Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering & Applied Science Resources: Find Standards, Methods and Protocols

Resources and services for applied physics, engineering and computer science.

Engineering Standards at Yale

Standards available at the Yale University Library are in the databases listed below. If you require a standard for your research, please contact Andy Shimp.

COVID-19 standardsSee below for a listing of freely available standards related to the response to COVID-19.

ANSI Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal
The IBR Portal provides access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations. These standards, incorporated by the U.S. government in rulemakings, are offered at no cost in read only format. There are no print or download options.

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

IEEE Standards
IEEE Xplore provides full text access to IEEE standards, including superseded standards but not draft standards, dating from January 1988 to present.

COVID-19 Freely Available Standards

In response to the COVID-19 global health crisis, key standards from the following standards developing organizations are freely available. Please note that Yale affiliates have full access to the digital libraries of ASTM and IEEE when connected to the Yale network or VPN.

ISO (International Organization for Standardization)
Standards documents (38 as of 4/8/20) from ISO and IEC covering medical equipment and devices—ventilators and respiratory equipment; protective clothing used in health care settings; and business continuity management, security, and resilience. Available on the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Standards Connect platform. To access the portal, users must accept the license agreement and register. Once registered, users can return to the portal via https://asc.ansi.org.The standards are accessible in read-only format at no cost during the crisis; additional standards may be added in the future.

AAMI (Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation)
Standards and guidance for masks, gowns, gloves, ventilators, and sterilization procedures used in health care settings.

ASTM International
Standards used in the production and testing of personal protective equipment, including face masks, medical gowns, gloves, and hand sanitizers. Please use the ASTM COVID-19 link to see applicable standards. Yale affiliates have full access to ASTM standards through the ASTM Digital Library when connected to the Yale network or VPN.

IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission)
Sections of standard IEC 60601 (Medical electrical equipment: General requirements for basic safety and essential performance) are available from the ANSI ISO portal listed above.

IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
Standards related to medical imaging, medical modeling and health device communication.

Laboratory Methods and Protocols

JoVE Bioengineering
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) Bioengineering includes methods and tools that apply engineering to life science research for the study of biological processes and development of new therapies and diagnostics. The Yale Library also subscribes to other JoVE video journals in the fields of biology and medicine.

JoVE Engineering
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) Engineering includes research methods and protocols for chemical, electrical, materials and mechanical engineering applications. The Yale Library also subscribes to other JoVE video journals in the fields of biology and medicine.

Laboratory Methods and Protocols Research Guide
Yale Library Guide linking to major resources for laboratory procedures and protocols focusing on the life sciences.

Protocols: Basic Science Resources and Collections
Yale Medical Library research guide to online protocols.

Subject Librarian

Andy Shimp's picture
Andy Shimp
Contact:
In alignment with Yale University's response to COVID-19, all appointments for research help will take place online using Zoom.