Collection at John Rylands University Library, Manchester. London, England: Great Britain, Foreign Office Records; General Correspondence Before 1906, Slave Trade, 1816-1892

The approximately 1,235 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public - in brief, anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World.

BDPI is a project of the Asociación de Bibliotecas Nacionales de Iberoamérica (ABINIA). Its objective is the creation of a portal which provides access, from a single search point, to the digital resources of all the participating libraries. Highlighted digital collections in geography and travel, periodicals, music, and tales and legends.

Colonial America is a collection of chiefly manuscript material from the Colonial Office files at the National Archives in London. The collection focuses on seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world. It covers the period 1606 to 1822.

Caribbean history from 1624 to 1870 drawn from the archives of the British Colonial Office. Records include: administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords. The colonies include: Anguilla, Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Berbice, Bermuda, British Guiana, British Honduras, British Virgin Islands, Curaçao, Demarara, Dominica, Essequibo, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Jamaica, Leeward Islands, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher (St. Kitts), St. Croix, Santo Domingo, St. Eustatius, St. Lucia, St. Thomas, St. Vincent, Suriname, Tobago, Tortola, Trinidad, and Turks and Caicos.

The Colonial State Papers provide access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Included is a digitized version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents.

The website is designed to provide online access to both the French originals and the English translations of key primary sources dealing with the grain shortage faced by the colony of Saint-Domingue in 1789, which are found under the Translations menu. Alongside the French original, each translation is presented with a brief historical introduction to situate the reader in the time period and help understand how this particular pamphlet fits into the episode. Each document has been reviewed by one of the scholars on our Board of Advisors. These pamphlets are primarily drawn from the University of Maryland’s Special Collections, although related items available at other institutions have been included as well. Please see our Worldcat list if you are interested in the physical items.

Selected archival and manuscript materials, books, and periodicals held by the Cuban Heritage Collection have been digitized and are available online through the University of Miami Libraries Digital Collections portal.

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Full text database of every issue of The Economist. The Economist has presented timely reporting, concise commentary and comprehensive appraisal of global news every week. Because of its global perspective and economic and political analysis, it is highly regarded and heavily relied on by the world's political and business leaders, opinion formers and decision makers.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online gives access the digital images of 150,000 books published in the British Isles during the 18th Century.

Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford and the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas. It brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life.

Empire Online provides access to images of original documents with introductory essays and combined indexing to all five sections. Bringing together images of original manuscript and printed documents from libraries and archives around the world, Empire Online enables researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture and society. Published in five thematic sections, Empire Online is fully searchable and offers thematic essays by leading scholars.

A bilingual digital educational platform devoted to disseminating historical information about the early presence of people of black African ancestry in the first colonial society of the Americas of modern times, the society of the colony named La Española

Part of Yale University's extensive Latin America collection, these three microfilm reels deal specifically with the Caribbean from 1500 to 1935. The collection includes correspondence, legal documents, government documents, church records, and other source materials. Geographically, the collection focuses on Cuba, Jamaica, the Virgin Islands, and the Dominican Republic. The collection is predominantly in Spanish, but materials from Jamaica and the Virgin Islands are in English.

This collection of more than 5,000 titles contains main scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries. One of the few institutions to have consistently collected Latin American pamphlets, Harvard has benefited from collections formed by Luis Montt (Chile), Nicolás Acosta (Bolivia), Manuel Segundo Sánchez (Venezuela), José Augusto Escoto (Cuba), Blas Garay (Paraguay), Charles Sumner, John B. Stetson and others. Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico are the countries most heavily represented in this collection.

Contains repository for trials of the Havana Slave Commission between 1824 and 1841 as well as free slaves, demographics, legislation and cases. Will soon expand to include Rio de Janeiro.

Offers access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections — the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School — along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection at Columbia.

The database puts together images and objects, sites and gestures related to the cultural memories of slavery in Europe and West-Africa. As the transatlantic slavesystem was a traumatizing experience for enslaved Africans as well as for the European slaveholder-societies only few images show the social practices, which both groups were unable to integrate in a positive self-concept.

Showcases a selection of books from the John Carter Brown Library that are available online through the Internet Archive. Created with the support of partners from around the world, the intent of this library is to provide access to the remarkable history of Haiti,

This collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, etc.

Repository of information on the identities of enslaved people in the Atlantic World. It includes the names, ethnicities, skills, occupations, and illnesses of individual slaves. Phase one of a multi-phase project is presented here. Users of the website can access data about slaves in colonial Louisiana and Maranhão, Brazil. They can download datasets, search for ancestors, and run statistical analysis

This site provides access to the raw data and documentation which contains information on the following slave trade topics from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries: records of slave ship movement between Africa and the Americas, slave ships of eighteenth century France, slave trade to Havana, Cuba, Nantes slave trade in the eighteenth century, and slave trade to Jamaica.

Digitally preserves endangered ecclesiastical and secular documents related to Africans and Afro-descended peoples in the Americas. This website provides information about the project and its history and tools that allow researchers to search the ESSSS database containing nearly 300,000 documents from three countries and several archives. While most of the documents contained here belong to the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, there are also some Cuban documents from the sixteenth century and Brazilian documents from the seventeenth.

This resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.

Includes documents from the United States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm.

Selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. Our growing collection currently has over 1,200 images.

Contains records of 27,233 trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866. Format allows users to track information by time period and geographic region, and includes interactive maps that allow viewers to chart the trans-Atlantic connections. The accompanying data contains materials about people on board, owners and captains, ships’ characteristics, and the geographic trajectory of each voyage.

A newspaper published in New York. Full text is available to the Yale community.

Holds dozen of historic Haitian newspapers available through InterLibrary Loan

A digitized archive of materials for French overseas territories. Researchers will also find information on some Caribbean territories including Haiti, Saint Lucia and French Guiana.

This set of material is available on 23 reels of microfilm and holds information on Haiti.

Microfilm of the newspapers for the period January -December 1860.

The collection consists of correspondence, writings, official reports, subject files, printed materials, and personal papers documenting the life and political career of La Revellière-Lépeaux, particularly during the period of the First Republic (1792-1804).