It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
by Jana Krentz
Last Updated Sep 29, 2021
3528 views this year
The primary purpose of this research guide is to assist students and faculty in the Yale University Comparative Literature Department in conducting research; and using the Libraries' resources and services. The resources presented in this guide are the best and essential research sources. The cross-national and interdisciplinary aspects of CompLit make it hard to define and so you will find a variety of sources here including sections on Literary Theory. You may also want to visit other subject research guides found in the Related Guides section.
For more assistance or to schedule an appointment, please contact the Librarian for Comparative Literature for an appointment by clicking "Email Me" button on the right.
The MLA Bibliography indexes materials on literature, languages, linguistics, film and folklore, excluding book reviews. Access to citations from journals and series published worldwide, as well as books, essay collections, and dissertations.
Searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.
Covers writers from the ancient Greeks to 20th-century authors. Includes biographical-bibliographical entries on nearly 500 writers and approximately 550 entries focusing on significant works of world literature. Each author entry provides a detailed overview of the writer's life and works. Work entries cover a particular piece of world literature in detail. 2 volumes.
From the publisher: "Writing about World Literature, a new guide created to accompany the Norton Anthology, covers the processes and particulars of writing in the world literature survey course. Starting with the essential question, “What is Academic Writing,” the guide takes students step-by-step through the writing process – from generating ideas to researching to revising. It includes an entire chapter on the different types of writing about world literature – including textual and contextual analyses."
Hathi Trust’s Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) provides online access to in-copyright books in the Yale Library collection. Catalog records for ETAS items can be found through Quicksearch and Orbis. From the catalog record, select "Online Book." Then select the "Log In" link at the top of the Hathi Trust page to which you will be directed and select Yale from the drop-down menu (if you access Hathi Trust without using the VPN, you will initially receive a prompt to use Duo Multi-Factor Authentication in order to access the database first). In order to view the book, you must click "Check Out" from the book record page.
A short video on the Hathi Trust ETAS can be found here,and a library guidehere.