Yale University Library Research Guides: Collection Development & Acquisitions: CD Responsibilities & Training

Collection Development Roles and Responsibilities

Selectors
Selector is defined as library staff with the responsibility for developing collections in subject areas, formats (such as film, video, or data) with subject or other parameters defined within that format’s scope, interdisciplinary areas (e.g., EPOOL) or by distinct collection (e.g., Bass Library). Although most selectors directly manage collections funds, in some departments and libraries , funds are managed centrally, and selectors are only responsible for developing the collection (i.e., no fund management).
Collection Managers
Collection Manager is typically the librarian who oversees all the collections funds managed by selectors in that library or department and serves as the point person for collection-related issues in that department or library. In some libraries and departments, the director serves as the collection manager; in other libraries and departments, a designated librarian serves as the collection manager. In some libraries and departments, the collection manager is also a selector (and in some of those cases, the only selector).

LIBRARY & DEPARTMENT	COLLECTION MANAGER
ARTS	Heather Gendron
COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT & BASS	Amauri Serrano
ASH (AREA STUDIES)	Anna Arays
ASH (ASIA)	Michael Meng
ASH (HUMANITIES)	Mike Printy
DIVINITY	Suzanne Estelle-Holmer
MARX	Andy Shimp (Interim)
MEDICAL	Liz Jenkins and Holly Grossetta-Nardini
MUSIC & YALE FILM ARCHIVE	Ruthann McTyre

Collection Development & Acquisitions - Information Sessions

E-Books: Selection, Acquisition, and Access
Virtual information session held on October 16, 2023 which covered policies and guidelines, selection, OverDrive, ordering, and access and discovery.

Training Module 1: Collection Deveopment within YUL

Trainer: Central Collection Development Librarian
Audience: New hire

Departments & People
- Collection Development Department
- Technical Services: E-Resources and Serials Management (ERSM) & Monographic Processing Services
- Department Collection Managers
- Library Collection Services and Operations
- Selectors by Subject
- Scholarly Communication and Information Policy
- Assessment & User Experience Research (AUXR)
Committees & Groups
- Collection Steering Committee (CSC) (strategic)
- Collection Development Subcommittee (operational)
- Acquisitions Services Group
- License Review Steering Committee

Training Module 2: Collection Development Documentation & Internal Communication

Trainer: Central Collection Development Librarian
Audience: New hire

Highlighted: budget and forum documents, ordering and acquisition guidelines

Collection Development & Acquisitions LibGuide
Sharepoint
- Collection Steering Committee
Listservs
- Select-l, select-bounces@mailman.yale.edu
- YULIB, yulibl-bounces@mailman.yale.edu
Philosophy and Subject-level Collection Development Statements
- Subject-level statements and philosophy
- Subject-level CD statement template

Training Module 3: Vendor Communications & Relations

Trainer: Central Collection Development Librarian
Audience: New hire, periodic forums or refresher sessions

Vendor communications: best practices and strategic approaches
- Organizational contacts
- Negotiation
  - Major vendors - Pricing in Box
  - Subject/area/regional vendors
- Visits/meetings, e-resource problems etc.
Setting expectations: overview of e-resource ordering and licensing process

Training Module 4: Departmental Collection Development Training

Trainer: Department Collection Manager
Audience: New hires

Training Module 5: Funds Management & Budget Allocation Process

Trainer: Central Collection Development Librarian
Audience: New hire, periodic refresher sessions (perhaps annual)

Fund management
- Collection Funds Management: Policy, Responsibilities and Procedures
- Spend targets: CD calendar (TBD)
- General information about endowment funding, Yale spending policy (see Yale Financial Reports and Introduction to the Endowment Spending Policy).
- Types of Funds
  - Restricted (indentured) and unrestricted funds
  - Central funds (approval plans, EPOOL) versus subject-allocated funds and indentured funds
- Voyager Fund Reports in Tableau (for overview and guide see: Collection Funds Management: Policy, Responsibilities and Procedures)
- Commitments/expenditures
Budget request and allocation process
Internal collaboration and cost-sharing: procedures and best practices

Training Module 6 : Introduction to Bibliographic Services (MPS)

Trainer: Monographs Accessions Librarian
Audience: New hire and annual refresher

Voyager Acquisitions module overview (structure)
- Purchase orders and invoice vouchers, structure and look up.
- Ledgers and funds
Approval plans / vendor profiling overview and Profiles
Vendors and Orders
- Vendors and vendor systems (GOBI, others)
- Procedures for placing firm orders, including e-books
Reports

Training Module 7 : Intro to E-resources & Serials Management, Part 1: Acquisitions

Trainers: E-Resources Acquisitions Librarian & Continuations Management Librarian
Audience: New hire; periodic refresher information sessions

Documentation for this module

Ordering and licensing workflows
Renewals and invoicing
Usage statistics
What we can help you with
Contact information

Training Module 8 : Intro to E-resources & Serials Management, Part 2: Access

Trainer: E-Resources Metadata Management Librarian
Audience: New hire; periodic refresher information sessions

Documentation for this module

Review from previous session
Discovery environment
- Quicksearch
- Articles+
What we can help you with
Troubleshooting
Other contact information

Training Module 9 : Gifts (in-kind and financial) and Development (donor relations)

Trainer: Director of Collection Development
Audience: New hires (high-level overview and context), at point of need (for in-depth guidance as situations arise)

Gifts in Kind workflow and flowchart
Communications with donors and potential donors
Deeds of gift
Acquisition of Special Collections policy (in the context of gifts to the library).

Training Module 10 : Collaborative Collection Development (external)

Trainer(s): Director of Collection Development & Ivy Plus Director of Collection Initiatives
Audience: New hire; point of need

Policy and process
Agreements already in place

Collection Development & Acquisitions: CD Responsibilities & Training