Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 UPDATE

Yale libraries will be closed Nov. 25 – Jan. 5. Online services and access to library materials will continue. See COVID-19 library updates.

Chemistry: Find Chemical Properties

A guide to resources and services in chemistry.

Chemical Properties

The Combined Chemical Dictionary
Contains descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; and more.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Full text web version of the most widely used source of data for physical scientists and engineers.

Design Institute for Physical Properties (DIPPR) Database
Evaluated process design data of physical, thermodynamic, and transport properties for industrially important chemicals used in chemical process and equipment design.

International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
Physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties of inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances.

Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Online access to the comprehensive reference work on applied chemical science.

Knovel Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Reference Books
A searchable collection of reference books in chemistry and chemical engineering.

Reaxys
Locate property data by a substance search. Reaxys includes combined data the Beilstein Database, the Gmelin Database, and the Patent Chemistry Database.

SciFinder Scholar
Explore substances for property data from the chemical literature.

SpringerMaterials
Access to data on the properties of materials and chemical systems relevant to research in the fields of physics, chemistry, and materials science. Data sources include the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the Linus Pauling Files and specialized databases on thermophysical properties, polymer thermodynamics, adsorption isotherms, and substance profiles.

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Reference articles covering the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, and environmental protection.

Yaws' Critical Property Data for Chemical Engineers and Chemists
This database contains over 290,000 data records covering physical, thermophysical, thermodynamic, transport, safety, and environmental properties for over 5,000 inorganic substances and over 35,000 organic substances.

Subject Librarian

Andy Shimp's picture
Andy Shimp
Contact:
In alignment with Yale University's response to COVID-19, all appointments for research help will take place online using Zoom.