Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Chemistry: Find Spectra

A guide to resources and services in chemistry.

Find Spectra

SciFinder Scholar
Explore substances to locate spectra from the chemical literature.

Reaxys
Reaxys includes combined data the Beilstein Database, the Gmelin Database, and the Patent Chemistry Database.

Spectral Database System for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds,which includes six different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds.

NIST Data
Science and technology data resources available from the National Institute of Standards and Technology:

Atomic Spectra Database
Spectroscopic data can be selected and displayed according to wavelengths or energy levels
Chemistry WebBook
Provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data.
Diatomic Spectral Database
Critical reviews on the microwave spectra of molecules.
Handbook of Basic Atomic Spectroscopy
Provides a selection of the most important and frequently used atomic spectroscopic data.
Hydrocarbon Spectral Database
Tabulated rotational spectral lines for hydrocarbon molecules.
Triatomic Spectral Database
Tabulated rotational spectral lines for triatomic molecules.
X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy Database
Contains line positions, chemical shifts, doublet splittings, and energy separations of photoelectron and Auger-electron lines.

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Andy Shimp
Contact:
17 Hillhouse Avenue
Room 110
PO Box 208342
New Haven, CT 06520
203-432-7460