Brill Dictionary of ReligionA comprehensive, multi-media reference source which covers the many and various forms of religious commitment. Includes entries on the different theologies and doctrinal declarations of official institutionalized religions and gives equal consideration to other religious phenomena and practices as well.
Encyclopedia MythicaWeb-based encyclopedia that organizes materials on mythology, folklore, and religion by six geographic regions.
Encyclopedia of ReligionThe second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Encyclopedia of Religion and SocietyElectronic version of the Encyclopedia of Religion and Society provided by the Hartford Institute for Religion Research at Hartford Seminary.
Oxford BibliographiesOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in across varied subject areas. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and keyword searchable, including biblical studies, Jewish studies, medieval studies, philosophy and religion.
Oxford Handbooks OnlineThe complete texts of all Oxford handbooks including Archaeology, Classical Studies, History, Philosophy, and Religion online.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of ReligionProvides scholarly, peer-reviewed essays about the world’s religions and topics of research and debate. New entries are added monthly.
Catholicism and Orthodoxy
Catholic EncyclopediaAn older work (1908) that provides searchable articles online and may be useful for historical materials relating to the Catholic Church.
Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox ChristianityAn outstanding reference work providing a wide-ranging account of the key historical, liturgical, and doctrinal features of Eastern Orthodoxy, including the Non-Chalcedonian churches.
New Catholic EncyclopediaArticles contained in fifteen volumes describe issues relating to and affecting the Catholic Church, in areas such as history, ethics, spirituality, and social sciences. Annual supplements update the original volumes and also include new entries.
Other Resources
Christian-Muslim Relations Online (1)A general history of relations between the two faiths as is represented in works written by Christians and Muslims about the other and against the other. This link covers the period 600-1500 (vol. 1).
Christian-Muslim Relations Online (2)A general history of relations between the two faiths as is represented in works written by Christians and Muslims about the other and against the other. This link covers the period 1500-1900 (vol. 2).
Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online (GAMEO)Provides information on Anabaptist-related (Amish, Mennonite, Hutterite, Brethren in Christ) topics, including history, theology, biography, institutions and local congregations.
The Italian Reformation OnlineA collection of primary texts from the Italian Reformation, with a concentration in theology.
Judaism
Encyclopaedia JudaicaProvides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd edition is important to scholars, general readers and students.
Encyclopaedia of JudaismOffers a comprehensive and systematic presentation of the current state of scholarship on fundamental issues of Judaism, both past and present. While heavy emphasis is placed on the classical literature of Judaism and its history, it also includes principal entries on contemporary issues.
Jewish EncyclopediaContains the complete and unedited contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, published between 1901-1906. Includes over 15,000 articles and illustrations.
Jewish Women's Archive: Shalvi/Hyman Encyclopedia of Jewish WomenBased on Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia (1997), this updated resource has biographical entries on Jewish women as well as survey articles, including hundreds of updated entries on contemporary figures and topics, revised entries incorporating the latest scholarship, and new entries addressing populations and topics that were previously un- or under-represented.
Philosophy
Internet Encyclopedia of PhilosophyProvides open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy
Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyCombines an online encyclopedia of philosophy with peer-reviewed publication of original papers in philosophy, freely accessible to Internet users.
