Provides access to a list of books (and chapters in books), journal articles, conference papers, and dissertations concerning literary studies and comparative literature, linguistics in general and of all modern languages, all modern literatures, and folklore. Indexes resources back to the 1850s, some of which are linked to full text.

*Tip: Try an advanced search by "Primary Subject Author" and "Primary Subject Work" to search for scholarship related to a particular work by a particular author.

The annual bibliography of English language and literature lists English language monographs, periodical articles, literary works, book reviews, essays, and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. Coverage begins in 1920, with select publications available between 1892 and 1919.

Searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.

Oxford, UK ; Cambridge, Mass., USA : Blackwell, 1993.

"The American Comparative Literature Association Report on the State of the Discipline, 2004"--P. [ii].

London ; New York : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2015.

From the publisher: "
Comparative literature is both the past and the future of literary studies. Its history is intimately linked to the political upheavals of modernity: from colonial empire-building in the 19th century, via the Jewish diaspora of the 20th century, to the postcolonial culture wars of the 21st century, attempts at 'comparison' have defined the international agenda of literature. But what is comparative literature? Ambitious readers looking to stretch themselves are usually intrigued by the concept, but uncertain of its implications. And rightly so, in many ways: even the professionals cannot agree on a single term, calling it comparative in English, compared in French, and comparing in German. The very term itself, when approached comparatively, opens up a Pandora's box of cultural differences."

The list of results for a catalog search for Oxford's Very Short Introduction series and the keyword "literature."

Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press, 2003.

From the publisher: ""In this new history of comparative literature, David Damrosch argues that the discipline is not dead or unmoored, as some critics claim, but continues to face some of the same questions that have shaped it since its beginnings in the nineteenth century. Damrosch traces the discipline's past in order to clarify its present tensions and concerns, and to rethink the fundamental terms of literary analysis, methods, and training that will guide the discipline's future. "