Collection of mounted color and black and white labeled photographs covering a broad range of materials for sub-Saharan African, Afro-Caribbean and African American art and architecture from 1960 to 2000.

Collection of 380 black and white mounted and labeled photographs from the exhibition Art of Latin America since Independence, Yale University Art Gallery and The University of Texas Art Museum, 1966.

This collection consists of postcards and photos from 1890 to 1920 from countries and territories in Latin America and the Caribbean, including Barbados, Bermuda, Cuba, Jamaica, Martinique, Puerto Rico, Panama, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela, and Madeira. It also includes a small number of postcards depicting Gibraltar, photographs of the building of the Panama Canal, and artistic postcards from Chile published in 1984.

Collection of 1,803 briefly labeled 35 mm color slides taken in the 1950s-1970s on travels to the Mediterranean, Latin America, and in the United States. Mostly architectural photography, but also many market and street scenes in rural areas of Latin America.

The collection comprises a photograph album of approximately seventy pages, and approximately fifty pages of correspondence documenting the life and work of Ida Pyland, a Presbyterian missionary living in Sancti Spiritus, Cuba, during the first two decades of the twentieth century. The photographs document trips into the countryside, farming, Cuban families, school children, and scenes of streets and harbors in cities and villages in Cuba.

The collection contains published exhibition catalogs from various Latin American countries and mounted reproductions of individual artworks by Latin American Artists. In the Haas Arts Library - Special Collections

The collection consists of posters from Argentina, Brazil, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Nicaragua, and Venezuela, regarding political, economic, cultural, and educational affairs.

This database consists of finding aids for archival and manuscript materials at Yale University.

The collection consists of audio recordings of Al cantío de un gallo radio program, as well as a small number of recordings of other radio programs. Al cantío de un gallo broadcast news (political, economic, cultural, and social), commentaries, interviews, and some music, pertaining to Cuba and Cuban exiles. The primary contributors were Carlos Franqui and Alfredo Melero. The recordings offer insight into the Cuban revolution, conditions in Cuba under Castro, resistance to Castro rule, and the Cuban exile experience. The program ran from the late 1980s through the 1990s.

St. George worked as an investigative reporter and photographer, especially focusing on Latin America, especially Cuba. The papers consist of photographs, films, slides, writings, and clippings, documenting Andrew St. George's career as a photojournalist in numerous regions, including the Caribbean and Latin America.

The Thomas Beer Papers in the Beer Family Papers relate to Beer's business interests in Latin America and to his work as lobbyist for sugar companies in Cuba.

The papers of Samuel Flagg Bemis consist of correspondence, lecture notes, research materials, manuscripts (both published and unpublished), a complete set of printed works, clippings, photographs and memorabilia. Bemis studied U.S.-Latin American relations including Roosevelt's Good Neighbor Policy and Panamericanism. Contains some sources on Cuba and U.S. foreign policy.

A collection of correspondence; government documents, including legal cases, reports, decrees and proclamations; church documents; published illustrated materials; and writings from the Caribbean islands (Cuba, Jamaica, Santo Domingo, Barbados, and the Virgin Islands) on civil, military, religious, economic and social topics.

The collection includes correspondence, business and legal papers, personal papers, printed ephemera, genealogical research materials, photographs, and a scrapbook documenting the lives of the Carrillo de Albornoz and Aldama families including Isaac Carrillo de Albornoz, René Carrillo de Albornoz, Miguel de Aldama, and other family members who lived in Cuba and the United States in the late 19th and 20th centuries.

Official documents regarding Chinese indentured laborers, often referred to as “asiático” (Asian), in Cuba in the nineteenth century. The documents include death certificates, new contracts, official petitions to the court, documents outlining the movement of workers, documents concerning fugitive people and imprisoned laborers, arrest warrants, and identification documents.

The collection consists of photographs, films, printed matter, memorabilia, and other materials documenting various periods in the Cuban Revolution, particularly the years 1957-1960, 1964, and 1969. The materials were primarily created by photographer Andrew St. George and filmmaker David C. Stone. St. George's photographs provide extensive documentation of the 26th of July Movement from 1957 to 1959, and of Fidel Castro during his first year as prime minister. The films created by David C. Stone in 1969 include footage of the Vento School, Juventud Comunista, Turcios Lima Labor Brigade, Urbano Noris sugar mill, and orientadores rurales. The footage was incorporated into Compañeras y Compañeros, a 1970 documentary produced by David C. Stone, Barbara Stone, and Adolfas Mekas, a copy of which is in the collection. There are outtakes of Canadian Broadcasting Corporation film from 1964 of scenes of Havana and Santiago and interviews with Fidel Castro, students, cabaret performers, etc.

Official documents pertaining to slavery in Cuba, mostly from Matanzas, Cuba. Documents include death certificates for enslaved people, petitions for freedom from slavery, documentation of disputes, prisoner correspondence, and arrest warrants. Some death certificates specify the cause of death, the plantation or enslaver, and the enslaved person's origin in Africa.

Documents relating to the registration, sale and manumission of slaves in Cuba, and contracts outlining the terms of service of African and Chinese indentured servants working in Cuba, for the Compañía Asiatica de la Habana and for other companies and individuals. The documents include a death certificate, identification passes, and authorizations to transfer slaves.

Correspondence with Nicolas Guillen and other, translations and manuscripts.

The collection consists of posters from Argentina, Brazil, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Nicaragua, and Venezuela, regarding political, economic, cultural, and educational affairs.

Contains digital images and other materials taken from the research collections Yale University Library.

An intentionally assembled collection of newspapers, pamphlets, leaflets, broadsides, and miscellanea relating to anti-war, socialist, student, and radical political movements in the United States, Africa, Europe, Asia, and Latin America, 1946-1980.

The collection contains material on the capture, trial, and release of the Amistad captives who were illegally sold into slavery. After seizing the ship that was taking them to the Caribbean, the Africans were captured by a U.S. Navy ship and imprisoned in New Haven, Connecticut. The Amistad Case was tried before the Supreme Court and the Court decided in favor of the Africans. The collection consists of diaries, letters, court and government records, and newspaper accounts of the case; secondary accounts of the case; and background information on Africa, Cuba, the slave-trade, similar cases, slavery in the United States, and abolitionist sentiment in the North.

The collection comprises a photograph album of approximately seventy pages, and approximately fifty pages of correspondence documenting the life and work of Ida Pyland, a Presbyterian missionary living in Sancti Spiritus, Cuba, during the first two decades of the twentieth century. Personal correspondence contains observations concerning daily life in Cuba, including social and racial relations among Cubans. Pyland provides observations on the school, her favorite students, transportation between the United States and Cuba, and her feelings about living as an expatriate in Cuba. School correspondence provides details about the Presbyterian missionary effort in Cuba, including information about locations and personalities in the schools, and also about the program of study at the schools. The photographs document trips into the countryside, farming, Cuban families, school children, and scenes of streets and harbors in cities and villages in Cuba.

Rights and Wrongs, a television series that focused on human rights issues around the world, ran from 1993 to 1996. MSSA holds approximately 2000 videos from the series including program episodes and source footage. A number of episode segments focus on Latin American issues including Central American rights commissions, the modern United States occupation of Panama, the North American Free Trade Agreement, Haitian politics and democracy, the United States Army's "School of the Americas," Brazilian indigenous land struggles, and United States-Cuban relations. Researchers should consult with reference archivists in MSSA about use of the collection.

The collection consists of material created by or relating to José María Chacón y Calvo, which was accumulated by Zenaida Gutiérrez-Vega in the course of her research on the life and work of the Cuban-born literary critic and academic. Material includes original and copies of correspondence received by Chacón y Calvo from various Cuban, Spanish, and Latin American poets and writers; original manuscripts, typescripts, photocopies, and clippings of writings by Chacón y Calvo; an annotated typescript of Chacón y Calvo's diaries dating from 1917 to 1918; research files containing manuscripts, notes, letters, and printed material relating to other writers (possibly compiled by either Chacón y Calvo or Gutiérrez-Vega); original and photocopies of photographs of Chacón y Calvo; and other material.