Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Chemistry: Find Reactions

A guide to resources and services in chemistry.

Find Chemical Reactions and Syntheses

Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (eEROS)
Locate information by browsing the list of reagants or by keyword or chemical structure searching.

Fieser and Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis
Entries provide the most important information on commonly used and new reagents, including preparation, uses, sources of supply, and critical comments.

Organic Chemistry Portal
Offers an overview of recent topics, interesting reactions, and information on important chemicals for organic chemists.

Organic Reactions
Provides information about the most important and useful synthetic reactions, organized primarily by reaction type.

Organic Syntheses Based on Name Reactions - A Practical Guide to 750 Transformations (3rd Edition)
Each entry provides a summary of information that a chemist needs to understand and utilize these fundamental reactions in their work, including brief practical details.

Patai's Chemistry of Functional Groups
Covers all aspects of the chemistry of functional groups including physical organic chemistry, analytical chemistry and techniques, reaction mechanisms, chapters on synthetic pathways, reactions and strategies as well as applications in drug discovery, pharmaceuticals, biochemistry and molecular biology.

Reaxys
Reaxys includes combined data the Beilstein Database, the Gmelin Database, and the Patent Chemistry Database.

SciFinder Scholar
Explore reactions from the chemical literature.

Science of Synthesis
Full-text resource for methods in synthetic organic chemistry.

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Andy Shimp
Contact:
17 Hillhouse Avenue
Room 110
PO Box 208342
New Haven, CT 06520
203-432-7460