and social topics. ALSO AVAILABLE ONLINE

The records consist of statutes passed in fifteen states that deal with slavery, free blacks, and the broader issue of race. Also included are private laws, special acts, legislative resolutions, and state constitutions with subsequent revisions.

The collection consists of ships' logs, nineteenth-century cargo manifests of Connecticut ships on fishing voyages, and the papers of ships sailing to the West Indies for rum and sugar and to the Antarctic on sealing expeditions.

The records consist of sixty-eight volumes of correspondence and papers relating to the colonies in America and the West Indies. The records constitute Public Record Office group Colonial Office class 1 (PRO CO 1). Originals are at the Public Record Office, London, England.

ArchiveGrid describes primary sources for material on family and corporate histories, personal papers, and historical records with direct search access to dispersed collections and collection descriptions. Locate relevant research institutions, arrange visits, or request copies from libraries, museums, and archives worldwide.

Founded in 1998 at Yale University, the Gilder Lehrman Center was the first institution in the world wholly devoted to scholarship, public education, and outreach about the global problem of slavery across all borders and all time.