This site provides links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. The sources linked below range from collections of Mexican incunabula (1559-1600), to Latin American posters. The site is organized by format “Historical Texts by Country“, “Historical Texts General“, “Statistics“, “Visual Material by Country“, “Visual Material General“, and “Miscellaneous.”

A repository of free online resources for Latin American, Caribbean, Latinx, and Iberian studies. Many are primary sources. Can be searched by country or subject.

An open-source bibliographical archive

An online interactive resource to assist users in the learning of the deciphering and reading of manuscripts written in Spanish during the early modern period, roughly from the late 15th to the 18th century.

Contains digital images taken from the research collections Yale University Library.

Links to archive by region, diaspora and country, as well as international archives containing Ibero-Americana.

Three distinct archival collections: Archives of the Presbyterian Church in Cuba (Iglesia Presbiteriana-Reformada en Cuba, IPRC); Archive of the Evangelical Theological Seminary of Cuba (Seminario Evangélico de Teología, Matanzas, Cuba, SETC); and Archive of the Christian Student Movement of Cuba (Movimiento de Estudiantes Cristianos de Cuba, MECC), an affiliate of the World Student Christian Federation.

The approximately 1,235 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public - in brief, anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World.

The Bibliography on Moderate Cuban Politics, 1952-1965 includes 271 annotated primary and secondary resources related to events, groups and individuals that advocated the return to democratic process. Searchable by Archive, Memoirs & Biographies, Microfilm, Newspapers, etc.

Brinda lo más auténtico de la literatura cubana. Su repertorio, disponible en texto completo, incluye obras desde el siglo XVII hasta el XX de difícil acceso al formato impreso por la antigüedad y valor que las caracteriza. Desde estas páginas el usuario puede acceder también a las variadas publicaciones electrónicas que nuestra institución ofrece, así como consultar nuestras bases de datos, catálogos, bibliografías, colecciones y listados disponibles de la Biblioteca Nacional "José Martí" y del Sistema Nacional de Bibliotecas Públicas de Cuba disponibles en la red.

Created from the renowned holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920, is the largest and most significant collection of its kind. More than 1,200 fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera cover the history of this broad region from the 16th century to the early 20th century.

A cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. CNDL will have on-going newspaper digitization, expanding the geographic, temporal,

This database includes speeches, interviews, etc., by Fidel Castro from 1959 to 1996. "Castro Speech" is a database containing the full-text translations of speeches, interviews, and press conferences by Fidel Castro, based upon the records of the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), a U.S. government agency responsible for monitoring broadcast and print media in countries throughout the world. These records are in the public domain. All texts are in English.

Library, biography, images and speeches

The Chinese Immigrants in Cuba collection includes hundreds of original documents, manuscripts and photos covering the migration of 125,000 Chinese who signed up to be cheap labor in Cuba from 1847 until the later 1890s. The archive continues until the 1970s and records the Chinese community in Cuba and is rich with photos. This massive collection, from the archive of James and Ana Melikian Collection, is probably the largest one in private hands concerning Chinese in Cuba. At present the collection contains over 1341 records and about 8,000-9,000 pages.

El Repositorio Digital de CLACSO ofrece acceso libre y gratuito a producción de los 324 Centros Miembros de CLACSO en 25 países de América Latina y el Caribe. Es un servicio de CLACSO con la participación del los grupos publicaciones, biblioteca y multimedia de los Centros Miembros de CLACSO. Actualmente, pueden acceder a más de 30.000 textos completos de artículos, documentos de trabajo, libros y ponencias publicados por la red CLACSO.

Documents relating the British Foreign Office's intimate involvement in the region's history. Covering revolutions, territorial changes and political movements, foreign financial interests, industrial and infrastructural development (including the building of the Panama Canal), wars, slavery, immigration from Europe and relations with indigenous peoples, amongst other topics, the documents in this title form a vital resource for any scholar of Latin American history in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Contains documents on the influence in Latin America of the Cuban Revolution of 1959 and the exclusion of Cuba from the Organization of American States (1962).

The Cuban 27N Movement Web Archive preserves and provides access to a broad range of websites related to the Cuban27 Movement initiated in November 2020 by protesters in Havana, Cuba, demanding freedom of expression and other civil rights. Built by Fernando Acosta-Rodríguez (Princeton University), Jill Baron (Dartmouth College), Holly Ackerman (Duke University), and Lizabel Mónica (Princeton University), the Archive focuses on websites produced by activists and supporters within and outside of Cuba, non-governmental organizations, Cuban alternative presses, and online periodicals on politics, art, and culture in order to guarantee that these potentially ephemeral websites are preserved and remain accessible to researchers and scholars from years to come.

Primary-source collection of fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes such diverse materials as articles, newspaper clippings, cable messages, interviews, conference memorabilia, etcetera, collected from 1959 onward. Together they document the activities of the institution both in Cuba and beyond, bearing testimony to the conflicts and passions of a turbulent time. Conferences and controversies, manifestos and open letters combine to shed a light on a vibrant cultural history, which is now accessible for the first time from new and unexpected angles.

Primary-source collection from the archives of the Casa de las Américas in Havana documenting the literary, intellectual and cultural milieu of Revolutionary Cuba. This section includes artists and the international avant-garde as well as famous and little-known authors. A large portion of the collection consists of press clippings and ephemeral documentation.

Documents the literary, intellectual and cultural milieu of Revolutionary Cuba.This section documents the history of theater in Latin America and the Caribbean, with a special focus on Revolutionary Cuba. In addition, there are files about countries on other continents, such as the Soviet Union, the United States (with a focus on Latino and Chicano theater), and various countries in Europe and Africa.The collection covers theater groups, festivals, performances, and persons (actors, playwrights, directors).

Contains materials from partner organizations Instituto de Historia de Cuba and Cinemateca de Cuba as well as collections about Cuba held by UCLA Library. Materials include historical newspapers, Cuban designed movie posters, and tourism related ephemera.

The Cuban Heritage Collection is a repository for primary and secondary sources of Cuba and the Cuban diaspora from colonial times to the present.

Selected archival and manuscript materials, books, and periodicals held by the Cuban Heritage Collection have been digitized and are available online through the University of Miami Libraries Digital Collections portal.

Selected issues of journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters about Cuba or published in Cuba before 1923. These periodicals are invaluable primary sources for research in cultural, political and social history.

Collection of Cuban manuscripts from the 17th to the 20th centuries. Acquired as individual pieces or in small groups, manuscripts in this collection include books, slave sales and property documents, wills, and correspondence.

The Cuban Judaica collection comprises materials held in the library of the Temple Beth Shalom (Gran Sinagoga Bet Shalom) in Havana, Cuba. The synagogue library contains over 10,000 books, which were first gathered and arranged by Abraham Marcus Matterin, the founder of the cultural group, La Agrupacion Cultural Hebreo Cubana. In addition to Matterin’s own works, the materials in the library include many rare Yiddish publications from the early 20th century, as well as little-known works produced in Cuba beginning in the 1930s. The Library as a whole provides a complete snapshot of Cuban Jewish intellectual, cultural, religious and political life as it evolved and progressed during the 20th century.

Gives access to the archives (1960-2009) of four cultural magazines published by Casa de las Américas in Havana, Cuba. It includes the highly influential journal Casa, the theater journal Conjunto, the music journal Boletín de Música, and, finally, Anales del Caribe, a journal about the rich artistic and literary production in the Caribbean

A collection of Cuban posters built through a cooperative agreement between the University of California, Berkeley and the José Martí National Library of Cuba. The predominant subjects are Cuban culture and international solidarity.

The bulk of the materials currently found in the Digital Archive were originally created around the turn of the 20th century and after, with some originating as recently as within the last year. The formats or genre most commonly included are pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards. These items were originally created by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities. The vast majority are rare, hard-to-find primary sources unavailable elsewhere.

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Speeches by Castro from 1959 until 2008. Older speeches are in Spanish only.

Ethnic, minority, and native press content from 1959-to the present. The other side of the story is presented on local, national, and international events that changed the course of history across three turbulent decades, the 60s, 70s and 80s. ncludes Cuban exile publications.

Digital archive of the Stoner collection - 19th and 20th century archival documents.

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States' principal historical record of political open source intelligence for more than half a century. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories.

Organized by country, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues. It sheds light on the foreign relations interactions between Central American and South American countries. In the Caribbean, Cuba, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic are represented. This collection includes cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties.

"The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity of the United States Government. The series documents the facts and events that contributed to the formulation of policies and includes evidence of supporting and alternative views to the policy positions ultimately adopted." 443 documents and memoranda.

During the 1930s, U.S. relations with Latin America and the Caribbean Growing war clouds in Europe and Asia predicated the need for securing resources and allies in the Western Hemisphere. Giving up unpopular military intervention, the U.S. shifted to other methods to maintain its influence in Latin America: Pan-Americanism, support for strong local leaders, the training of national guards, economic and cultural penetration, Export-Import Bank loans, financial supervision, and political persuasion.

.pdf files of primary sources for the study of Latin America in Spain.

The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with the Spanish-American War, including manuscripts, maps, broadsides, photographs, prints, sheet music, and films. This guide compiles links to digital materials related to the Spanish-American War that are available throughout the Library of Congress Web site. In addition, it provides links to external Web sites focusing on the Spanish-American War.

Digital archive containing over 8,000 images of the 1,055 most significant buildings in the Historic Center of Havana, Cuba, known as Habana Vieja. Taken in the 1980s.

This collection of more than 5,000 titles contains main scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries. One of the few institutions to have consistently collected Latin American pamphlets, Harvard has benefited from collections formed by Luis Montt (Chile), Nicolás Acosta (Bolivia), Manuel Segundo Sánchez (Venezuela), José Augusto Escoto (Cuba), Blas Garay (Paraguay), Charles Sumner, John B. Stetson and others. Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico are the countries most heavily represented in this collection.

The collection consists of posters from Argentina, Brazil, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Nicaragua, and Venezuela, regarding political, economic, cultural, and educational affairs.

Rare uploaded documents re: Cuban and Cuban-American/Cuban exile history.

A digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-17th centuries. Arranged by country or area.

America's Productions, Inc. (API), formed a radio programming empire, selling their products to the United States government, to 200 radio stations in Latin America and Spain, and to Spanish-language radio stations in the United States during the latter half of the 1960s. With scripts penned by acclaimed Cuban scriptwriters in exile and Mexican writers as well, America’s Productions, Inc. produced two types of entertainment radio programming: one kind featuring political content, and a second kind, generally characterized as ‘pure entertainment.’ The entertainment programming was designed for both U.S. Latino and Latin American audiences and the content included radionovelas/dramas, comedies, advice programs, biblical dramas, mysteries, spy stories, and variety shows.

Offers access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections — the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School — along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection at Columbia.

This publication consists of documents of an administratively-sensitive nature, arranged according to subject from President Nixon's Special Files collection, comprising the Confidential and Subject Files. These documents provide an in-depth look into the activities of the President, his closest advisors, and the administration. These records support the behind-the-scenes historical inquiry into an administration that may well be the most significant one since World War II and one of the most important in the 20th century.

126 photos of places in Cuba (ca. 1858 through the early 1960s).

Resource for the study of more than half a century of Cuban culture ... Some of Cuba's most notable intellectuals have been among the journal's editors and contributors, including several National Award winners, such as Lisandro Otero, Reynaldo González, Graziella Pogolotti, Ambrosio Fornet, Antón Arrufat, Leonardo Acosta, Jaime Sarusky, Leonardo Padura, and Senel Paz. As an illustrated cultural magazine with a wide thematic range, which for decades has attracted the best writers, photographers, designers and illustrators in the country, Revolución y Cultura offers the most outstanding contributions in literature and the arts by both Cubans and foreigners

Digitized photos from American solidarity delegation traveling to Cuba in 1970.

This collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, etc.

Declassified records that comprise this collection provide a detailed account of the diplomatic, economic, military, and cultural relationship between the United States and Cuba in the era of Fidel Castro (1926-2016). Included are extensive official records gathered from presidential libraries, government archives, the CIA, the FBI, and the Department of State (DOS).

Library of Congress and UNESCO offers cultural treasures and significant historical documents including books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films