Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For information about visitor access, see COVID-19 library updates..

Student Guide to Chemistry Research: Home

Quick guide for locating resources for your research.

Find properties and reactions

SciFinder
Comprehensive source for research articles in chemistry. Search by substance for spectra.

Reaxys
Use to locate substance properties and reactions.

PubChem
Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules including properties, safety, toxicity, and medical uses.

Find spectroscopic data

SciFinder
Comprehensive source for research articles in chemistry. Search by substance for spectra.

Spectral Database System for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
An integrated spectral database system for organic compounds.

Find medical uses

MedlinePlus
Provides reliable, up-to-date health information from the National Library of Medicine.

UpToDate
Current clinical information and recommendations on care and treatment. Provides a comprehensive, "up-to-date" review, from physiological concepts through results of the most recent clinical trials and protocols.

Find books and articles (Quicksearch)

Find research articles

Web of Science
Use to locate interdisciplinary articles and cited references.

SciFinder
Comprehensive source for research articles in chemistry. Registration is required to search SciFinder. Please note that Yale is transitioning to a new platform called SciFinder-n.

Find safety and toxicology information

Safety Data Sheets (MSDSonline)
Safety Data Sheets (SDS) provide detailed information prepared by the manufacturer or importer of hazardous chemicals. Access to SDS is provided by Yale Environmental Health & Safety. View  the MSDSonline tutorial.

PubChem
Data available includes the Hazardous Substance Data Bank (HSDB) which provides peer-reviewed toxicology data (e.g. human health effects/toxicity). Start a search in the PubChem by entering a chemical name, molecular formula or identifier. See accessing HSDB Content from PubChem for additional information.

Dictionary of Substances and Their Effects
Information about thousands of chemicals and their impact on the environment, including detailed information about the toxicity of the chemicals, physical properties and regulatory requirements.

Find news

US Major Dailies
Full text access to the five US newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune.

Factiva
Business-oriented database providing international coverage of thousands of news sources. Includes same-day and archival coverage of major and local newspapers from every corner of the globe.

Nexis Uni
Legal-oriented database providing full text news from national and international sources.

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Andy Shimp
Contact:
17 Hillhouse Avenue
Room 110
PO Box 208342
New Haven, CT 06520
203-432-7460

Account Registration

EndNote Online and SciFinder require registration. Please register if you do not have an existing account.

EndNote
SciFinder

Additional Chemistry Resources